We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Helpful Staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Spring Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Golden Spring Hotel
Ranked #38 of 1,125 Hotels in Kunming
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
126 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Helpful Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed for one night to make an air connection in Kunming. Staff was helpful but was not able to communicate well in English. With a problem they would call over to the assistant manager who was reasonably fluent and very helpful. She walked me to a pharmacy, communicated with the staff and made sure I got what I needed. Room was large and clean. My only complaint was that the included breakfast was awful regardless of you food tastes.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Albuquerque_NMGeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    99
    28
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
11
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
111 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

I knew it would be bad (from previous reviews) but it was a really difficult experience.
The room, and that was noticeable when I walked in, stank. It was not so much cigarettes as dirty socks, and a very old carpet. The cheap furniture had seen better days but really the worst was the shower stall. It was one of those plastic cubicles and it was totally filthy. I hope I did not catch any fungus.
The bed was very very hard, and I like hard beds. The heating was adequate.
Breakfast was good, if you like spicy soup. You'd better like spicy food since that's the only edible food!
3 positives: nice location on one of the main thoroughfares of Kunmung, clean sheets & towels, weird Chinese sex aids to purchase from the bathroom!
Wifi in the lobby and the 2nd floor restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annick9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

The hotel staff is very friendly. Clean. Typical good Chinese hotel, tho not quite based on comparing to U.S. hotels of similar quality. There's always something amis with a Chinese hotel, star-wise. The rooms are nice, but the appointments, etc. are just not well-thought out. The hospitality business in China is still just a bit short of impressive tho good in most instances. Other than the sleep, food (mainly breakfast) is average I would say, tho clean/neat, slightly better than average. The restaurant staff is friendly also. Well, I speak their language, perhaps because of that I had an edge in terms of better experience?

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

the staff do their best to help, although they barely speak english.
bathroms "not so clean", to say something
well located in the commercial area of Kunming
Food is great if you order a la carte.

omnipresent smoke is not strange in China, including lobby, aisles and dining rooms, even during breakfast... but if you expect to find a non-smoker room in this hotel, well, you won´t

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmaparicio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

I go to Kunming at least twice a year on my way to other places and have stayed at at least 6 different hotels between RMB200 to RMB450. This one is quite acceptable for RMB350, but nothing really spectacular. Rooms are clean, service not bad. The large buffet breakfast is a mix or Chinese and western. The usually book thru ctrip, and the nice touch is they give you a coupon for a coffee that is brewed from a cuppacino machine

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Artscene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

I staid 1 night in the hotel because it was half the price of the New Era (4 star). My room was situated to the street which was quite noisy. The beds were not so soft and there is no safe deposit box in the room. In the bathroom in the shower there was some mould. Close to the hotel are no restaurants. The concierge was so kind to stop a taxi for me so I drove to my former hotel New Era where you find a lot of restaurants and malls. The front desk was friendly but only 1 person spoke some English. I had a voucher from the travel agent but I had to give them cash because they did not accept a creditcard as deposit. Mostly it is the other way around I believe in Asia.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dbzurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MKE
Level Contributor
116 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

Very nice location in downtown Kunming. Good buffet breakfast. Very nice restaurants. Beds are hard; it is sleeping on a rock. Minimal English spoken. Wifi in the room was much appreciated.

Room Tip: Walmart is about 20 minutes away by foot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaime000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kunming hotels
1.4 mi away
Grand Park Kunming
Grand Park Kunming
#3 of 1,125 in Kunming
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kunming Jinjiang Hotel
Kunming Jinjiang Hotel
#6 of 1,125 in Kunming
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Kunming City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Kai Wah Plaza International Hotel
1.0 mi away
New Era Hotel Kunming
New Era Hotel Kunming
#10 of 1,125 in Kunming
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kunming Hotel
Kunming Hotel
#298 of 1,125 in Kunming
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Spring Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Spring Hotel

Property: Golden Spring Hotel
Address: No.93 East Renmin Road, Panlong District, Kunming 650051, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Kunming
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 1,125 Hotels in Kunming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Spring Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Golden Spring Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing