We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“strategic location and friendly staff..BUT Bed is not good. very hard!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Era Hotel Kunming
Ranked #11 of 1,191 Hotels in Kunming
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“strategic location and friendly staff..BUT Bed is not good. very hard!”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

The hotel is right smack in the centre of city with lots of shopping complex around. There are halal restaurants nearby,rows of Souvenirs market with local goods nearby the hotel. (one is opposite the road of the hotel; behind Bank of China.....and another one behind Dico's and row of restaurant all within 7 to 10mins walk from hotel. The hotel also has friendly staffs and i MUST COMPLIMENT..Ms. KELLY(front desk) was extremely helpful guided me the way to the Souvenirs shops and even walked us to the nearest Halal restaurant and was so kind to follow up and check with us at the lobby as soon as we returned to the hotel. She spoke english fluently. The rest of the front desk were still struggling to communicate in english (is the main problem in the whole beautiful city..sadly). BUT one thing spoiled our stay was the condition of the bed. We stayed in level 25 (room 2506) and our BED was very HARD..was as hard as rock. our body ache so much sleeping on it. Hope the management will look into this. Other than that, i will surely recommend New Era Hotel to my family and friends.

Room Tip: Higher floor has less A/C but good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PriyaRaaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    250
    48
    8
    5
See reviews for
36
81
25
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Daly City, CA 94015
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Centrally located in the heart of the city surrounding by stores and restaurants. It's very convenient location, which can walk or take the public transportation to some of Kunming's attracation such as Jinma Biji Historic Site, the Flower/Bird Market & Green Peacock Square.... Room is very comfortable, clean with excellent services. The restaurant on 28th floor provide excellent breakfast & dinner with view of city . Hotel also provide airport shuttle bus service, but please do check their schedule first especially for pick up from airport.

I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: For non-smoker, please metion no smoking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joannahsu1688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Centrally located in the heart of the city surrounding by stores and restaurants you ever wish for. Room is very comfortable. Love the tea they put in the room as complimentary. They come in the small jar so you can use as frequent as you want.
Hotel may need to improve the cleanliness a bit.

Room Tip: Ask for the higher floor to avoid the noise from the street below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJ1176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are confortable but really too noisy because of the street just nearby and the walls are really too thin so you hear every sound coming from the neighbors

The restaurant is really not good and expensive and the same goes for breakfast

Concerning the service impossible to have a fapiao (which is very annoying when you are on a business trip) and most employees don't speak English

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne02210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I can't highly recommend this four star hotel to any business or leisure travellers. I stayed at hotel for 2 nights in late Oct and it was right in the middle of shopping dining district, pedestrian malls all around, the conceiege and housekeeping were all very helpful. Kunming was notorious of traffic jam in peak hours between 5pm to 7pm, I waited at least 15 mins to get a taxi and it was with concierge's help, parking around hotel can be a bit difficult. It was my birthday on the next day of my stay, I was pleasantly surprised when hotel secretly sent me beautiful flowers and birthday cake, I thought it was very touching and they obviously have a very good service standard. The buffet breakfast was good and had plenty of choices of chinese and western style food, including toast, cereal, cooked breakfast of egg, bacon etc. I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I stayed on level 25, I think definitely higher floor is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thewomby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Hotel was centrally located with quite a lot of happenings around. Was expecting a nicer room since I booked a room on executive floor. Without knowing we went and joined the rest of the guests in the restaurant for breakfast and found out later from my friends the breakfast choices on executive floor was not better. May not be worthwhile to pay more for rooms on executive floors. The concierge was very helpful with required transport arrangement. For those who are not used to hard bed may like to check first if all the beds are the similarly hard.

Room Tip: Refer to above comments
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiewy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Upon arrival in our room we found it very hot – 85 degrees F (29 degrees C)! In addition, the carpet was very dirty and stained.

I talked to the front desk about the heat in the room and they cheerily told me that it is the hotel “policy” to run the air conditioning only from 8 pm to 2 am. It did not matter how hot the rooms got – that was the policy. They offered to send a fan up to our room. I told them that a fan would only move the hot air around – not make it any cooler. They also offered a swamp cooler for the room – as if adding moisture to the air would help.

They did acknowledge that they could move us to the opposite side of the hotel – away from the sun where it would be cooler. It was a bit cooler, but the carpets were also dirty in this room. In addition, the toilet leaked out onto the bathroom floor.

We went out for the evening (the streets were cool) until they turned on the air conditioning and the room cooled down. And, as “advertised” the air conditioning went off at 2:00 am and the room got hot again.

I have run into this air-conditioning "policy" in cheap hotels around China, but this is a major, 28 story, expensive hotel in cosmopolitan Kunming! There are certainly better choices if comfort is important to you!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roams-A-Lot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kunming hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Park Kunming
Grand Park Kunming
#5 of 1,191 in Kunming
566 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Kunming City Centre
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Kunming
Sofitel Kunming
#1 of 1,191 in Kunming
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre
1.2 mi away
Kunming Jinjiang Hotel
Kunming Jinjiang Hotel
#9 of 1,191 in Kunming
364 reviews
0.9 mi away
Green Lake Hotel
Green Lake Hotel
#3 of 1,191 in Kunming
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Era Hotel Kunming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Era Hotel Kunming

Property: New Era Hotel Kunming
Address: No.1 Dongfeng West Road, Wuhua District, Kunming 650021, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Kunming
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 1,191 Hotels in Kunming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Era Hotel Kunming 3.5*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kunming New Era Hotel is a four- star business hotel with a fresh reflection of Kunming historical culture. It locates conveniently at the center of Kunming city, where is adjacent with the Golden Horse and Green Peacock Square, the symbol of Kunming history and culture. The hotel is a 28-floor property, our holds 315 luxury rooms which is equipped with 10M high-speed internet access, central A/C, multiple choices of TV programs and other advanced facilities. The hotel has different kinds of functional rooms which are suitable for international conventions, banquets and exhibitions. Meanwhile we have 3 chinese and western restaurants which can meet the tastes of customers. Entertainment and recreation facilities are also available in the hotel and it must be the most favourable for the business trip.Located in the heart of Kunming city within walking distance of the following places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your New Era Hotel Kunming reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing