We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of 8 cities and hotels in China, this was the worse.”
Review of Grand Park Kunming

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Park Kunming
Ranked #5 of 1,183 Hotels in Kunming
Toronto
Level Contributor
268 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Out of 8 cities and hotels in China, this was the worse.”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, but the rooms are in desperate need of up-grading. We were in a corner suite, which was spacious enough with 2 small bathrooms. The towels were thin and unravelling - the amenities were so-so. The noise from the street easily penetrated the windows: cars honking and some lady on a microphone....
The location is excellent for walking to the park, if you don't get killed crossing the roads. The cars, bikes, scooters are all over the place and going every which way.
I noticed groups of Australian golfers and other English speaking tourists. I think the Hotel needs to invest in English lessons for their staff. That would be helpful.
The breakfast buffet was certainly adequate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Frances S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandParkKunming, Manager at Grand Park Kunming, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Grand Park Kunming as your preferred choice of stay during your recent visit to Kunming and for taking the time to share your feedback. We at the Grand Park Kunming were very disappointed to read your review and would like to extend our sincere apologies for your disappointment and the inconvenience caused.

We have noted your constructive feedback on the rooms, amenities and noise outside the hotel and we certainly review the process to seek for improvement.

We take all guest comments very seriously and once again, we apologise for the inconveniences you had on your last stay. We look forward to having another privilege of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Thank you,
Vinoth Kumar
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    205
    93
    17
    5
See reviews for
84
94
54
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We only stayed three nights at this hotel on our way to Lijiang and we were very happy with the Room, Staff and service also the buffet breakfast was great. The location is great for shopping and eating. We stayed at the New Era on the way back from Lijiang and the Grand Park is a far better choice. Not far from the Green Lake which is well worth the visit.

Room Tip: We booked a Crystal Club Room which included Buffet Breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandParkKunming, Manager at Grand Park Kunming, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience of your recent stay with us.

We are indeed pleased to learn that you are happy with our services and we look forward to welcome you back to the Grand Park Kunming, your home away from home.

If we can be of any assistance to you, please feel free to contact us. It will be our pleasure to oblige.

Once again, thank you very much for staying at the Grand Park Kunming.

Thank you and kind regards,

Vinoth Kumar,
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cullman, Alabama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We visited in Sept 2012 for an adoption trip. The hotel was undergoing major renovations at the time. The rooms were clean and spacious, however, it seems that they turn the air off at night and we had to sleep with the windows open. The Blue Bird cafe across the street was very good as well. The breakfast buffet was very nice too, but didn't have highchairs. We loved the location near Green Lake Park.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauren s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandParkKunming, Manager at Grand Park Kunming, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Grand Park Kunming as your preferred choice of stay during your recent visit to Kunming and for taking the time to share your feedback.

We have noted your constructive feedback on the air conditioner and we certainly review the process to seek for improvement.

For the highchair, we can provide it at our restaurant, you may contact with our staff for it next time.

Once again, thank you very much for staying at the Grand Park Kunming.

Thank you,

Vinoth Kumar
Executive Assistant Manager
Grand Park Kunming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Very good hotel. Front desk speaks acceptabel english and is helpfull.
Airline pilot myself and i would most certainly stay here again.
In a nice area within walkin distance of a lake.
Blue bird restaurant across the street and recommended highly. Didn't eat there because it was closed for Chinese newyear.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linepilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandParkKunming, Manager at Grand Park Kunming, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience of your recent stay with us.

We are indeed pleased to learn that you are happy with our services and we look forward to welcome you back to the Grand Park Kunming, your home away from home.

If we can be of any assistance to you, please feel free to contact us. It will be our pleasure to oblige.

Once again, thank you very much for staying at the Grand Park Kunming.

Thank you and kind regards

Vinoth Kumar
Executive Assistant Manager
Grand Park Kunming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The rooms are spacious and clean with an unlimited supply of bottled water. The staff is fantastic! One staff member that particularly stands out is Bestar. Thank you, Bestar! You helped make our trip a success!
The breakfast buffet is spectacular!
The hotel is located near the water in an area with interesting shops, markets and restaurants.
Congratulations to the Grand Park for being an outstanding hotel.

Room Tip: The higher the room the more spectacular the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandParkKunming, Manager at Grand Park Kunming, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience of your recent stay with us.

We are indeed pleased to learn that you are happy with our services and we look forward to welcome you back to the Grand Park Kunming, your home away from home.

If we can be of any assistance to you, please feel free to contact us. It will be our pleasure to oblige.

Once again, thank you very much for staying at the Grand Park Kunming.

Thank you and kind regards

Vinoth Kumar
Executive Assistant Manager
Grand Park Kunming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udine, Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This hotel is in the city center and its a big hotel, the one that you feel you are only a number. The room was quite big but the smell of smoking was terrible. The air condition was open all night long but was still really cold inside the room for all our stay, was only noisy but no warm air was coming out. The internet cable was not perfect so the connection sometimes get lost and i could not use properly internet. The prices for the room service are completely crazy (more than a 5 star hotel in Shanghai), 109rmb for a noodle soup. For sure you can find better hotels in Kunming

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrickB1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandParkKunming, Manager at Grand Park Kunming, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We were very disappointed to read your review and would like to extend our sincere apologies for your unpleasant experience at our hotel.
We have noted your feedback on our room condition and F&B service and we will certainly review the process to seek improvement. We remain committed to creating exceptional experiences for all our guests.
We have sent you a private message with regards to this post and we look forward to your reply.
We take all guest comments very seriously and once again, we apologise for the inconveniences you had experienced on your last stay. We hope you will allow us to restore your faith in our hotel and team here upon your next visit to Kunming.
Thank you,
Vinoth Kumar
Executive Assistant Manager
Grand Park Kunming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Big posh room and an excellent location - took forever from the airport but only 5 walk mins from lots of restaurants and bars. They didn't have a map to give us which was really annoying and their english was limited so giving directions wasn't great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandParkKunming, Manager at Grand Park Kunming, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Grand Park Kunming as your preferred choice of stay during your recent visit to Grand Park Kunming and for taking the time to share your feedback. We at the Grand Park Kunming were very disappointed to read your review and would like to extend our sincere apologies for your disappointment and the inconvenience caused.

We have noted your constructive feedback on the staff's English level and we certainly review the process to seek for improvement.

We take all guest comments very seriously and once again, we apologise for the inconveniences you had on your last stay. We look forward to having another privilege of welcoming you back again in the near future.


Thank you,
Vinoth Kumar
Executive Assistant Manager
Grand Park Kunming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kunming hotels
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Kunming City Centre
1.5 mi away
Sofitel Kunming
Sofitel Kunming
#1 of 1,183 in Kunming
191 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kunming Jinjiang Hotel
Kunming Jinjiang Hotel
#9 of 1,183 in Kunming
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre
0.4 mi away
Green Lake Hotel
Green Lake Hotel
#3 of 1,183 in Kunming
577 reviews
5.4 mi away
Intercontinental Kunming
Intercontinental Kunming
#2 of 1,183 in Kunming
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Park Kunming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Park Kunming

Property: Grand Park Kunming
Address: No.20 Hong Hua Qiao, Kunming 650031, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Yunnan > Kunming
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Kunming
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kunming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Park Kunming 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located and only a 20 minutes’ drive from Kunming International Airport and minutes from the Central Business District, the 300-room Grand Park Kunming is the first international luxury hotel in Kunming. With its undulating wave-like façade soaring 18 storeys above the lush green surroundings coupled with prime views of the famous Green Lake, the hotel is an iconic landmark set to pamper the modern international traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Park Kunming reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Park Kunming Hotel Kunming
Kunming Grand Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing