We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hotel right in front of West Lake”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crystal Orange Hotel
Ranked #50 of 2,351 Hotels in Hangzhou
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A hotel right in front of West Lake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Our friend recommended this hotel to us because of good location and reasonable room rates. We stayed in this hotel twice, once in spring, once in winter. We chose it because of its proximity to the lake. The nearest entrance is within walking distance. This clean and trendy hip hotel is renovated from an old building. We love the modern design of the lobby. Rooms are comfortable and spacious.
Staff are helpful. Last winter, we experienced the heaviest snow in Hangzhou. After check - in, we couldn't wait to get to Broken Bridge to see the snow. The reception showed us how to take public transport as taxis were in great demand. When we returned in the late evening from the heavy snow, we felt like home coming. We felt so cozy in our room while enjoying the white world outside of our room window.
We can't ask for more, with such good price, comfortable rooms and excellent location. We have become members of the Crystal Hotel.
We enjoyed our stay and would definitely come back again.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CKYHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    452
    81
    5
    9
See reviews for
44
73
18
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

A modern, stylish hotel right across the road from West Lake. Rooms were being renovated while we were there and are now full of high-tech gimmicks, which didn't always work intuitively. The two sets of curtains operated by remote control were particularly annoying and the lighting menus by the bed are daft. However there are lots of sockets for charging equipment and it was nice to have an iPod dock. Aircon worked fine and free Wi-Fi in the room worked well on the whole. Rooms aren't particularly spacious but were well-equipped and comfortable and beds were the softest we experienced in China. We only had breakfast at the hotel once,and it was OK but the coffee wasn't good. There is a supermarket across the way and also a fruit shop where you can easily buy enough for breakfast and there is a good, but pricey, coffee shop round the corner on the main road by the lake (walk past the Aston Martin showroom). It's a 10-15 min walk north and inland from the lake to lively streets with plenty of restaurants. Reception staff are helpful, and will call taxis etc, but their English wasn't particularly good. We might have struggled if we hadn't had a Mandarin speaker with us.

Room Tip: Lift only goes to fourth floor, so avoid fifth floor room if you have a lot of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Visit0rM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Arrive in the hotel at midnight, the service at reception is good and friendly. Quick check in. Taxi to and from Airport is around RMB110. Location is okay i guess, quite near to the West Lake, but with the West Lake being so big, there are actually many hotels close to the lake.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anni t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REGINA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

A/C does not work door lock quit working and they took an hour to get us into our room making us late for a tour we had booked and cost us lots of cash and did nothing for us. They then threw us out of the room and we had to repack our bags move them ourselves to our friends room and did not get another room for 8 hrs and the only thing offered was a free breakfast. I like this Hotel chain but I strongly recommend staying at another Hotel in this city. The staff seemed to care and even the Manager tried to help but he was restricted by the owners policy's. This is the oldest Hotel in the chain and is in bad shape and needs a lot of repair but because of the location is still making good money for them and the owners just do not care if you are happy or not. A/C does not work very hot in the room cannot get ice or cold drinks at hotel. Bad food no help available from the hotel for any trouble you have and owners who do not care. Do not stay at this Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eaw46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanau
Level Contributor
120 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Hotel is mostly frequented by chinese travellers and few western travellers.
Stylish and modern. We had a quite small room on the 5th floor (pls note lift only travels to 4th floor), but adequate. Bed was queen size with nice soft bedding. A little bit noisy, as small street was very busy even during the night with lots of car honking.

On second night we also had a small goldfish in a bowl, I hope it survives. As bowl was not occupied the first night, we wondered about the funny noises we heard in our room the second night.

Bathroom had glass walls on the outside and to the room, which give no privacy but they had blinds which you could close.

TV only Chinese programms, not English speeking channels. Free Wireless.

We booked room without breakfast, but there is a bakery in the same street which offers nice pastry, and tea/coffee making facilities in the room, so we made our own breakfast.

Everybody in the hotel was really friendly, even though some do not speek English at all.

Room Tip: If you have heavy luggage, choose a room no higher than 4th floor..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernweh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Location is OK - though not really in the center of town. It's right on the the west lake and quite close to Hefan Jie, the so called "old" commercial/touristy street of Hangzhou.
Rooms and service are quite mediocre for Crystal Orange standards, and it's no wonder since Hangzhou is quite expensive. Some of the rooms' windows face indoors (!!!), and not all bathrooms have windows. When we got our room it was very smelly, and we had to air it for hours. There's also something strange about the pricing here, since bigger, better rooms can cost less than the smaller ones - go figure out.
In terms of service, though we specifically asked for a non smoking room (made the reservation through the website, two months in advance), of course they did not prepare such a room in advance, so we had to wait at the lobby for an hour with a tired child until we checked in. Needless to say, no apology was offered of course.
Breakfast is basic and not worth the money, eat outside.
All in all, there are much better Orange hotels in other cities in China.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dongpurou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MY
Level Contributor
115 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Loved the design and funky look of the hotel! Room rate was slight more expensive than the Orange chain located in Nanjing - probably due to the hotel is nearby the west lake?! Check-in process was fast and efficient, and we were surprised when the receptionist offerred us a very cool Orange Hotel recycle bag! Overall, room was cleaned, staff were nice and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reviewer-Starry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
#13 of 2,351 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Wuyang Holiday Hotel
#149 of 2,351 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Victoria Regal Hotel Zhejiang
#292 of 2,351 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xihu Resort
Dahua Hotel
Dahua Hotel
#57 of 2,351 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
The East Hotel Hangzhou
#8 of 2,351 in Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Xihu District
Tea Boutique Hotel
Tea Boutique Hotel
#32 of 2,351 in Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Orange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Orange Hotel

Property: Crystal Orange Hotel
Address: No.122 Qingbo Street, Nanshan Road, Shangcheng District, Hangzhou 311703, China
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
Hotel Class:4 star — Crystal Orange Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Crystal Orange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crystal Orange
Crystal Orange Hangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing