We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic location & fantastic service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Victoria Regal Hotel Zhejiang
Ranked #922 of 2,446 Hotels in Hangzhou
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Stayed for 2 nights with friend who was coming opposite way from canada and I had arrived from UK - superb location, I was out when friend arrived but she was given another room key so waiting when i got back from dinner - great breakfast and lovely room - avoided bars as cheaper and more fun in town but super helpful on front desk as wrote all future destinations in chinese for us to help with buses and taxis

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KWBasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 189 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2010

The Victoria Regal is well located on the main street in Hangzhou walking distance to the West Lake and the Waterfall Markets.
It is a business hotel with a few interesting contrasts. The lobby is very local tacky chic with a curious style. The pictures on the website are very flattering.
Only a few staff members spoke English.
The restaurant serving breakfast has a local cuisine focus which was appreciatively received by Chinese guests.

The highlight of the hotel was our room. Spacious, with a king bed and a separate zone with a couch or extra child bed with another TV screen. The bathroom was very well designed with a modern freestanding tub and shower with rain and handheld heads. The colours were relaxing and the lights muted.

The gym was a bit unused and the machines old and tired.

Great choice for a stop over, great rooms and location.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiboTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

rooms are spaceous but carpets are dirty. Good bathroom. Spa was closed. Staff is not very helpful or doesn't feel comfortable with English speak guests

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piedep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

1. Location: Great! Very near Qinghefang, the restored buildings and pedestrianised mall, good for tourist souvenirs and good interesting exotic finds; within walking distance (10 min) to West Lake; mall across road from hotel has everything that you can need from a mall in China: same brands, Starbucks, food court, etc.

2. Room: Obviously, a lot of thought went into the design for this place and the room amenities. Comes with a laptop and free online services! State of room is a little tired-looking probably because of abuse, misuse from previous guests. (But this is really not too bad for a hotel that caters to locals in China; I ve seen rooms in much worse states.)

3. Breakfast: Quite bad in terms of taste; but, again, they try to provide variety and range. So, can be ok if you are not picky in terms of food.

4. Staff: If you look East Asian, speak to them in English. They are actually very nice people and try very hard. But constant abuse from badly behaved local tourists makes them wary of Mandarin- and other Chinese languages-speaking guests. They struggle with English, but they try hard and are actually competent enough in the language to fulfil what you need.

5. Massage: Diagonal to the hotel, across the road, is a building with many massage places. They are all clean respectable establishments. I tried the one with a dragonfly as a logo (i can t remember the name) on a yellow signboard; the entrance faces the sideroad. It was so good that I went back for 2 massages in a day: one foot reflexology massage and the next, a traditional chinese therapy body massage. They both lasted 90 minutes each and i paid a total of less than 200RMB! They also provided snacks and tea, on the house!! And they open til 1am . . . great for after a long day of visting sites. (Please tip the therapist / masseur: it s hard work and they get less than half of what you pay; 20% of the total bill is a good sum.)

6. Things to do: I know this is supposed to be a hotel review but thought I ll include this as well. You d probably be wondering whether to go for "Impressions of West Lake". After all, it is expensive and having to sit through a cultural performance with an audience dominated by local tourists . . . it is daunting, undoubtedly. But, shut out the noises and focus on the show; it has no dialogue anyway and the effects are stunning, to say the least. Those not familiar with Chinese cultural performances may want to read up a little about the show online first, though; not necessary but helpful. :)

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Asperger_Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed December 13, 2009

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed December 7, 2009

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed October 15, 2009

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
3 mi away
Culture Plaza Hotel Zhejiang
Culture Plaza Hotel Zhejiang
#333 of 2,446 in Hangzhou
136 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Metropark Hotel Hangzhou
Grand Metropark Hotel Hangzhou
#46 of 2,446 in Hangzhou
334 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hangzhou Hotel
Hangzhou Hotel
#68 of 2,446 in Hangzhou
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hangzhou Huanglong
0.8 mi away
Huachen International Hotel
Huachen International Hotel
#33 of 2,446 in Hangzhou
329 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Regal Hotel Zhejiang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Regal Hotel Zhejiang

Address: No.89 Yan'an Road, Shangcheng District, Hangzhou 310002, China
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#46 Spa Hotel in Hangzhou
#159 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range: $52 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Regal Hotel Zhejiang 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Otel, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria Regal Hotel Zhejiang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regal Hotel Hangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing