We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can order anything your heart desires”

QingNiao Western Restaurant (CuiHu Dian)
Ranked #76 of 645 Restaurants in Kunming
Cuisines: Thai
Description: Great restaurant next door to the Grand Park Hotel
Restaurant details
Description: Great restaurant next door to the Grand Park Hotel
vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“You can order anything your heart desires”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Quite an eclectic reaturant.Mexican, Italian, Chinese and some other nationalities.
Food is very good and so is the service.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank monvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    17
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Outrageous prices and faux chinese-turkish mirrored smokey atmosphere”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We were excited to try this place after reading the reviews. But 'classic rustic Italian' it is not (that was a joke right?) It is more like upscale brothel meets yuppy Chinese... maybe it was the mirrored columns, or the fish-net stocking starlight singer, or the big booth'ed private rooms, or the drapes covering the windows (which otherwise would have had a decent view), or the fact that half the couples were on their cell phones. When we opened the menus we were a bit shocked at the prices... 45Y for a very simple Chinese dish, 80Y minimum for a small 9" pizza, 25Y for the very cheapest beer... far above average, why not go over to Lost Garden just a block away and have amazing western food for half the price and a fresh atmosphere.
Sorry Blue Bird, we wanted to like you, but we'll leave you to the urban yuppies that have money to burn while gabbing away on your cell phones, smoking, feeling blaze. The only reason I give this two stars instead of just one is because our small Mushroom pizza was good, just not worth the money by our standards.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaB481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Well worth it”
Reviewed January 13, 2012

This is easily the best restaurant we visited while in Kunming. Great service, nice wine, huge portions, very nice ambiance.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer Island, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere and good food and wine”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

The Blue Bird is across the street from the Grand Park Hotel. It has a cheerful atmosphere and good service.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Aspiring1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Blue Bird - convenient and good variety”
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Good mix of Chinese and Western food. (the beef burgers and pizza are a western specialty)
I miss the live music though, there used to be a great duet playing till late...bring them back!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank AndrewPhoslock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed QingNiao Western Restaurant (CuiHu Dian) also viewed

 

Been to QingNiao Western Restaurant (CuiHu Dian)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing