We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (396)
Filter reviews
396 results
Traveler rating
307
62
19
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
307
62
19
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dianchi lake comfortable bedding butterfly bar all day dining restaurant large resort another occasion the club lounge home away from home asian dishes high quality hotel room service excellent property breakfast and dinner stayed for two nights rooms are modern floor room nice breakfast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 396 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2016

This is a great hotel perfectly located in the city centre!Its walking distance to the town square and shopping attractions.
The food is great and it has lovely spacious rooms! the corner suites are superb.
good swimming pool and service was excellent.

Date of stay: November 2015
Thank cleo30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rolandsteiner, General Manager at Intercontinental Kunming, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2016

Dear Cleo30,

Thank you for the glowing comment. But we think you stayed at another IHG hotel. But we do hope we have the honor to accommodate you next time.

InterContinental Kunming is located next to the famous Dianchi Lake with close to West Montain Forest Park, Yunnan Ethnic Village. With a greenery garden around the hotel, guests staying in this hotel are able to enjoy every relaxing and refreshed moment with us, even without going out. For shopping and night life, you may check out the Nanya Tropical Park commercial center which is just 15 minutes by drive.

This hotel features the best international buffet dinner in the city with a Chinese restaurant for authentic local Yunnan cuisine. And the huge swimming pool in the leisure club is also a must try-out.

Thank you once again. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel soon.

Kind regards,
Roland Steiner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2016

Definitely the best hotel in Kunming. A beautiful InterCont on the outskirts of Kunming amidst green parks and close to the lake and golf courses. The rooms are very large, modern and have nice balconies with cushioned benches overlooking quite green parks.
I really enjoyed the very quaint Club with the nice terrace.
The buffet of the All Day Dining Restaurant provides an incredible wide range of all sort of dishes - not the cheapest but absolutely value for money.

Room tip: Not too far from elevators - long corridors
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JimmyMayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rolandsteiner, General Manager at Intercontinental Kunming, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2016

Dear Jimmy Mayer,

I greatly appreciate you gave such a glowing comment for InterContinental Kunming. We are so glad to know that you had a great time here. It is very motivating for us to hear that you like our environment and breakfast.

Situated amidst a truly stunning setting, the awarded InterContinental Kunming is located at the center of National Tourism Area of Dianchi, and close to a number of scenic venues, such as West Mountain, Yunnan Ethic Village, the National Sports Training Base, and Yunnan Nationalities Museum. And moreover some of the best golf courses in China are on our doorstep with Spring City and Lakeview Golf Club to name a few.

While you enjoy your time in our nice room and Club Lounge, I would like to recommend our butterfly bar to you. In the afternoon, you can enjoy the timeless tradition of English afternoon tea. Or a selection of specialty coffees and teas from Yunnan Province complimented by delicious savory and sweet light bites. By night, with a live band and a blend of easy listening music, you can relax on the outdoor terrace by taking a sip under the stars.

Thank you for the feedback again. We look forward to your comeback in Intercontinental Kunming.

Best Regards,
Roland Steiner
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2016

Stay here for one night for our Kunming excursion as part of a larger China trip. Easily in the Top 5 best hotels I have stayed in, and my partner and I have been to numerous luxury hotels around the world. The amenities are complete. Rooms/Suites are spacious (we had a Flower Suite on the ground floor). The private club lounge which we had access to offered good variety of cuisine. A shootout also to the young tall Asian lady with glasses who served us in the Lounge on the evening of June 29th (unfortunately I have forgotten her name). I wrote a glowing review for her in her comment card. She was extremely helpful and made our stay comfortable.

The not so good: The hotel lobby itself is a bit too spacious which, with the relative low occupancy on our night of stay, makes the hotel a bit dull. The location of our suite (1st floor Flower Garden Suite), in combination with the torrent downpour that greeted us that night, meant that we shared our bed with a swarm of mosquitos. I had repeated request the staff to take care of them (easily numbering in the 10-20s) but nothing was done on our return to room.

Overall: Extremely positive experience. While we are unlikely to return to Kunming again in our lifetime (coming all the way from North America), I would strongly recommend this hotel to those visiting the area and looking for a comfortable and personalized stay.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Yuan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rolandsteiner, General Manager at Intercontinental Kunming, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2016

Dear Yuan C,

Thank you for your time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay. It is regrettable that the mosquitoes brought you difficult time during the night and we did not solve the problem for you promptly. Please accept my sincere apologies. But we appreciate your recognition for our Club Lounge service staff. Providing welcoming and considerate service to our distinguished guests is our duty and honor. Thank you for the glowing review.

I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay. Kunming is so-called Spring City and it is for sure quite a choice for a relaxing holiday with greenery sceneries and fresh air. Any chance if you are coming back to China, please do come back to relive the beautiful memory.

Best Regards,
Roland Steiner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2016 via mobile

Checked into the hotel 04 June checked out zero 5 June 2016. Hotel was adequately staffed and very clean. Fitness center is lacking, only one bench. Added photos for review. Breakfast in the market café was quite nice. Food was very good and staff quite accommodating.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Traveled on business
1  Thank LAXAV8TR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rolandsteiner, General Manager at Intercontinental Kunming, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2016

Dear LAXAV8TR,

Thank you for staying at InterContinental Kunming. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here but too bad that you only stayed for one night.

As you have experienced, this hotel is located by the famous Dianchi Lake with very beautiful and quiet environment which making people very relaxed and refreshed. If coming for business, you can just find some time to relax in our fitness center and pool and enjoy the international buffet or local Yunnan cuisine in the outlets. The benches in or out the pool are great places for a nice time-out.

Here I would like to thank you again for the good comments on our cleanliness, staff service and breakfast. I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Roland Steiner
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2016 via mobile

The hotel is at opposite bank of Dianchi, with Xishan in Kunming just minutes away by taxis then the cable car. The hotel service is good, especially in Mainland. Spacious foyer, large rooms with balcony and lake view. Worth staying.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Rowena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilHoughton, General Manager at Intercontinental Kunming, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to offer your feedback following your recent stay. I was most concerned with your remarks.

Situated amidst a truly stunning setting, The InterContinental Kunming is located at the center of National Tourism Area of Dianchi Lake. The hotel’s design is based on the theme of “Eternally Beautiful Butterfly,” and resembles a colorful butterfly with outstretched wings; moreover, it is a peaceful and quiet paradise steps away from the huzzle and buzzle of city life.

Adding to your guest experience, our In The Know staff will take the time to share with you a variety of insider information related to the local attractions. Whether you are traveling for business or leisure, InterContinental Kunming will leave you with wonderful memories of your stay with us.

Thank you once again for staying with us.I hope that you enjoyed your stay and I hope to be able to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Roland Steiner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews