We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good. And it's not expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fairyland Hotel Kunming Gulou
Ranked #246 of 1,191 Hotels in Kunming
Yao, Japan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pretty good. And it's not expensive”
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late night at kunming airport. And then we went to hotel from the airport by taxi. It's about 20 $. And this airport is construction right now. So many facilities are not in survice. And if u r 2people over, recommend family room. Because there is one bed only in business room.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yo2taiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    55
    22
    3
    3
See reviews for
4
12
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Noisy as there is construction going. Room was good and it was comfortably warm in it. Staff don`t really speak english but basic things you can manage. Room looked a bit worned out, but all that i could think was that i dont need to freeze when take shower. So in winter month good choice

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ekze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed at the Fairyland Hotel for two nights in July. Unlike other reviewers we didn't have any trouble finding the hotel. We booked the hotel via Agoda and printed out the travel directions that were provided, which we gave to the taxi driver who dropped us in front of the hotel. The staff didn't speak or understood any English which made it challenging, but also fun to get a little information or assistance from them. They were however very willing to help. When the language barrier became too big of an obstacle and my offline translation app didn't work properly, the reception guy and I used the computer in the lobby to find a online translation tool that could do the job. That worked good enough.
The room was fine, although it smelled like cigarette smoke.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Miepke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

The room itself is ok, apart from cigarette smoke on sheets, pillows and the room in general. Requested non-smoking, but did not get one. Ashtrays in rooms are a dead giveaway. Service was poor. They spent more time laughing behind theirhands at us??? Took forever to check us in, even though we were the only ones waiting. Took us 2 seperate taxis to find the hotel. Tucked away behing massive roadworks in front of building. It appears to be a Metro type construction. Breakfast did not start until 7.30 so no use to early starters eg tours etc.

Room Tip: Have your driver ring hotel on the way and get directions. Very difficult to find.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zzzman34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

$33/night, better than expected. Subway construction out front hides hotel and the Chinese habit of motor scooters barreling onto the sidewalk around the construction is a serious death threat to you as a pedestrian. Room was large and clean. Breakfast was great if you like Chinese food as we do but not great if you want bacon and eggs. Staff was eager to help but limited English made for amusing (or frustrating) problems. The woman who appears to be the manager has excellent English skills and is very helpful but she is rarely around the front desk.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Albuquerque_NMGeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

My family and I (2 adults, 3 kids) stayed one night in the family room. The room was adequate for 1 night. It is not old, but already shows signs of wear and tear (torn flooring). The beds were very firm (normal in China), but the sheets were nice and crisp. The bathroom was fine, but not terribly clean (hair in sink) so I had them come and clean it again. Free internet was a plus. No English spoken at the front desk, we managed with our Chinese, though they still seemed clueless about everything. We returned our key and forgot to ask for our deposit (100RMB) and they didn't offer it...oh well..We had called them a week earlier asking their help in finding our driver during our stay and they said they couldn't help. All in all, it was a good choice at that price for one night.

Room Tip: The family room has a queen size bed and a double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IlariaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

The Kumning Fairyland hotel is a decent hotel and about a 15 minute taxi ride from the airport.
The staff are friendly but have limited English - luckily my Chinese helped a lot but if you don't have many questions you will be fine.

The room on the top floor was a decent size and clean. The bed was very large and a bit firm but this is standard for China. Kettle, TV and broadband internet provided for free but there is no wi-fi in the hotel. For the price paid the hotel is a decent option.

Whilst the location isn't awful it isn't really that convenient either. It's near the river and not too far from YuanTong Temple. About 1/2 walk from CuiHu and WenLin Jie where a lot of restaurants and nightlife are. There are plenty of buses around if you can navigate them and taxis are still cheap in China, starting at 11 Yuan per ride.

Didn't try the breakfast which costs 15 Yuan. At reception you can buy soft drinks and pot noodle snacks.

The address in Chinese is 北京路716号云上四季酒店. If taxi drivers don't know where it is tell them Beijing Lu kou YuanTong Lu. 北京路口圆通路。This is the intersection of which the hotel is on.

There is construction outside the hotel as they are building a metro for Kunming but I didn't hear any noise.

Room Tip: 7th floor seemed quiet (apart from Chinese tourists shouting at each other)! Get an odd number room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mrrfrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kunming hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Kunming City Centre
2.2 mi away
Sofitel Kunming
Sofitel Kunming
#1 of 1,191 in Kunming
201 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kunming Jinjiang Hotel
Kunming Jinjiang Hotel
#9 of 1,191 in Kunming
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Grand Park Kunming
Grand Park Kunming
#5 of 1,191 in Kunming
564 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre
6.3 mi away
Intercontinental Kunming
Intercontinental Kunming
#2 of 1,191 in Kunming
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairyland Hotel Kunming Gulou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairyland Hotel Kunming Gulou

Property: Fairyland Hotel Kunming Gulou
Address: No.716 Beijing Road, Panlong District, Kunming 650051, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Kunming
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #246 of 1,191 Hotels in Kunming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairyland Hotel Kunming Gulou 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Fairyland Hotel Kunming Gulou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing