We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit if you are in Kunming with extra time on your hands”

Bamboo Temple (Qiongzhu Si)
Baltimore, MD
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Worth a visit if you are in Kunming with extra time on your hands”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

This is a beautiful and peaceful Tang era temple that was restored in the 19th century. It would be of special interest to those of Buddhist leanings, but would also appeal to others as well. The arhat hall is especially worth a look. While we were driven there by friends, the temple is apparently serviced by a minibus from Kunming or you could take a taxi which should set you back about $ 10 US.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank kalevipoeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    21
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Lovely temple, lovely drive”
Reviewed December 23, 2011

I really enjoyed very much the taxi drive through a eucalyptus forest and this temple I visited early morning.
There are 2 rooms full of these statues that remind me of Bruegel or Georges de la Tour baroque paintings. It was totally unique.
Very nice setting of the temple, in very lush green surroundings.
Quiet and no tourists as I visited early morning.
I took a taxi up from Kunming (40 yuans) and got a ride back with a local (50 yuans) as I was waiting for the bus on the roadside.
I really recommend!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Annick9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, ga
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Enjoyed this visit very much. Worthwhile.”
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Visited this site not far outside the town of Kunming and found it to be well cared for and beautiful. Very glad to have visited early morning before many tourist arrived.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank aug30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Serene and peaceful”
Reviewed October 9, 2011

great place to visit to feel chilled out. not as touristy as some of the other inner city temples. 6 Yuan entry fee which is really cheap. currently undergoing some renovations but this doesnt detract from its beauty. lots of cats running round, so bring some food for them as they dont get properly fed!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank sunshinesummer1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Kunming Highlight”
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We visited this temple early in the morning. No one else was there yet. We enjoyed this peaceful place very much. The Buddhas (the four Guardian Kings)in the entrance hall, the three large statues of Buddha in the main temple building and two majestic 450- year-old cypress trees in the forecourt are impressive.The decorated door panels, the wooden details of the roof, the columns are real peaces of art. Monks live at the inner court as well. The 500 clay Luohans were awe-inspiring. Each Luohans is unique and expresses its own singular inner character. it is said that if you pick a uohan and count to right when you reach your age, you will find the Luohan that depicts your inner character.
It was a wonderful way to spend a few hours.

Visited November 2010
Helpful?
Thank Sidney056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bamboo Temple (Qiongzhu Si) also viewed

 

Been to Bamboo Temple (Qiongzhu Si)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing