We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Xi'an Evening Food Tour by TukTuk
523

Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Lost Plate Xian Food Tours
Reviews (743)
Filter reviews
743 results
Traveler rating
708
26
3
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
708
26
3
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews noodles from place to place biang biang street food xi guide wall
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 743 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2021

We love these tours. Michelle, our guide, was wonderful! She was pleasant, knowledgeable and fun! The food was great and I felt like I had an experience I wouldn't have gotten without the help of Lost Plate. Thanks again!

Date of experience: April 2021
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LostPlate, Owner at Lost Plate Xian Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2021

Hi Jeff L, It's always a pleasure hosting you - thanks for joining us in Xian!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2021 via mobile

Driving through the narrow alleys of the Muslim quarter and hopping off at little family owned restaurants have me such a memorable experience! Totally different culinary experience of China, Silk Road influences, absolutely recommended!

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank kristinmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LostPlate, Owner at Lost Plate Xian Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2021

Hi kirstinmo, thanks for joining us and thanks for your review. We're so happy you had a great time! The food in Xian really is so special and we love supporting the restaurants we visit. Thanks again and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2021 via mobile

First, it should be noted that this is NOT an all you can eat/drink affair, so I don’t even know why it says this. Very misleading. It’s certainly not as if I ever intended to do either, but I just find the advertising deceptive on this one. They will meet you and roll up with a tiny cooler with some local canned beers, but since you can’t drink in the first 3/4 restaurants, there’s really no time to consume them. Then, they take you to three local spots in the Muslim Quarter, and which you could easily find by yourself and save a heck of a lot of money. Our guide was sweet, which was the tour’s saving grace, but aside from that, I was highly disappointed by this tour. It’s just not worth the money at all.

Thank bjk127
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LostPlate, Owner at Lost Plate Xian Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2021

Hey there bjk127, we're so sorry to see that you didn't appreciate your tour with us. We always take feedback seriously so we can improve our tours and our service, and it sounds like we can do a better job at some of this. With that said, perhaps you didn't get a chance to read our website since you were signed up by a friend. We have made it very clear in our website that we are unable to drink alcohol at some of our stops since they are Muslim restaurants. With that said, we do provide unlimited food and drinks along the way, and if you ever need more of anything we will provide that. If the cooler on the tuktuk gets low (which often happens), we stop to get more along the way. All of these things we happily provide on every tour.

It's important for everyone to know that it will always be more expensive to join a tour rather than visit the restaurants on your own. We've spent years perfecting our routes, which means you don't need to do the research, you don't need to speak Chinese to know what to order, and you don't need to worry about finding the best spots in town (and the comment that you could find all of our restaurants on your own is simply untrue - we'd politely challenge you to do that even after taking this tour :-)). You also have tuktuk transportation for the night along with our guide who provides a huge level of insight into Xian and the food that you're eating. If you're on a low budget, joining a food tour won't be the best choice for you. With that said, we believe we provide a huge value compared to other food tours around the world.

Our sincere apologies again that you didn't enjoy your experience. It's so rare that we get comments like this, but it helps us understand how we can improve for different types of guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2020

The food we got to eat was really wonderful. There was first hand pulled noodles and I have a fascination with them, as do others, and it was too short of a demonstration of the process. Even though in the group I was with, we all were friends, it was hard for all of us to all get the pictures and video we wanted. It is a tight spot, but there is such skills and history there that wasn't really talked about.

Then we went to a streetside bbq that was really tasty as well. The guide had more to say here in a general way and we got some background about the history and area, but it was very surface.

The third one was dumplings and they were good, but we sat in a large table in the back and was the least interactive. We didn't see them make anything, we didn't interact with the establishment and while the dumpling were good, and the soups interesting, it was the least enjoyable. Perhaps it was because enough time in China means the its really hard to make dumpling interesting because there was no interesting story. While BBQ is so common at least we learned more about the people and the old man and his wife where there part of the action. Here, we waited, and someone strolled by and dumped the food on the table and left.

The last food stop had a special chicken that was a delight! It was interesting decor, unlike the dumpling place that is sterile and dull. There wasn't much interaction with the staff but the food came quickly and the surroundings were great.

We had just come from two days of a tour with such a fabulous tour guide that was so knowledgable and so engaged with us that we even took her out to dinner one of our free nights, her and her sister. The tour guide for Lost Plate was fine, but she seemed she often had run out of things to say or to share. Some more knowledge about each stop would have been helpful.

I also chose this because of the tuk-tuks. Its a treat to go through the areas on them versus walking. It makes it able to cover more ground and see other areas. So the tuk-tuks are a real plus.

Date of experience: December 2020
Thank ThaiCookingRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LostPlate, Owner at Lost Plate Xian Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2021

Hi ThaiCookingRocks, thank you for joining us in Xian and for your detailed review, we really appreciate it! We're so happy you enjoyed your tour and all of the food - the chicken just can't be beat! We continue to do our best to improve and create an incredible experience for each and every guest and it was a pleasure hosting you. Come back and see us in another city soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2020 via mobile

Xi’an’s food is amazing. BiangBiang noodles and Peking Duck (Beijing) ate the best things I’ve eaten in China. Was really nice hearing about the history too.

Date of experience: December 2020
Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LostPlate, Owner at Lost Plate Xian Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2021

Hi GirlGreetsClobee, thanks for joining us in Xian! Those noodles are so good right?!?! Come back and join us again in another city. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews