We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New and good, with room for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Colorful Yunnan Kunming
Ranked #8 of 1,237 Hotels in Kunming
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Overall we like the new hotel, since the room is tastefully decorated with beautiful floral patterns on the carpet. The room is bright and the furniture is also nicely designed. The bed is more comfortable than others in China, though not so soft as we would like. The only regret is the service. Most of the staff members are very nice. But when we asked for upgrading the room (because we have the Wyndham VIP card) as soon as we found the first one faced a construction site, it took the manager (a young man) almost an hour to make it happen. Though we got a better room finally, the alarm clock in the room ringed at 4:30AM and 7AM, waking us up when we needed sleep. I am not sure if it's part of the poor management, or intended malice---I don't think any hotel guest would set up the alarm clock to such crazy hours.

We enjoy the shopping mall next to the hotel, with theater, restaurants, book store, and Haagen Dazs (where we met wonderful waiters and waitresses, who are warm and kindly answered our questions). The best restaurant we experienced there is the Yi-xin Garden Restaurant (both at the mall and in the hotel), where they serve the famous steamed-chicken soup and rice-noodle soup. Please note that most of the local dishes are hot and spicy. We also like the mushroom fried rice (hot) at Blue Bird (near Green Lake).

The winter here is not so cold, though it can be cold at night. We enjoyed the sunshine during the day. The weather is very nice and dry---so dry that one needs a lot of body lotion. We strolled in the Green Lake Park, appreciated the Tea Flower Exhibit, and marveled at the seagulls flying over the lake. Don't go to the Gardening Expo and waste your money. It was first built in 1999, more than a decade ago, but the tour book doesn't indicate the fact. Most of the park has been closed or sold to restaurants. What a pity! The original plants and designs could have been great for sightseeing and tea-drinking.

Room Tip: There is a construction site nearby. The so-called "room with lake view" is without any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madprofessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 64 of 74 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hotel is located near a small mall so it's nice to walk around and has lots of food choices if you don't want to eat in the hotel. There was this strange red light coming from the bathroom mirror, not sure what it was for, we forgot to ask. The big problem with Kunming is the taxis. One of the hotel managers helped us get a taxi that would run the meter which came out to be 80rmb plus 10 rmb for the toll. We had traffic on the way to the airport and we still arrived 40 min later. Thanks to the female manager who was empathic and kind and helped us get to the airport on time without paying almost double what most other taxis wanted (150-200 rmb). Buffet breakfast was good, the same as other western hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzhouBalde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This brand new hotel is beautiful. It is a five-star building. The rooms are huge and very well done. Unfortunately our group of three had our reservation lost. The front desk representatives could not explain to us what was going on due to an extreme language barrier. They tried to offer us twin rooms. Finally the english speaking manager Max,came to help. He explained we had no reservation in his system even though we had US confirmation numbers. I was unable to change my hotel room to my name and as a result Wyndham rewards would not honor my stay (rather disappointing response from Wyndham USA). Very friendly staff that is trying hard to communicate as best they can. The hotel is about 30 minutes from the brand new Kunming airport.

Room Tip: Confirm with Wyndham that you have a reservation. My was lost between travel agent and hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottEmmaLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

The hotel opened only 6 months ago but is fully functional by now. Nice and spacy rooms, great beds, good breakfast, great service, good English - only the location is a little far from downtown and taxis sometimes take time to get in rush hour. But there is beside the spa a wellness lifestyle level on the last floor where we had one of the best food massages ever in most comfortable environment and it is even open until 2 am! This compensates for me the little downside on the location.

Room Tip: There are some corner rooms with windows on 2 sides, nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katharina19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is probably the first time that I am rating a hotel on what you might exoect in the future. Let me explain: at the moment there were a few things that would keep the hotel from deserving a five star rating, but I am pretty sure that all of those will have been solved by the time you will arrive there. The first one is the complete lack of any English skills with most of the staff. With the exception of one gentleman the staff can, at best, speak a few sentences in English. Second is the fact that the Club that is the nice extra when you book a Clubroom was not open yet. Thirdly: I have not been able to discover a roomservice menu (but haven't asked for it either). But: by the time I left more and more staff were already trying to speak a bit more English, the Club was to open in 2 weeks and the Room Service will surely follow. So what you will experience will be a brand new, extremely comfortable and well decorated hotel with several good restaurants (and one of the best breakfast buffets I have ever seen), brilliant service, a big Spa and Wellness Centre, and many more surprises that will ensure a very satisfying visit. So indulge yourself in this impressive hotel, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The Wyndham is a welcome addition to the tired hotel stock in Kunming, and the first international brand in an increasingly global city. (Westin and Holiday inn have left, whilst Crowne Plaza are arriving any day now for nearly three years)

Whilst not central, access to the ring road means that the trip from the airport is easy. Right beside the hotel is access to all the shopping your credit card can take, alongside a range of dining experiences. The Korean BBQ on the top floor of the shopping centre is excellent.

Rooms in the hotel are big, and really comfortable, they have all the amenities you need.

For such a new hotel, staffing is surprisingly efficient. Breakfast is tasty, with a good range, which will suit everyone.

Such a good hotel commands a very high room rate, and time will tell if the local market are willing to pay this much for a non central hotel.

Watch out for the taxi scam upon departure, 200RMB to the airport is twice what it should be. The bell boys are in on this also. Pay no more than 120 - should be around 100 by the metre.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheDiplomat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank zhibinw2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kunming hotels
2.9 mi away
Intercontinental Kunming
Intercontinental Kunming
#2 of 1,237 in Kunming
222 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Kunming
Sofitel Kunming
#1 of 1,237 in Kunming
238 reviews
2.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Grand Park Kunming
Grand Park Kunming
#5 of 1,237 in Kunming
587 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Kunming City Centre
2.9 mi away
Green Lake Hotel
Green Lake Hotel
#4 of 1,237 in Kunming
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Colorful Yunnan Kunming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Colorful Yunnan Kunming

Address: No.569 Dianchi Road, Kunming 650238, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Yunnan > Kunming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 1,237 Hotels in Kunming
Price Range: $119 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Colorful Yunnan Kunming 4.5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Worldwide well know luxury brand *Downtown center,adjacent to Dianchi Lake and Yunnan Provincial Government Building *Located in the first complex building of business and leisure life-style in Kunming *Commercia Environment(Carrefour,Starbuck Coffee,Cinema,Restaurants,SPA,KTV,Banks and Office Building) *Highest Club Lounge in Town *Express access to Changshui International Aioport *The latest and second largest ball room in Kunming City,with state-of-art AV system ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Colorful Yunnan Kunming reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing