We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Reliable hotel in Kunming” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Era Hotel Kunming

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
New Era Hotel Kunming
Ranked #10 of 1,125 Hotels in Kunming
Shanghai
Level Contributor
100 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Reliable hotel in Kunming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is the hotel I stay in Kunming every time because of its location and convenience; also because of the service standard has been pretty consistent which does not happen all the time in many Chinese hotels. Stayed at the executive floor for 4 nights, changed 2 rooms due to heavy outdoor noise and a leaking shower, but people were extremely friendly and helpful to deal with the situation. Breakfast was good enough to start the day. Walking distance to Starbucks, Pizza Hut and Parkson Department store, Parkson’s underground supermarket is very good with fresh fruits and imported cereals. However the downsides are: bed is the Chinese style hard one 2) the room is always overheated every time, I had to open the window to get some cool air; 3) hard to find a taxi in the morning, those parked one outside the hotel only wanted an easy ride to airport.

Room Tip: Higher floor city view room has good overview
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MinibearX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    245
    48
    8
    5
See reviews for
34
78
25
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Warren, New Jersey
Level Contributor
139 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

The hotel is located at the most popular business dictrict with all kinds of shops, restaurants, and even a IMAX cinema within walking distance. The service is incredibly good. All the staff are always ready to help. For business levels the hotel provides complimentary laundry for a certain amount, and also send milk and candy to room every night. The breakfast is also fabulous. Definitely will stay again for future visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wei H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Hotel offers Changshui Airport drop-off three times daily at 0800, 1300 and 1700, and takes about 35 minutes. Must arrange in advance. Otherwise, the cheapest way to get to the airport is to take a short 5 minute taxi ride to Xiyi Hotel at XiaoXiMen for around 10-12 yuan, then airport shuttle bus no. 1 for 25 yuan, about 30-40 minutes duration. The shuttle bus stops in the parking lot of Xiyi Hotel. It doesn't run around the clock but does go pretty late (past midnight). If you're catching the shuttle at the airport after arriving in Kunming, buy a bus ticket first at the silver-colored booth located on the sidewalk to your right just after exiting the airport. The buses are parked in the street across from the booth. The subway from the airport to town is still in the works.

I've stayed in a business single on the 25th floor as well as an executive room on the 27th. Both rooms were nonsmoking but I could still smell cigarette fumes via the vents in both. The A/C in the exec room actually worked, while the A/C in the regular room never went below approx 75F. Breakfast included with the exec room was on the 26th floor, and had both an egg station and noodle station, but there was much less variety overall than the great spread on the 28th floor, where all non-execs eat. Stick with the 28th floor buffet. Happy hour is also included with the exec room, but doesn't offer much. Towels in both rooms were soft but not very absorbent, probably from too much softener. Price for the exec room was about 120 yuan more, worth it to me for the A/C.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LiveAndLetTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

This was my second time staying at the New Era and once again, I was impressed! Everything is as good as you could ask for: nice rooms, helpful staff and definitely the best location in town. The four years since I had stayed at the New Era had served it well, so many new restaurants in the immediate vicinity of the hotel now! The hotel even has a free shuttle to and from the airport now!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank labajita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

The hotel is situated in the heart of city center. All the shopping malls, supermarkets, low-end & high end restaurants are within the walking distance. The hotel staff are polite and helpful. The breakfast caters for both of Asian and western travelers - fruits, pastries, noodles, dim sum, sushi etc. I stayed on the executive floor. The room was relatively small compared to other five-star hotels. The facilities showed its age but it was functional. It exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karmaexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
130 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Wasn't expecting much when booking this hotel, so was pleasantly surprised.

Was given a non smoking room on the 25th floor. Bed was a little hard but alright for 1 night sleep. Bathroom was showing its age with some mold on the corners of the bathtub but overall it was in decent condition. Tolietries were nothing to shout about, pretty crap actually, but luckily had brought some of my own.

Breakfast was pretty good - for asian/chinese tastes, that is. Not sure if stewed chicken feet, hot and spicy minced pork with noodles ranked high on the list of people not used to consuming it. For me it was a nice change from the usual 5 star hotel fare. The pastries and cereals didn't look all that appetising, so didn't try and couldn't say. The breakfast placeis on the 25th floor with a nice view of downtown and the square.

Location was fantastic for a stopover. Walked down to the broadway cinemas nearby to catch a movie. Plenty of food options nearby. Not more then 5 mins walk from LaoFangZi - which is a really authentic, inexpensive, delicious Yunnanese restaurant in a classic Qing Dynasty courtyard house - best meal of the trip!

Would definitely consider staying here again should I find myself in Kunming.

Room Tip: get non smoking room in high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flitting_bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

We've book this hotel based on the review I read in Tripadvisor. Truly this hotel is the best place to stay when you visit Kunming. When we arrived, friendly hotel staff greet us and check in was very smooth and quick. We stayed in a non smoking level (25th floor) which is an excellent choice since you can have the whole city view from your window. However, the breakfast was average. Maybe the menu mainly caters for locals so can't complain much. The bellman was so helpful when we told him we wanted to go to Stone Forest. He called the driver and he picked us up 9am sharp in front of our hotel. We really have great time in stone forest as well. Oh yes, you could change your currency at the hotel as well so it was convenient to us when we need extra money after 5pm (Banks were closed). The airport transfer from hotel to airport was free so that saves us probably RMB100. No worries about looking for food to eat because this hotel is in the middle of everything you could ask for. McDonalds, Pizza Hut.. High end brands and of coz local restaurants. Tips for Muslims: there are few halal restaurants nearby this hotel as well.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank PamJebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kunming hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Park Kunming
Grand Park Kunming
#3 of 1,125 in Kunming
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Kunming City Centre
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kunming Jinjiang Hotel
Kunming Jinjiang Hotel
#6 of 1,125 in Kunming
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
5.2 mi away
Intercontinental Kunming
Intercontinental Kunming
#1 of 1,125 in Kunming
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Kunming
Sofitel Kunming
#2 of 1,125 in Kunming
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Era Hotel Kunming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Era Hotel Kunming

Property: New Era Hotel Kunming
Address: No.1 Dongfeng West Road, Wuhua District, Kunming 650021, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Kunming
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 1,125 Hotels in Kunming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — New Era Hotel Kunming 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kunming New Era Hotel is a four- star business hotel with a fresh reflection of Kunming historical culture. It locates conveniently at the center of Kunming city, where is adjacent with the Golden Horse and Green Peacock Square, the symbol of Kunming history and culture. The hotel is a 28-floor property, our holds 315 luxury rooms which is equipped with 10M high-speed internet access, central A/C, multiple choices of TV programs and other advanced facilities. The hotel has different kinds of functional rooms which are suitable for international conventions, banquets and exhibitions. Meanwhile we have 3 chinese and western restaurants which can meet the tastes of customers. Entertainment and recreation facilities are also available in the hotel and it must be the most favourable for the business trip.Located in the heart of Kunming city within walking distance of the following places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your New Era Hotel Kunming reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing