We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel to stay in Hangzhou”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oakwood Residence Hangzhou
Ranked #21 of 2,420 Hotels in Hangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2014

This Is my review,of our weekend hotel stay in April 2014
we booked a 2 nights weekend holiday in Hangzhou for 2 adult and a toddler .we were very happy with our choice, the room was very clean and comfortable , spacious , we ordered a crib for 2.5 years old and it was big enough, we had all amenities written on their web site (washing machine, dish washer ext. free internet ext.) everything was in great condition and easy to use. The downsides: first, we booked executive one bed-room + 2 buffet breakfasts . for some unknown reason the clerk at the reception said the breakfast is not included. we had to speak with the manger and he had to contact the booking agent to sort this out. this could have been prevented if the booking agent who made the reservation was more clear to the staff. second, the hotel is pretty far from the lake and all the attractions , a good half an hour walk or more. you will need to relay on the taxi service. everyday between 15:30 to 17:30/18:00 it is very hard to catch a taxi just before rush hour the drivers change shifts and you will end up waiting 30 minutes for a taxi that might not come at all.
Pros: good clean and high standard hotel.
Cons: The location of the hotel and the buffet breakfast menu. is more suitable for Chinese, I suggest that the hotel would improve the selection of soft cheese/ yogurt suitable for westerners.
To conclude this review, we highly recommend this hotel, it was one of the best we stayed in china and asia

Room Tip: the serviced apartments or executive studio south building
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Siv-Travel-Tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter Z, General Manager at Oakwood Residence Hangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Thank you for preferring to stay at Oakwood Residence Hangzhou on you recent trip to this wonderful city and thank you for your encouraging review of our property. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Oakwood Residence. Locationwise we are very centrally located about 1.5 kilometers from the famous Westlake and Hangzhou CBD. I have taken note of your breakfast comments and have already increased our cheese variety on the buffet. I hope that I will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Hanzghou and Oakwood Residence. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
There are newer reviews for Oakwood Residence Hangzhou
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 235 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for six nights. Check in was relatively fast. The room was extremely spacious, well equipped with amenities and has a full size kitchen. Staff didn't speak very good English, although they tried. Dinner buffet was good but not excellent. Location, although close to the West Lake, is a bit far. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter Z, General Manager at Oakwood Residence Hangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Thank for preferring to stay at Oakwood Residence, the most trusted name in temporary living solutions in Hangzhou. Your review of our Residence is most appreciated and helps us to review and improve our services to our customers. I look forward to welcoming you back to Oakwood Residence Hangzhou on your future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Customer service is excellent, staff helpful, and the location is very convenient (Thanks Janusz). On premises are: Starbucks, Family Mart (24hr), Burger King, Jae-e supermarket, and boutique med & dental clinics. The beds are large, comfortable, and furniture from Ethan Allen is a nice touch. The South tower (no front desk) although dark and a bit dated, is generally for long stay guests with larger rooms, softer beds, and more closet space, while the North tower rooms are much brighter and newer with firm beds and good city views from the higher rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter Z, General Manager at Oakwood Residence Hangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Thank you for preferring to stay at Oakwood Residence Hangzhou, the most trusted name in temporary living solutions. I am very pleased that you have recognised one of our associates for the excellent services which he has provided you. Your comments regarding our property are very conclusive and will help to determine the choices our customers make when staying at Oakwood Residence Hangzhou. It is a pleasure to be on service to you on your frequent visits and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

I stay away from home on business for 4 weeks at a time and have been staying at Oakwood in Hangzhou. I have stayed at many hotels for business but this is by far the best in terms of service, amenities, food, location, and quality. I believe the staff go well above and beyond to be accommodating and solving any issues you might have, especially when in a foreign country. I couldn't be happier with choice for where to stay when visiting or working in Hangzhou and look forward to coming back here.

Room Tip: You just have to stay here you'll be happy with your room. Good views quite and close to all.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter Z, General Manager at Oakwood Residence Hangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Thank you for preferring to stay at Oakwood Residence Hangzhou, the most trusted name in temporary living solutions in Hangzhou. Your comments about your stay with us are very much appreciated. From all of our associates we are delighted that you enjoy staying with us and look forward to continuing offering the same service to you on your return visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I stayed two years in Oakwoods due to our business in Hangzhou. I did prior look around in many hotel and apartment complexes and found Oakwoods a good compromise to give it a try.
I was never disappointed about this choice since it really is an excellent compromise in location and environment (Starbucks, Walmart, electronic shops, restaurants, import supermarket, 2 Family Marts, KFC, McD etc) Every spot in the city can be reached within one hour max. West Lake in Jogging distance :-) Everything needed to survive close by. Not so super traffic jammed like downtown or directly at Westlake. Staff always very helpful for getting thing done.
Recommendable for business and tourists. Gym comparably large and well equipped, beds comfortable, kitchen probably great, never used in two years except fridge and water heater:-).

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank Andre K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter Z, General Manager at Oakwood Residence Hangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Thank you for selecting Oakwood Residence, Hangzhou's most trusted name for temporary living solutions. I am particularly delighted to see that during your stay of 2 years with us that our associates, our full range of facilities from Kitchen to Fitness Center, and our location enhanced your stay in Hangzhou. I sincerely hope that you will return to Hangzhou and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Oakwood Residence Hangzhou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

The room is large and in a very neat condition. There are a wide tv in the living room and intact kitchen tools in the room. The staffs are nice and helpful. The manager of business center was very kindly to book the ticket of Hangzhou Impression Westlake show for me. I experienced a pleasant time here and I would come back again!

Room Tip: about 40 mins from the airport. The are many restaurants around the hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ariel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter Z, General Manager at Oakwood Residence Hangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Thank you for preferring to stay at Oakwood Residence Hangzhou, the most trusted name in temporary living solutions. Your review of our Residence is very encouraging and your comments will be forwarded to the relevant departments especially with regards to our Business Center services. Thank you again for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back to Hangzhou and Oakwood Residence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Enjoyable experience in Oakwood Hangzhou,as a long staying guest I want to recommend this residence for all the commodities they provide and the professionalism of their staff.The one bed room apartment is excellent,bright and clean,as well as the service and English speaking team at the front desk.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank christian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter Z, General Manager at Oakwood Residence Hangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Thank you for preferring to stay at Oakwood Residence Hangzhou whilst residing in this magnificent city. It is indeed our pleasure to have you staying with us and from all of our associates we sincerely appreciate your wonderful comments about our Residence and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
Xiacheng District
Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou
Gongshu District
Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin
Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin
#5 of 2,420 in Hangzhou
700 reviews
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
#17 of 2,420 in Hangzhou
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gongshu District
The East Hotel Hangzhou
The East Hotel Hangzhou
#10 of 2,420 in Hangzhou
325 reviews
Xihu District
Tea Boutique Hotel
Tea Boutique Hotel
#34 of 2,420 in Hangzhou
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakwood Residence Hangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood Residence Hangzhou

Address: No.28 Jiaogong Road, Hangzhou 310012, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Hangzhou
#8 Family Hotel in Hangzhou
#20 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#26 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range: $101 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oakwood Residence Hangzhou 4.5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within EAC Commercial Center, adjacent to Yellow Dragon Entertainment Complex, Oakwood Residence Hangzhou is 2.5 kilometers from West Lake and Wulin Square. Every comfortable and spacious apartment offers a fully equipped kitchen with separate living and dining area, washer/dryer, home entertainment system, complimentary high speed wired and wireless internet, large bathrooms with rain/drench showers, and the signature Oakwood soft posturepedic bed. Dining options include Oakroom where sumptuous buffet breakfasts and weekend dinner buffets are served along with Chinese a la carte and private dining. Oakleaf Restaurant and Bar offer western and Asian specialties along with a global selection of wines, craft beers, single malts and rare bourbons. The 24 hour Fitness Center has a 25 meter indoor heated lap pool and offers a full range of strengthening/cardio equipment with complimentary Yoga and Pilates classes. Car parking is complimentary for resident guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oakwood Residence Hangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakwood Residence Hangzhou Hotel Hangzhou
Oakwood Residence Hotel Hangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing