We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Dongchuan Red Land
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveler rating
91
49
12
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
49
12
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews potatoes guest house bus station next morning sunset and sunrise beautiful scenery scenic spots red color red earth stay overnight night tour sunny weather private car nice photos above sea level kunming airport different parts
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 153 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2014

Take the bus at NORTH COACH STATION, KUNMING. 7.30 OR 8.30 BUS, Call Mdm Zhao to ensure room available. Should reach by 12.00 noon, Bus stops right at the home stay hotel. Please note, only one room with seating toilet, The rest squatting toilet. You have your lunch there and Mdm Zhao will cook for you. Choose you food in the fridge. At 3pm, her husband will fetch you to visit lovely scenery and sunset scene. At night, nothing much to do, all darkness. You only need a night stay. Please get Mdm Zhao to arrange your bus back to Kunming, when you arrive there.
The next morning Mdm Zhao's husband will ferry you to see the sun raising scene. Its is all organised. Not worry and car, room stay and food very reasonable. Very kind and friendly couples. Unfortunately they don't speak english but message and sign language will be able to get what you want

Date of experience: October 2014
15  Thank clarencekoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2014

We spent two nights in late October 2014 at the guest house (红土情缘 Hong Tu Qing Yuan, Tel: 0086-13170612242, 0086-13211612477) and felt so much at home with Madam Zhao and her husband taking care of us - photos attached. Because I enjoyed it so much I felt obliged to write a review for them. On the morning of our trip from Kunming to the guest house, we bought the bus tickets from North bus station. The 7:50am tickets were sold out so we got the 8:30am bus from Kunming to FaZhe 法者. We were the only foreigners and we showed the driver the name of our guest house in Chinese. We had tried to buy the bus tickets the night before, but the North bus station closes at 8pm and we got there 5 minutes past 8. The bus ride itself is interesting as it stops to pick up people along the way. We had one toilet stop which I wouldn't advise foreigners to take if you can help it. Somewhere before reaching NiuJie 牛街, the closest big town below the hills, the short stretch of dirt road was quite muddy and we had to wait for an hour till repairs were carried out. We could see the 7:50am bus in the distance had got stuck and being pulled out by bulldozer. But soon we were on our way and the driver dropped us just right in front of our guest house while everyone on the bus was curiously looking at us. Madam Zhao made sure we were always very well fed and Mr Zhao took us around in his car to all the beautiful places this area is known for. Luckily for us the two days were sunny except for both sunrises which was too cloudy or drizzling. The bus back in the morning 9:40am was arranged by Madam Zhao and we reached Kunmming just around noon. There are buses every 20 minutes to the airport from the North bus station. Overall a very enjoyable trip and wonderful photographs.

Date of experience: October 2014
10  Thank bigtompk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2014

October was not a best season for the colours but still very good. We joined a local photographer tour for 6 days at RMB1930 which was value for money as we took a lot of good pictures.

Date of experience: October 2014
1  Thank rosaHongKong_China
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2014

The bus ride - you should arrive at the North Coach Station in Kunming for the 07:50 or 08:30 bus trip to You need a ticket to Hong Tu Di. That is the name of this guest house. The area is called Hong Tu Qing Yuan. (not Dongchuan). You buy your tickets at the North Coach Bus Station.
We were the only foreigners.
There are many guest houses along the way at every bus stop/village but we couldn't find any information about them before our trip. The Chinese tourists seemed to know about the other guest houses. Our hostess at the guest house in Hong Tu Di, tel: 13170612242, 13211612477 was waiting for us. She didn't speak a word of English. She was really wonderful. Her guest house has about 10 rooms with the option of twin or double rooms. We asked for a proper toilet and got it!! The rooms were clean, relatively well kept. The house was quiet. She took us to her refrigerator so we could point at what we would like to eat for the meals. Her cousin picked us up at an appointed time for a tour of the red lands, the sunset, other interesting villagers and other Chinese tourists and photographers. In the morning we woke at 06:00 to be taken to see the sunrise. As we didn't speak the language we couldn't really learn about their way of life, the way their life is changing, etc.
Our hostess arranged for the bus to pick us up the next day. The bus ride in itself was an experience as the driver picked up nearly everyone along the way and the bus was packed.
Take a warm jacket at the late evenings and early mornings are chilly, even in September.
The Sights - a palette of many colors - the red lands, the white canola flowers, the green grass, the trees with pears and other fruit, the goat herder, the old Chinese man, the women carrying very heavy baskets on their back, the carts drawn by either a horse or an ox, the interesting houses with their roof decorations, and much much more.

Date of experience: September 2014
6  Thank yvonnesa2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2014

There are 2 factors that could make or break your trip to 东川红土地 (Dongchuan Redland); firstly the weather & secondly your homestay hosts.

Despite the long drive (4 hours from Kunming airport) and our late arrival after 9 pm, we were still greeted with genuine mega-watt smiles from our homestay hosts at HongTuQingYuan. Within no time, our hostest Mdm Zhao whipped out several dishes of piping hot food which helped us relax immediately.

As we only had 1 full day, we headed out for the sunrise tour at 6 a.m. next morning. Nothing quite beats the sight of first light, and watching mother nature paint pink & orange hues onto her canvas.

Whilst we had terrific views of the ever-transforming clouds, they unfortunately blocked the full sun from shining onto the redland, hence the contrast was not as vibrant as expected.

Patience paid off as the clouds finally lifted past 9 am and we managed to capture the expected contours and contrasts.

We headed back for another round of delicious organic home cooked brunch and spent time soaking up the sun, sipping tea and chatting with our hostest.

At 3 pm, we were transported to the magical canola fields... The amazing span of canola fields, coupled with the smell of fresh canola oil put everyone in a happy mood. Every turn we made in the fields brought about new ooohhhsss and ahhhhs...:). We were also in time for potato harvesting season.

By 6 pm we started to descend for our sunset spot, but again, views were hampered by the clouds.

Our host was kind enough to bring us for a tour in his organic farm and showed us his private collection of cured ham whilst his wife magically cooked another wonderful meal.

We were very sorry to leave the next day and miss the warmth, effort and wonderful level of service provided by this couple.

Note on accomodation: After observing the overall standard of living in the village, we felt very fortunate to have running hot water, a working plumbing system and heated mattress during our homestay. Over and above the hardware, it was really the personal touch from our hosts that made this good trip GREAT!

Date of experience: September 2014
9  Thank kakipanjang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews