We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Excellent Food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Empark Grand Hotel Kunming
Ranked #15 of 1,198 Hotels in Kunming
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Good Hotel, Excellent Food”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Having travelled around China for a week before arriving here it was a nice change from the somewhat "Soviet" style hotels on offer elsewhere. This is very Western in feel whilst still offering eveything the Chinese traveller is used to - it is also remarkably cheap compared to other hotels in the region given the quality on offer.

The room was nice, clean and everything worked in my room (wifi, which was free and air con etc) Nothing special about the room but equally everything you wanted/needed was there and I got a good nights sleep.

The stand out for me was the food selection on offer in the buffet style restaurant. Lots of fresh sea-food cooked in front of you, good spicy meat dishes and soups as well as Western style BBQ, pizza, chips etc. There were lots of kids when I stayed on a Saturday evening (not a problem for me personally) and they were having a whale of a time with the ice cream and cakes as well as just about everything else that was bad for them!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geebs1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    286
    55
    11
    3
See reviews for
15
15
5
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

this is a new hotel in a developing section in Kunming. Plenty of new construction around: the section is developing fast. Nothing typical chinese, just the standard new developments in the chinese cities. Hotel is big. Room are not too large but comfortable and well equipped. One big issue: wifi does not work ! Food is ok according the international standards. Chinese breakfast however is not too good. Service is slow especially for checking in

Room Tip: select the most expensive rooms in the tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DANIEL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Had a room on a high floor in the north wing which can get noisy if there is a function going on in the bar on the ground floor. A/C did not work; no matter what it was set at, it was still hot in the room.

To get here by bus from downtown Kunming, take bus 213 for 2 yuan going east from the bus stop island in front of Jin Ma Fang, get off at Zhi Bu Ying (the first stop after a stint on the freeway), turn left and the hotel will be on the right behind the trees. The ride takes about 20 min.

To take the bus downtown, head to the mall behind the hotel. At the intersection of the two main streets, get to the diagonally opposite side and walk north about 100 feet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiveAndLetTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The hotel has 2 wings with different price level rooms.
The overall impression of the hotel is quite okay. Rooms are well-equiped and clean.
The breakfast offered is also suitable for Western people. For dinner there is a wide choice on the menu as well as there is a possibility to choose the buffet. The service in the restaurant is average and a bit slow.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielleV5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Not sure there's much to expect from hotels in Kunming but after Beijing, where hotels are great, it's easy to be dissappointed. Hard to communicate with staff and lots of smokers in the dining areas (even though there are designated smoking sections).

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daveadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

enjoyed kunming, the stone forest is wonderful, it was nice to be able to rest in a decent hotel. Make sure to get a room at the main building, it will be a little more expensive but is better than the adjacent building. Breakfast is good, lots of choices, make sure to get in early so you can beat the tour groups who will take most of the space. You can walk across the hotel to carrefour supermarket and buy your snacks and drinks there

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tsegamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed here back in September 2010. I hesitated for some time between a hotel inside Kunming and Empark. Unfortunately I made the right wrong choice.

This hotel is located nowhere a good distance outside of Kunming, with only an unappealing shopping center nearby.

This was for a special occasion and I wanted a suite. We were able to book a HUGE suite for a very reasonable price (somewhere around $250 USD), which ultimately made me tilt toward this hotel. The suite itself was nice. Not my style (not very modern per say) but had touches of pseudo luxury (bathroom). Surprisingly, the bed was the hardest bed I have ever tried. It really felt as solid as wood. I like beds on the firm side but this one was like sleeping on the floor. We had a very bad night because of it and ultimately decided to leave after the first night, even though we had booked 2 nights here.

The restaurant is huge, food average, despite the huge buffet choice. We wanted to buy champaign. None was available. They were selling bubbly at an extortion price. We passed on that offer.

I remember that the "concierge" service was terrible. No way to get info help out of them, once he understood that we were not biting for the ultra expensive tours he was pushing for.

I wouldn't even consider staying here. Go for something nicer downtown, where you can walk and have restaurants and cafés nearby. There are some not too far from the park that are quite cool

PS: the only reason we stayed in Kunming was for the Stone Forest. I had the classic dilemma (worth it or not). I definitely would recommend it. Kunming itself isn't really worth a stop of more than one day. Just a fly in-out town, from what I have seen. More interesting places in the Yunnan, and elsewhere, to spend time.

Room Tip: If for some reason you have to stay here (Big IF...), ask for a room with a SOFT bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank spartac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kunming hotels
Grand Park Kunming
#5 of 1,198 in Kunming
573 reviews
Kunming Jinjiang Hotel
#9 of 1,198 in Kunming
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Era Hotel Kunming
#10 of 1,198 in Kunming
434 reviews
Guandu District
Kai Wah Plaza International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empark Grand Hotel Kunming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empark Grand Hotel Kunming

Property: Empark Grand Hotel Kunming
Address: No.1 Yingbin Road, Guandu District, Kunming 650214, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Kunming > Guandu District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 1,198 Hotels in Kunming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Empark Grand Hotel Kunming 5*
Number of rooms: 746
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Empark Grand Hotel Kunming reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing