We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Almost 4-star, but....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Spring Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Golden Spring Hotel
Ranked #35 of 1,102 Hotels in Kunming
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Almost 4-star, but....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

The hotel staff is very friendly. Clean. Typical good Chinese hotel, tho not quite based on comparing to U.S. hotels of similar quality. There's always something amis with a Chinese hotel, star-wise. The rooms are nice, but the appointments, etc. are just not well-thought out. The hospitality business in China is still just a bit short of impressive tho good in most instances. Other than the sleep, food (mainly breakfast) is average I would say, tho clean/neat, slightly better than average. The restaurant staff is friendly also. Well, I speak their language, perhaps because of that I had an edge in terms of better experience?

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    99
    28
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
11
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

the staff do their best to help, although they barely speak english.
bathroms "not so clean", to say something
well located in the commercial area of Kunming
Food is great if you order a la carte.

omnipresent smoke is not strange in China, including lobby, aisles and dining rooms, even during breakfast... but if you expect to find a non-smoker room in this hotel, well, you won´t

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmaparicio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

I go to Kunming at least twice a year on my way to other places and have stayed at at least 6 different hotels between RMB200 to RMB450. This one is quite acceptable for RMB350, but nothing really spectacular. Rooms are clean, service not bad. The large buffet breakfast is a mix or Chinese and western. The usually book thru ctrip, and the nice touch is they give you a coupon for a coffee that is brewed from a cuppacino machine

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Artscene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

I staid 1 night in the hotel because it was half the price of the New Era (4 star). My room was situated to the street which was quite noisy. The beds were not so soft and there is no safe deposit box in the room. In the bathroom in the shower there was some mould. Close to the hotel are no restaurants. The concierge was so kind to stop a taxi for me so I drove to my former hotel New Era where you find a lot of restaurants and malls. The front desk was friendly but only 1 person spoke some English. I had a voucher from the travel agent but I had to give them cash because they did not accept a creditcard as deposit. Mostly it is the other way around I believe in Asia.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dbzurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MKE
Level Contributor
108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Very nice location in downtown Kunming. Good buffet breakfast. Very nice restaurants. Beds are hard; it is sleeping on a rock. Minimal English spoken. Wifi in the room was much appreciated.

Room Tip: Walmart is about 20 minutes away by foot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaime000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

Stayed here for a total of 3 nights. The first night was just an over-night stay on our way to Dali and Lijiang. The elevators posts a no smoking sign but there is a heavy stench of smoke in the elevator. Not sure how safe it is when the hotel allows guests to smoke in the elevators.

We had to open the windows in the room because otherwise it is stuffy with a smell of smoke. Of course with the windows opened you can hear a lot of traffic noise. After getting back from Dali and Lijiang, we stayed here again. This time, the room had a heavy, heavy stench of smoke even on the bedsheets and pillows. I got so nauseous, we finally asked the front desk to switch our room. The second room was better.

The breakfast was ok, the orange juice looks like they added 80% water to 20% juice.

Overall, if you are a chain smoker, then it would be fine to stay here but if you're not, find another hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heidzilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

The Front Desk staff were friendly and polite and spoke a little English as did the Housekeeping Staff. The room was clean as was the Toilet. Internet access was good.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VanWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kunming hotels
Wenhui Hotel
#245 of 1,102 in Kunming
4.0 of 5 stars 18 reviews
Grand Park Kunming
#2 of 1,102 in Kunming
4.0 of 5 stars 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jinmabijifang
Green Lake View Hotel
Green Lake View Hotel
#335 of 1,102 in Kunming
3.5 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Spring Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Spring Hotel

Property: Golden Spring Hotel
Address: NO. 93 Ren Min East Rd, Kunming 650051, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Kunming
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 1,102 Hotels in Kunming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Spring Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Golden Spring Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing