We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this orange!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orange Hotel-Hangzhou Moganshan Road
Ranked #65 of 2,446 Hotels in Hangzhou
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Most reviews are correct: this is a great choice of hotel in Hangzhou. Elegant, contemporary, and trendy. Hardwood floors, quality bed, sleek furnishing, great selection of television stations, good air control. The staff speaks some English and are willing to help always. And the details! The Orange Hotel clothing/shopping complimentary bag with your own apple! The little fish in the mini-fish tank!

The only problem might be for some tourists since the hotel is not that close to the lake and most attractions. But it is not that far either. If you want to be at a walking distance to the lake then this hotel is not for you. If you want to enjoy quality at a great price and don't mind taking a taxi or even a bus (it will take time; traffic is heavy), then Orange hotel is the right choice in Hangzhou. The quality of the hotel makes this a most worthy choice. A real find in HZ.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicbruin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 20 of 433 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2011

The hotel appears to have no bell-hop and the staff do not help you carry your luggage (regardless if you have many pieces) to and from your room. We took the Junior Suite and there was no lift access to our floor (2nd) so we had to lug all our stuff by ourselves up the stairs. Despite the fact we were carrying quite abit of luggage, we were not informed of this and the staff also did not bother to change our rooms (perhaps all junior suites have no lift access, Im not sure).

The room is spacious, clean and comfortable. Only thing is that there is no safe in the room so do take note if you are carrying valuables! The wi-fi signal can be a bit dodgy but passable.

Location-wise, there are some eateries nearby. We managed to walk to the nearest "wai po jia" (granny's house restaurant) within 10mins or so. The cafe that the hotel operates is very small and I think you might be able to find better food outside.

The hotel also offers use of their bicycles for 2 hours free for their guests, available on a first come first serve basis as they only have 4 bicycles for loan.

Given the price, this hotel gives good value.

Room Tip: Double check that there is lift access to your room, not all rooms have lift access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank audreybeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

My wife and I stayed here in April 2011 whilst making a quick trip back to our old home. The hotel is quite new and the rooms were very clean. All the staff we met were very helpful and friendly. I especially liked the details in the room like the little goldfish. The location of the hotel isn't bad. It is not extremely close to the biggest tourism spots and would be a 40 minute walk to the West Lake from here (depeding on your pace). As with anywhere in HZ getting a taxi can be tricky, although we did manage every morning even when pouring with rain. Just allow yourselves 30 mins to find one and you will be fine.

The price for the condition of the room was very good, for effectively £10 a night more it is far superior than Motel 168s in the city which have quickly become tired-looking and dirty.

As long as being somewhat in the North is not an issue, I'd highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XiMenQing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

I must saying for $ 40 for two.
Super hotel with good ideas.
Clean, friendly staff. My passport was copied each page - WHY?
I had the Four Season one night before the room was twice as large as the Orange room but 15 times more expensive. WIFI slow, but wired super speed
The "breakfast" here see figure was included in the price.
A small fish in the room.
Something to think (magic cube).
I will come again

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1anonymous00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2011

We stayed 2nights during pre-CNY 2011. Rate was relatively(RM220 for a twin) cheap compared to other chain htl in China. Our room lightings & room design is contemporary, suitable for young couples; aromatic bath salt& condom are provided as well. We simply loved the TV channels, great selections! The corridor was too narrow-if there's a trolley parked somewhere,you'll have to squeeze against the wall! We had a view DIRECTLY facing THE Westlake, truely breathtaking!
Reception & housekeeping staff are very helpful &courteous throughout our stay. Location was rather convenient to grab a cab & dinner. Plenty of hip & trendy rest along the mainstreet, after 10mins walk, you will come upon some bars & nightclub, most of the bands sang English numbers pretty well, beers are cheap! The restaurant on the lobby provides a wide selection of dishes for buffet dinner, too bad it's already full by reservation, the 2nd night a notice on the entrance read" we are now closed for CNY holiday"!
There's a massage parlour nextdoor, however non of the staff knew about the operation time, we then find out the saloon actually offer 20% disc.for all in-house guest!

Room Tip: Hotel lift only reach til 4th floor,be warn!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THAM38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2010

The reason we booked this hotel was due to reviews on TA and we were not disappointed - in fact overwhelmed by the friendliness and hospitality that we received at this hotel.

The room is more than basic, with a very comfy bed, well-furnished bathroom and functional and elegant design. The corridors are very funky and different from the usual mundane yellow or pastel colours of most hotels.

The staff spoke very good English (not that we really needed it) and were always very willing to help - WITH a smile, which is a rarity in China. When we came back late one night, and asked them about breakfast the next morning - the reception staff actually even voluntered the fact that they can deliver our breakfast to our room - free of charge! Breakfast in bed...what more can one ask for!?

When we left, the hotel manager sent us right to the taxi door - like we were VIPS. Very sweet.

All in all, we would definitely recommend this hotel and we look forward to staying in other Orange hotel. The only disadvantage of this hotel is its location - which is not very close to the lake and one would have to endure the crazy traffic of Hangzhou to get to the more touristic sites. We didnt have time to explore Moganshan itself - but read that it's good.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilswissmiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2010

It is a fairly new hotel, hence, everything was new. It is just across the road to West Lake - walking distance. We got a corner room and we loved it. Although the view was disappointing - we were facing a dilapidated house area - we were still happy with the room's amenities.

Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
Thank smokecityz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
Xiacheng District
Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
#16 of 2,446 in Hangzhou
627 reviews
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
#10 of 2,446 in Hangzhou
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange Hotel-Hangzhou Moganshan Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Hotel-Hangzhou Moganshan Road

Address: No.252 Moganshan Road,Gongshu District,Hangzhou, Hangzhou 350000, China
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 2,446 Hotels in Hangzhou
Price Range: $27 - $39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Orange Hotel-Hangzhou Moganshan Road 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Orange Hotel-Hangzhou Moganshan Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing