We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was ok, not my favorite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Victoria Regal Hotel Zhejiang
Ranked #953 of 2,497 Hotels in Hangzhou
Reviewed May 23, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night and I didn't really like it. Overall, the building was very nice and had a futuristic feel to it. The room was very visually pleasing, but I had some issues. When I walked into my hotem room, it smelled very musty and like smoke (it was a non smoking room). I took off my shoes (I was wearing socks) and the carpet was wet with water. There was a smaller carpet and when I moved that, there was a big water stain underneath it. That bathroom was really nice, however, the walk in shower I had was plugged or something, because the water wouldn't drain fast enough and I assume that perhaps the previous guest had the same problem hence why when I initially arrived, the carpet was wet. When I looked at the wall that was shared from the main room and bathroom, the wall paper was slightly lifting and you could tell mold was underneath the wall paper. Also, my AC didn't work and when I had someone come up to check the issues in my room, we were not very successful in communicating with one another. We had arrived at the hotel by like 10 pm there weren't any other rooms available to switch to. So the staff at least tried. Breakfast was ok. They had different items so that was pleasant. Their apples were brined though, so that was a weird surprise. Drinks at the bar were very expensive. No English channels on the television and wi-fi available in the lobby.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jekkajai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 27 of 189 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2012

The hotel is an acceptable 4* by Chinese standards. It was our first experience of the disconcerting practice in China to demand deposits greater than the hotel bill in advance, in this case a credit card deposit of 1800 yuan for a stay of two days booked on cTrip for 1186 yuan. We were astonished, but arriving late with nowhere else to sleep we presented the card.

I later found this to be standard practice in China. Be aware of it, and make sure you get the deposit cancelled or returned (sometimes we used cash) on departure.

The room was adequate but not spacious, with a view to the street through decoration slats. The bathroom was standard. There were some English language TV channels; very limited English at reception which caused a few communication problems. Free internet.

Location was close to banks and a short walk to shops and restaurants. Not quite as close to West Lake as other comments implied.

A tip if going to the railway. Take the cab to Honglou Hotel, next to the station, instead of to the heavily polluted underground drop off point. The trip will be quicker and cheaper.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

The hotel has a good location for visiting west lake and downtown. It not far away from west lake , only 5-mins walk. There is a bus stop and bicycle stop in the front of hotel. Some bus routes lead to famous scenes of west lake. Or you can rent a bicycle to go cycling the lake. For city trip, just walk to south of hotel, you will find Hefang Street (old down town), Wushan Square(it is also a large bus stop). For shopping, you can find a large department store opposite the hotel.

We ordered 2 superior rooms. But the travel website we ordered provides an upgrade plan and room price(not included breakfast) is the same as superior room. So we were lucky to get a Suite. Its room is modern, wide tiny and fashion style. The bed is King size and comfortable. The most interesting thing is TV which used cable TV and collected all of TV channels in China and many movie channels. In bath room, the tub is great as resort. The shower is individual. One thing is important, the room provides some travel stuff (included some magazines and tea bags)which printed CNY price. It means that they will showed in the bill if you used.

For train station transportation, we can't find any public transportation can use. It is pity for the hotel, the transportation between railway station you can choose is taxi. We recommand that take a taxi on the road or taxi stop of railway station. Some driver will persuade you to take his car in railway station. It is possible they are charged high price or illegal.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slcheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

This is a very good hotel. Although the staff are not fluent in English, it is so convenient for Westerners. It is situated in the middle of downtown Hangzhou which is great. In a 1 kilometer radius, you can get to City Life (Western supermarket), Starbucks, Subway, West Lake area of Xi Hu Tian Di and Eurdora (Western restaurant) as well as Burger King and other International restaurants. A short walk to the south is Hefang Street (walking street for tourists), Wushan Square and a restaurant street with a huge variety of Chinese restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

My wife, 10-year-old daughter, and I stayed here for one night, as a recommended must-see between Xi' An and Shanghai. It's a good older, somewhat elegant hotel. Its location is wonderful, just a few blocks to West Lake and Hangzhou's old town, and a few blocks to a nice, lush, hilly park, where locals gather on mornings for tai chi and open air ballroom dancing. The hotel also is right across the street from the Westlake Intime shopping center, strong for everything from shoes to tea service goods. Our room was clean and updated, featuring a clawfoot tub and a standup shower. The tub and bahtroom were separated from the bedroom by a sliding wooden door, giving the room a bit of a mountain resort feel. The hotel has a nice older bar, where we enjjoyed some relaxation time before dinner. The Tsing Taos were among the more expensive we saw at hotels in the country, at 38 RMB (6.4 RMB to the US dollar) for a regular-sized bottle. The hotel, like others, also had massage services, and the prices were only somewhat more expensive than some we had seen in several Chinese cities during our three-week visit to the country. The breakfast buffet was included in our room rate, but not exceptional. The hotel offered free Wifi in the lobby, but not in the rooms, but the Wifi rarely worked while we were there.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fwtexastraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2010

This hotel had good reviews and we booked a superior room (449rmb) for one night. When we arrived, they informed us that our room would not have a window. This was definitely not indicated on elong when we booked. They told us that for 649rmb we could have a window, no breakfast included. Reluctantly, we agreed. Then they told us that as we had not booked a room with a window, none would be clean for a few hours. We told them to forget it and dragged our bags across the road to a hotel that had a room with window available immediately and breakfast included. Maybe the Victoria Regal Hotel is perfectly lovely to stay in but first you have to get past the reception desk.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lianhualu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Stayed for 2 nights with friend who was coming opposite way from canada and I had arrived from UK - superb location, I was out when friend arrived but she was given another room key so waiting when i got back from dinner - great breakfast and lovely room - avoided bars as cheaper and more fun in town but super helpful on front desk as wrote all future destinations in chinese for us to help with buses and taxis

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KWBasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
#19 of 2,497 in Hangzhou
645 reviews
0.7 mi away
Huachen International Hotel
Huachen International Hotel
#31 of 2,497 in Hangzhou
336 reviews
1.1 mi away
Zhejiang Xizi Hotel
Zhejiang Xizi Hotel
#35 of 2,497 in Hangzhou
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou
Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou
#29 of 2,497 in Hangzhou
832 reviews
1.8 mi away
Landison Plaza Hotel
Landison Plaza Hotel
#24 of 2,497 in Hangzhou
233 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Regal Hotel Zhejiang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Regal Hotel Zhejiang

Address: No.89 Yan'an Road, Shangcheng District, Hangzhou 310002, China
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#49 Spa Hotel in Hangzhou
#167 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range: $53 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Regal Hotel Zhejiang 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Victoria Regal Hotel Zhejiang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regal Hotel Hangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing