We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tres bon rapport qualite/prix - Very good deal!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Spring City Inn(Jixie)
Ranked #109 of 1,201 Hotels in Kunming
Reviewed July 29, 2009

Very good value for this hotel! I am very worried at first because I am more used to 5 stars hotel....but I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel.
The location is great! Just opposite to the Kunming Hotel in the centre of the city – well, not so easy to find because on a small dead end road.
It is not situated on the main road so it is very quiet.
The rooms are clear, well equipped with bathroom, TV, water dispenser…the bed was fine.
Even the breakfast was better than expected – usually I do not take breakfast in Local Chinese hotel but I managed to get fried/boiled eggs, fried rice, congee, fruits, breads.
The staff can speak enough English to assist you – they have been very polite and helpful during our 3 days stay.
One negative thing could be the so called ‘Business centre’ – the lady does not speak English so we had to communicate through Google translator…we asked to book a car for one day visit to the Stone forest. She confirmed us 800RMB for one full day and after 30min. fixing all the details she finally told us that no driver/car was available!
Finally we stopped a taxi on the street and we managed to go to the Stone forest (80km from the city) from 9.30am to 8.30pm – making various stop and go to different location around – for 600RMB. The day after we asked the same driver to visit the mountain/temples just outside the city for 500RMB.
Maybe it is expensive but for 4 people sharing the same car and full day visit, this was a very good option for us – also because it was a very flexible option.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smartacg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
There are newer reviews for Spring City Inn(Jixie)
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 10 of 95 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2009

I stayed here for 2 weeks before moving into an apartment in Kunming. Now I recommend this place to anyone coming to visit. The following is my experience from two different rooms...

The rooms are super clean, new, and cosy. There are LCD TVs and water tankers in each room. The bathrooms were also really clean and tastefully furnished, coming with many amenities. I would compare the rooms to small serviced apartments, and would recommend staying in one of these for both short and longer term (i.e up to a month).

The location is good, on Beijing Road and about 15 minutes walk to the Green Lake. Actaully a nice side of town to stay on if you want to avoid other tourists/foreigners, but not too far from the western cafes on Wenlin street. Only an 8rmb cab or 25 min walk.

Not all the staff speak English, and at times things were lost in translation, but this was hardly a problem. The staff were all very friendly and did their best to meet or needs. They were great!

Head up to the roof for great views!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank radiohead1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2008

We only paid 130 yuan for a double room with breakast (for 2 people) in this lovely hotel.

The check in actually takes ages because they really take a lot of information (ie date of entry in china etc) but i guess its the usual chinese bureaucracy. That was all ok since we have the nicest room I've seen since in a long time, including western hotels. The layout of the room is greatly done, with modern shower and toilet with glass doors, Its sparkly clean, bed really comfy, and theres even a water tank. As it was raining all day when we were in Kunming we were really happy we could chill in such a nice and cute room.
The breakfast has western and chinese food. As i only had chinese breakfast (good), i cannot judge the quality of wetern food.

Only downside: there's no lift, we were on the 4th floor...


When you go by taxi, you'll be surprised that the adress is a small restaurant on the street side...but don't go away! the hotel is actually behind the houses. It will be easier for the taxi driver when you can show him the business card of the hotel with a map at the reception .

Overall I would say that Spring City has the faciliies of a 3-star hotel...but for a bargain price, don't miss it.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank aldc88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2006

We booked this hotel online. It is off Mid Bai Ta Road, about 10 minutes walk from the main shopping district in Kunming. The rooms are clean. Singles and Doubles rooms are fully renovated. For Twin rooms the bathrooms are old (not renovated) Singles cost RMB118 (USD15) while Twin and Doubles cost RMB138 (USD18). Breakfast (both local and continental) included.

They have a Business Centre that opens from 10am to 10pm. It offers services such as Fax-in/fax-out, secretarial services and internet facilities for a fee. You can also book air tickets (domestic & international destinations), bus / train tickets (popular Chinese tourist destinations) and day trips. The ticket booking service is efficient and prices competitive.

We like the hotel very much because its clean, quiet and value for money. We liked it so much that we checked in and out of it 3 times during our Yunnan trip between 13 Sep & 11 Oct 06.

The only area that requires improvement is the reception. For the 3 times (2 of which were during morning peak time) that we checked out, there was only 1 person mending the reception counter with a string of clients queuing to check out.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Holidays_addict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2006

Staff speaks absolutely no englisch - as usual in china. Credit Card Payment Visa possible. Some rooms have modern stylish bathrooms. You can rent a staff-taxi for 200Yuan a day that takes you to the stone forest - with safe and careful driving. Breakfast included, in a nearby workers cantine.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank jkhlökjweb.de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed January 26, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2014, traveled solo
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 9, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Yury R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kunming hotels
1.6 mi away
Grand Park Kunming
Grand Park Kunming
#6 of 1,201 in Kunming
574 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Kunming City Centre
1.9 mi away
Sofitel Kunming
Sofitel Kunming
#1 of 1,201 in Kunming
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kunming Jinjiang Hotel
Kunming Jinjiang Hotel
#9 of 1,201 in Kunming
367 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre
6.1 mi away
Intercontinental Kunming
Intercontinental Kunming
#2 of 1,201 in Kunming
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring City Inn(Jixie)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring City Inn(Jixie)

Address: No.241 Baita Road, Panlong District, Kunming 650011, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Kunming
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 1,201 Hotels in Kunming
Hotel Class:3 star — Spring City Inn(Jixie) 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Spring City Inn(Jixie) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spring City Hotel
Spring City Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing