We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice centrally located in Kunming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Era Hotel Kunming

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Era Hotel Kunming
Ranked #8 of 1,101 Hotels in Kunming
Oregon USA
Level Contributor
122 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice centrally located in Kunming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed on Exec floor. And had nice room. Quiet despite let's of traffic on street below which was nice. Room was comfortable. Hotel located near large shopping mall with all the brands you could want (well maybe all). Staff very accommodating as we had to change reservation on return. Also, Several English speaking staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FABOregonUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    244
    46
    8
    4
See reviews for
33
77
25
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
704 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 367 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The hotel is a modern and high-rise hotel in the centre of Kunming and just off the shopping mall. The service is excellent and although not all staff spoke English on the front desk, some did.
The room was a good size and very comfortable. The bathroom was also a good size and clean. The room was well appointed and had a safe in the room as well as internet connection. Facilities for coffee/tea were also available in the room as was complementary water. There was limited cupboard space in the room.
There were many restaurants in the vicinity of the hotel which served the traditional "over-the-bridge noodles" and the dry hotpot. The hotel had an excellent breakfast restaurant on the 28th floor and although Chinese fare was predominent, there was more than enough western fare available.
A definite hotel for a return visit to Kunming.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AntarcticBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
70 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the New Era hotel for three nights during our visit to Kunming and the Stone Forest. It's a great central location as other reviewers have mentioned, but what sets this hotel apart from others we've stayed at in China is the ultra-professional, ultra-caring service from all it's employees we encountered, from the bellhops to the lady serving the tea.

We especially would like to commend Miss Chen, the supervisor who checked us into our executive room on the 26th floor. She was so helpful, always smiling, and while her English was limited, she bent over backwards to make our stay a positive one. For example, my wife and her jacket was a victim of a woman who vomited while exiting the lobby elevator as we entered it. I kid you not. As we got to our floor, we showed Miss Chen what happened, and she offered to have her jacket cleaned, and it was returned the next morning. The hotel did not charge us for this unfortunate occurrence, and we really appreciate their understanding.

The room itself was fine with outstanding views, but the furniture and fixtures need updating. The bed was ultra hard, even by Chinese standards, and the shower, even though a modern rain shower style, contained moldy spots along the tile grout. Miss Chen told us all rooms probably have such mold as it has been a while since the rooms have been renovated, so we didn't bother to move to another room. We were told the 25th floor is "green", ie non-smoking with tubs instead of showers, so mold may not be an issue there. We opted to stay on the executive level, though, which also comes with teatime between 3 and 5 PM, including a nice selection of fruits and cakes,

The buffet breakfast is outstanding with enough selection for Chinese and Western tourists alike. Don't believe reviewers who say otherwise. Many hotel staff are there, serving coffee and getting the elevators. They are so nice and service oriented. This is as well-run a hotel as we've encountered, in or out of China.

Room Tip: Executive floor comes with teatime, but 25th floor is "green", while executive floors are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RockiesExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The New Era Hotel is an excellent choice: it is situated in the very heart of the city, in walking distance to major malls, restaurants and supermarkets. The rooms are sufficiently big and clean. Free water, milk, coffee and tea is provided. Vibrating condoms for 40 Yuan are a remarkable peculiarity. There is free internet in the rooms via LAN, wi-fi is only available in the lobby, but both can be occasionally dead slow. Breakfast in the 28th floor is a highlight, but you shall try to arrive early to avoid the crowds: very comprehensive Chinese options and some Western Choices, which you do not really need because of the excellent, freshly prepared Chinese noodle soup.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guilherme T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Nice hotel in the town center. Shopping malls, old street market and restaurants right around the corner. This is a big modern 28 floors hotel. The reception staff don´t speek much english, but they try very hard to be helpfull.
The room was pleasant and the beds were soft by chinese standards.
Don´t miss the restaurant Laofangzi 老房子 "The old house" just a few minutes walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hotel was good, well located. But most of the staff couldn't even understand English. Kettle was provide without tea / coffee. Breakfast was mixed (as expected). But the choice was not adequate. Could have been better. They said wi-fi in room, but wi-fi was only available in lobby area. Temperature control of Air condition from rooms was not available. Hotel controls the room temperature.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IshtiaqueHossain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I made a second visit to Kunming, China during Oct 12-14, 2012. A friend booked a room for me at the New Era Hotel, located in the downtown area. It is about 30 minutes drive from the new airport, which is the third largest in China, after Beijing and Shanghai.
I stayed on the 23rd floor. The room was pleasant, with a nice view of the shopping malls. You can watch CNN, BBC and some other English channels, and the internet was very fast.
Two apples were put in the room daily, along with two small cartons of fresh milk.
Staff were nice and helpful, and I enjoyed visting the shopping malls and the old street market, which is just a five minutes walk from the hotel. Breakfast is served on the topmost (28th) floor and I really enjoyed the dumplings and noodles and, of course, the nice view of the city.
Will be back next time with my wife.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Songpol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kunming hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Park Kunming
Grand Park Kunming
#2 of 1,101 in Kunming
4.0 of 5 stars 450 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Kunming City Centre
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Kunming City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kunming Jinjiang Hotel
Kunming Jinjiang Hotel
#9 of 1,101 in Kunming
4.0 of 5 stars 336 reviews
0.8 mi away
Green Lake Hotel
Green Lake Hotel
#3 of 1,101 in Kunming
4.5 of 5 stars 562 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Kunming
Sofitel Kunming
#5 of 1,101 in Kunming
4.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Era Hotel Kunming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Era Hotel Kunming

Property: New Era Hotel Kunming
Address: NO. 1 Dongfeng West Rd, Kunming 650021, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Kunming
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 1,101 Hotels in Kunming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — New Era Hotel Kunming 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kunming New Era Hotel is a four- star business hotel with a fresh reflection of Kunming historical culture. It locates conveniently at the center of Kunming city, where is adjacent with the Golden Horse and Green Peacock Square, the symbol of Kunming history and culture. The hotel is a 28-floor property, our holds 315 luxury rooms which is equipped with 10M high-speed internet access, central A/C, multiple choices of TV programs and other advanced facilities. The hotel has different kinds of functional rooms which are suitable for international conventions, banquets and exhibitions. Meanwhile we have 3 chinese and western restaurants which can meet the tastes of customers. Entertainment and recreation facilities are also available in the hotel and it must be the most favourable for the business trip.Located in the heart of Kunming city within walking distance of the following places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your New Era Hotel Kunming reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing