We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Park Kunming(Kunming)
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lost Garden Guesthouse(Kunming)(Great Value!)
$23
$20
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveler rating
25
102
28
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
102
28
2
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 157 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2011

the staff do their best to help, although they barely speak english.
bathroms "not so clean", to say something
well located in the commercial area of Kunming
Food is great if you order a la carte.

omnipresent smoke is not strange in China, including lobby, aisles and dining rooms, even during breakfast... but if you expect to find a non-smoker room in this hotel, well, you won´t

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmaparicio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

I go to Kunming at least twice a year on my way to other places and have stayed at at least 6 different hotels between RMB200 to RMB450. This one is quite acceptable for RMB350, but nothing really spectacular. Rooms are clean, service not bad. The large buffet breakfast is a mix or Chinese and western. The usually book thru ctrip, and the nice touch is they give you a coupon for a coffee that is brewed from a cuppacino machine

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Artscene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

I staid 1 night in the hotel because it was half the price of the New Era (4 star). My room was situated to the street which was quite noisy. The beds were not so soft and there is no safe deposit box in the room. In the bathroom in the shower there was some mould. Close to the hotel are no restaurants. The concierge was so kind to stop a taxi for me so I drove to my former hotel New Era where you find a lot of restaurants and malls. The front desk was friendly but only 1 person spoke some English. I had a voucher from the travel agent but I had to give them cash because they did not accept a creditcard as deposit. Mostly it is the other way around I believe in Asia.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbzurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Very nice location in downtown Kunming. Good buffet breakfast. Very nice restaurants. Beds are hard; it is sleeping on a rock. Minimal English spoken. Wifi in the room was much appreciated.

Room Tip: Walmart is about 20 minutes away by foot.
  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaime000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

Stayed here for a total of 3 nights. The first night was just an over-night stay on our way to Dali and Lijiang. The elevators posts a no smoking sign but there is a heavy stench of smoke in the elevator. Not sure how safe it is when the hotel allows guests to smoke in the elevators.

We had to open the windows in the room because otherwise it is stuffy with a smell of smoke. Of course with the windows opened you can hear a lot of traffic noise. After getting back from Dali and Lijiang, we stayed here again. This time, the room had a heavy, heavy stench of smoke even on the bedsheets and pillows. I got so nauseous, we finally asked the front desk to switch our room. The second room was better.

The breakfast was ok, the orange juice looks like they added 80% water to 20% juice.

Overall, if you are a chain smoker, then it would be fine to stay here but if you're not, find another hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heidzilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews