We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Empark Grand Hotel Kunming
Ranked #16 of 1,222 Hotels in Kunming
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The location of the hotel is quite good. bit far from the city center, but closer to the airport and to the stone forest. It means 30-40 minutes to the airport in not rush hours (60-80 RMB, from the airport with normal taxis, and 150 RMB to the airport with hotel’s organized taxi). The hotel has two wings; the better rooms are in the pricier/west wing (in the main building). The bed and the pillows were comfortable, and the breakfast was also ok. If you don’t want have a dinner in the hotel, you can go in to a huge megastore (opposite to the hotel), which is full with plenty of restaurants. Overall, this was a good stay in Kunming.

Room Tip: in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gyurma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (522)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 44 of 522 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2012

This was by far the nicest stay of my thirteen nights in China. While my trip was largely a business trip, the stay in Kunming offered a number of interesting side opportunities, most noteably a trip to the Stone Forest. The Grand Hotel staff was adequate, the breakfast was quite good and the rooms and ambiance were very good. Given the opportunity I will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I stayed on the executive floor of the hotel, and the room I must say was of a very high standard. It was large, well fitted-out and thoughtfully packed with almost every amenity one would need. The bed was comfortable, as were the pillows and I slept well. I wish though they would do something about the television channels on offer. They are woefully inadequate for someone who does not speak Chinese. The staff was very polite, although some did have problems understanding English. The breakfast spread at the ground floor restaurant was sumptous, although I wish they wouldn't fry quite so many eggs and leave them at the "live" counter for people to pick up. Overall, this was a very nice stay, although the hotel is a bit far from the city centre.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, opt for the executive floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank editorindisguise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Since we wanted to go to the stone forest, which is in the east of the city, in order to aviod the city traffic, we stayed in this hotel which is in th SE of the city. We had an executive room. The room and bathroom are spacey and clean, the hotel lend us a wifi router to our room. The engineer was very good at setting it up, and made sure it was working on my iPad.

We bought a day-tour pkg (chinese tour guide only) to the stone forest from the hotel travel desk, it was convient since they pick you up from the hotel and a good deal considering the entrance fee to the forest is 175 yuan, but there are a couple of shopping stops in the tour.

Breakfast in the executive lounge was good, has more local dishes than western dishes. I was surprised when was told that the happy hours was over after 6:30pm, which is a bit earlier than western hotel chains.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulieZhang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a big conference last March 2012. Our company usually stays at another hotel in Kunming but the Kunming City Government persuaded us to try this hotel. The rooms are okay and facilites are up to international standard. However, the hotel management was not very friendly and was too inflexible. Our participants complained a lot. They do not seem to welcome foreigh guests and were not willing to accommodate requests for assistance in arranging local tours or in looking for good places to eat or buy tourist items.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank md6750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Great food. Executive rooms are excellent, but the view is not that good. Great gym and swimming pool. Internet (LAN) is free and good. Free fax receive.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Udunuwara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I have stayed here on and off for the last 3 years and am currently staying here for 4 weeks on business.
The designer of the room door locking mechanisms should be invited to sleep here so that s/he can experience the unavoidable banging of the doors as they close starting at about 5.30 am and continuing until around 2.30 am. They are audible from several floors away. Don't accept a room near the lifts, the constant whine can keep you awake. If you are a non-smoker be prepared for the ubiquitous smokers who puff on local acrid tobacco - in the lifts, lobby, restaurant, around the buffet! I have a battle every time I eat in the restaurant insisting on staff telling guests who are smoking at a n/s table near mine to move. Slowly, they are beginning to respond so don't put up with it. The breakfast has plenty of choice, local and Western; coffee can be hard to get, be prepared to shout for a waitress ("fuyen") and point at your coffee cup! Other food (lunch and dinner) varies hugely - the Oriental a la carte is ok, some of the western a la carte is close to inedible - the pizza we had last night was just plain disgusting, being covered thickly with processed cheese... at the moment they have a RMB 98 drinks 'buffet' from Monday to Friday evenings in the lobby bar with a pretty good jazz sax player.
The suites are big enough and fairly well appointed though the shower outlet is often blocked. TV has CNN, HBO and Max. I have found the staff generally helpful and friendly - their English is not brilliant but they try. The local name for the hotel is nothing like the English name so if you take a cab, carry the local name written down in Chinese. My low rating of this hotel is largely down to the smoking I'm afraid...

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the lifts (elevators). Go high, it's quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kunming hotels
4.3 mi away
Kunming Jinjiang Hotel
Kunming Jinjiang Hotel
#10 of 1,222 in Kunming
369 reviews
6.3 mi away
Grand Park Kunming
Grand Park Kunming
#5 of 1,222 in Kunming
574 reviews
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Kunming City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Green Lake Hotel
Green Lake Hotel
#3 of 1,222 in Kunming
587 reviews
5.2 mi away
Sofitel Kunming
Sofitel Kunming
#1 of 1,222 in Kunming
225 reviews
5.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empark Grand Hotel Kunming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empark Grand Hotel Kunming

Address: No.1 Yingbin Road, Guandu District, Kunming 650214, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Yunnan > Kunming > Guandu District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 1,222 Hotels in Kunming
Price Range: $58 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Empark Grand Hotel Kunming 5*
Number of rooms: 746
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Empark Grand Hotel Kunming reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing