We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap clean hotel in quiet central location”

Spring City Garden Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Spring City Garden Hotel
Ranked #407 of 1,198 Hotels in Kunming
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
525 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Cheap clean hotel in quiet central location”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Good location in downtown Kunming, near Kunming hotel and Camelia, with good connections to airport and train station, and Green Lake.
Small, basic but clean wooden rooms, with everything you need, including good showers. Breakfast buffet ok - Overall Great Value

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happysheepChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    53
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
1
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
China
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

This hotel is definitely for Chinese speakers. They could barely deal with us at the desk and got very flustered. We had to go to a more foreign-friendly hotel to get information about places to visit. They were nice, but just didn't know what to do with us. The breakfast is very Chinese, but there was some cereal (although only hot milk). One of the rooms smelled like smoke and there was smoking everywhere, which is typical in Chinese hotels. No wireless, only broadband to plug into your computer.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2009

I was ill doing my stay here, so I was in bed most of the time, and it was good. The room was clean, , but nothing special. My friend told me that breakfast was not good, but for this price I would not expect much.
Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Galapita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2009

This hotel was suggested to us by the people that we were visiting in Kunming and we were able to get a good rate through the organization that our friends work at, so this was the main reason that we stayed in the hotel. For China, this room was clean and was well kept up. We stayed in the newly renovated wing, which did have a nice new feel. There is nothing special about the hotel and it is not in the greatest location (we walked around and couldn't find too many good restaurants or other things to do), but it is easy to catch a cab and head into the more "happening" area of Kunming. We originally thought we would need 2 rooms for the family, but after seeing how big the room was, we decided to cancel the 1 room and they didn't have any problems with the switch. Besides the location, the other gripe would be that we received 2 breakfast coupons and they applied for my wife and I, but we had to pay for my 2 kids (4 and 2), it was cheap, but usually kids this young eat for free so even though I asked and told them (in Chinese) that my kids are only 4 and 2, they still insisted…oh well.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2008

I stayed at the newly renovated wing of the hotel. It is clean, comfortable, and within walking distance to places where the expats live.

  • Liked — Clean room. Internet in the room
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5flower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2008

Was not expecting much but the hotel was clean, pretty nice. However, the AC was not working well, room was warm but tolerable. The main lobby is under major renovation.

  • Liked — Good breakfast buffet
  • Disliked — AC could have been better
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AsianTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kunming hotels
Jinmabijifang
Spring City Inn (Kunming Jifeng )
Sofitel Kunming
#1 of 1,198 in Kunming
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Park Kunming
#5 of 1,198 in Kunming
573 reviews
Kunming Jinjiang Hotel
#9 of 1,198 in Kunming
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring City Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring City Garden Hotel

Property: Spring City Garden Hotel
Address: No.449 Renmin West Road, Kunming, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Kunming > Green Lake , Xishan District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #407 of 1,198 Hotels in Kunming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Spring City Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Spring City Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spring City Garden Kunming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing