We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Citadines Central Xi'an
Ranked #13 of 2,658 Hotels in Xi'an
Reviewed January 12, 2014

we spent 4 nights here last month. The location is really convenient for those who like to walk around. All the touristy attractions are within 15mins walk.

The hotel is clean and pretty well maintained, this of course is because it is foreign-owned and managed. Rooms are reasonably big and we love the sofa bed. We booked this hotel simply because of this sofa bed, as we are travelling with a teenage son.

Breakfast is a little disappointing, though. Which we had it for only 1 day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IvanLohPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin N, General Manager at Citadines Central Xi'an, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear IvanLohPL, hello from Citadines and thank you for your review! It is great to know that you enjoyed our facilities and central location. We hope you and your family enjoyed yourself exploring the City Wall, Bell and Drum Towers and the vibrant Muslim Street. We also apologize about the buffet breakfast, and are trying to make improvements to it. In the meantime, we have setup an alternative set breakfast at the hotel's 6th floor with fresh pastries, juice, fruits and freshly ground coffee. We hope you will give it a try on your next stay here. Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,081)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

465 - 471 of 1,081 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

It was our first trip to Xi'an...and there are only few Western Brand hotels in the town comparing to other coastal cities in China so it was hard for us to find a place to stay for two nights in Xi’an. When we first saw "Citadines Central Xi'an", we didn't consider it because the room rate was too low. We use to stay in 4/5 star western hotels, and don't want to have a motel type logging. However, after reading other reviews online, we decided to give a try, and booked two studios, one for my wife and I, and one for our two grown-up college age daughters.
It turned out to be a good choice. The hotel is in a prime location, just one block away from the Bell Tower and Drum Tower from which we can have access to subway, and buses. The Taxis are cheap in Xi’an, and we saw them on the streets with “Empty” lights on, but they didn’t take customers. Therefore, it was convenient for us to be close to buses and subway stops. Around the hotel, we can find many restaurants and coffee shops (including Starbucks).
Inside of the room, it was clean, very clean that was primary what we were looking for when we travel oversea. The decor is modern, but simple. Since we have been traveling around the world, and stayed in many luxury-brand hotels, we can tell it is not a 4-star like the hotel claimed to be. I know it by simply touch the towels in the bathroom, or by sitting on the bed. It is at most a 3-star like Holiday Inn, or more close to Ibis brand. Considering paying a motel price for a stay in Holiday Inn, it was still a great deal. We should not forget that it was a studio with a tiny kitchen, although we didn't use it.
The only problem we had was the smell in our bathroom (not in our daughters' studio). We called the front desk, and they sent immediately a maintenance lady to our room. She said the smell was from the drain pipe, and the remedy was to put some fresh water to the pipe because the siphon water was dried up by the heating system. After what she did, the smell problem was not completely resolved, but the situation was much better. We also turned on the bathroom fan all the time so it helped too.
There was a continental breakfast included, but the food quality was below the average. I rather prefer to eat my breakfast in Starbucks or McDonalds that is about two-five minutes of walk.
Overall, it is a good place to stay if you are not too picky like my wife is.

Room Tip: The hotel is one block away from the Bell Tower at which you can find a airport shuttle service to X...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevinT888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin N, General Manager at Citadines Central Xi'an, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear KevinT888, greetings from Citadines Central Xi'an and thank you for your compliments! We are glad to hear that you and your family (if I'm not wrong the earlier review was from one of your daughters) enjoyed your here during your family holiday! We apologize for the problems you encountered with your bathroom, and hope that the timely service from our staff was to your satisfaction. As you noted, there is a big problem with taxis here that has also been highlighted by other guests in their reviews. The taxi industry here needs better regulation and control, but unfortunately not enough is being done about it. However, if our guests do manage to get a taxi and encounter problems with the taxi driver, just let our staff know and we will be glad to seek compensation or redress for you with the relevant authorities. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We spent 2 sleepless nights here. We have chiropractic mattresses in our house that guests say are very firm and we find them good so just imagine how hard the mattress was at Citadines Central for us not to be able to sleep. We were glad to leave. The breakfast vouchers can be used on level 6 for take away which we looked at but went down to level 1 for the buffet. It had asian dishes of coarse but also did watery scrambled eggs, watery tang for OJ and powdered milk (not whitener) for coffee. It was really cheap and nasty. However, being picked up at the airport was a lovely treat.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin N, General Manager at Citadines Central Xi'an, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Helen T, greetings from Citadines Central Xi'an and thank you for your review! We are sorry to hear that your sleep quality was affected by our mattresses. Mattresses are something that can be quite subjective and we have a fair mix of local and foreign guests who provide contrasting feedback but we try our best to keep everyone happy. Improvements to breakfast are still a work in progress, and in the meantime we encourage our guests to try the 6th floor breakfast or venture out and try the local food like some of our other guests. We hope you will visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I traveled with my family to Xi'an, and we stayed at the Citadines during our stay. Please note that my parents paid for this stay, so my review is about the experience without relation to the expense of staying here (i.e. no idea if this is a good value for your money.)

Just in general, my parents had a separate room from my sister and I, and we both had really good-sized rooms (especially when you consider that... this is China). Both of our rooms had a living room that you could separate from the bedroom (via moving wall), which isn't very common in Chinese hotels. There was only one TV, but you could slide it from living room to bedroom (awesome!) Also- free wifi! Kind of slow sometimes but it's free so I don't care much.

Some complaints: my room was fine, but my parents' room smelled because of the plumbing and the hotel could (or would) not do anything about it. The only thing they could do is keep the fan running whenever we were here (no electricity runs unless you leave a card inside). I also didn't like that the bathroom had a sliding door- I personally thought it was a bit heavy.

Breakfast is not worth it- I'm usually really easy to please but I had some porridge and that was it. Coffee was really gross. I think I ended up hungry afterwards- there are plenty of options nearby that I would recommend over breakfast.

Really great location- there's an airport shuttle about 5 minutes walk. I would recommend taking buses over taxis in general- definitely take the bus to the terminal and take one of the buses (I think we took 306 there and 915 back) there to the Terra-cotta soldiers. (From the terminal you have to walk a little further to green and blue buses. Don't follow the people that are hanging around the bus terminals that are super eager to 'show you the way'.)

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank etldee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin N, General Manager at Citadines Central Xi'an, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear elleodee, hello from Citadines Central Xi'an and thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your trip here and that our facilities and services were mostly to your satisfaction. As you pointed out, our moving bedroom wall and sliding TV are definitely some our more unique features and a great novelty for many of guests staying in a Citadines brand apartment. We apologize for the plumbing issues in your parents' room and are looking to try and resolve it as soon as possible. Breakfast is something many guests have expressed their dissatisfaction with, hence as an alternative we encourage our guests to try the breakfast at the 6th floor with free flow of freshly ground coffee or the local eateries along the street. It is quick and convenient getting to the terracotta warriors site from our place and our Front Desk is always glad to help with the directions. We look forward to wecoming you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My first visit to Xi’an city was a New Year’s Eve treat. And my three day visit was enhanced by staying at Citadines Central Xi’an. The reviews are true. This is a reliable, apartment style hotel in a great location. The Bell Tower, the Drum Tower, the subway, the airport bus, a train ticket window office, and most tourist services are all nearby in this bustling city neighborhood that has a definite cool.

As reported by many Tripadvisors, the CCX breakfast is ordinary. But hey, it’s not bad, and it was included in the room price. The rooms and the common areas are a little tired, and the beds are that distinctive Chinese ‘firm’, but my room was warm, clean and spacious. In spite of the central location, the room was quiet. I loved the bath and used the well-equipped little kitchen. Also travelers, this is China, and hotel rooms that don’t smell of smoke deserve a special mention.

Note: I bought my day ticket to the warriors from the Tourist Information Office just across the road at less than half the price that the hotel was offering. 320RMB included pick up, entrances, lunch, and drop off with a really lovely small group. Indeed, the hotel business center that handles guest bookings and assistance was pretty hopeless.

And what is it with taxis in Xi’an!! (See Tripadvisor RobynBSydney 26 November 2013) I was just about held hostage by a taxi driver who picked me up from Xi’an North station, wouldn’t use the meter and demanded a hefty 60RMB fee. I played dumb until we got to the hotel, then made a ruckus, called in the Manager and got my money back. It was scary and unpleasant. Other CCX guests related similar experiences, and from all reports, this is not uncommon in Xi’an. Come on fellas, in a one-party state, city authorities can do something about this!

By the way, walk or cycle the wall. For my money it’s the iconic Xi’an experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin N, General Manager at Citadines Central Xi'an, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Christopher G, greetings from Xi'an and thank you for your review! We are delighted to know that your stay here made your experience in Xi'an that much more enjoyable. As you rightly summed up, our spacious rooms and excellent location are our best features. The breakfast is something we are still working on, though we do encourage our guests to try out the alternative breakfast option at the 6th floor or to even venture out to the nearby eateries for a locall taste. The business center is handled by an external travel agency, but we have relayed your feedback to them so they may work on their customer service improvements. Thank you again for the review and we look forward to welcoming you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed in this apartment hotel for 4 nights and I must say it is great value. We got the twin unit with 2 double beds that will comfortably accommodate 4 adults. We were a family of 3.

The location is a little secluded. However, after we have gotten our bearings, it was quite easy to locate. It is very central to all the attractions in Xian. The Muslim quarters and Bell tower is only about 10 minutes walking away.

We love the coin launderette at the 3rd floor. After many days of traveling, we have accumulated enough dirty laundry to appreciate a reasonably price place to do our laundry. Laundry powder is also provided FOC.

The breakfast is below average. The operator can't even fry an egg properly! I would suggest a beef noodle shop just minutes away from the hotel (close to a nightclub) for your breakfast. It's awesome. Some painting of the walls were going on when we were there but it didn't bother us.

We would certainly stay at Citadines Cental Xian again if we ever return to Xian. It's great value for money.

Room Tip: If you have a family of 3-4, it's best value to get their twin bedded rooms that comes with 2 do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holiday-lah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin N, General Manager at Citadines Central Xi'an, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Holiday-lah, hello from Citadines Central Xi'an and thank you for your review! It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay here and found it to be value for money. As you said, we are slightly off the main shopping belt, but it does afford our guests a quieter and more peaceful environment to get a peaceful night's rest. If you're doing aundry again during your next stay here, just let Front Desk know if you need a drying rack for your family's wet laundry. We apologize for the breakfast, and it's something we working with our vendor on for improvements. Nonetheless we do encourage our guests to either try our 6th floor breakfast as well or venture out and try the local breakfasts at our doorstep. We ook forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

A little hard to find in the pouring rain as the entrance is off on a side street but nothing a quick phone call couldn't fix. Check-in was easy. Staff were pleasant and helpful. We traveled as a family of three so didn't really feel the advantage of the extra space as it was taken up by the fold out couch (much more comfortable then it sounds). Rooms were clean and the bathrooms were a decent size. We made up the couch ourselves the first night (takes a little bit of strength) and used the extra blankets from the cupboard, the bed was made up when the room was cleaned the next day.
Main goal of this trip was to see the teracotta warriors, tours are on offer but are not pushed. These tend to have a few extras involved and the hotel provides English directions (with the Chinese translations) as to how to bus. Surprisingly straightforward once you find the bus and MUCH cheaper than the tours. Take a bus to the train station, then find the big gathering of buses to the right of the train station building - can also take the 915 bus (it's green) which goes straight to the warriors for 9renminbi. The location is convenient to the drum and bell towers and the Muslim Quarter, comfortable walking distance. And, thankfully, umbrellas are available.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin N, General Manager at Citadines Central Xi'an, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear Lucy A, hello from Citadines and thank you for your review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and services. We apologize that you had to pull up the sofa bed on your own, on your next visit just give a call to Front Desk and we will be glad to send someone up to do it for you. As you pointed out, visiting the Terracotta Warriors on your own is not difficult and cheaper than the tours, and our charming Front Desk officers are always glad to help out with the directions. Exploring on your own also allows you to view the exhibits at your own time instead of having to keep schedule with the tours. We hope you'll visit again to explore the rest that Xi'an has to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
1.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
0.6 mi away
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
#36 of 2,658 in Xi'an
255 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#15 of 2,658 in Xi'an
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#10 of 2,658 in Xi'an
941 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
0.6 mi away
Xian Skytel Hotel
Xian Skytel Hotel
#34 of 2,658 in Xi'an
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Central Xi'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Central Xi'an

Address: No.36 Zhubashi Road, Beilin District, Xi'an 710002, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range: $41 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citadines Central Xi'an 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines Central Xi’an is the first international brand serviced residence in Xi’an. Its ideal location in the city centre places it within walking distance to office towers with multinational companies, famous local specialty food street and cafés, and a bustling street bazaar. Just an hour's drive from the city center is the famous Terra cotta Warriors, a Unesco World Heritage Site. At Citadines, you can have the freedom to live the life you want. Just choose from our menu of flexible services to suit your lifestyle and budget.Your serviced residence has everything you need for rest, work and play - in a living space that doubles up as a home office with wireless internet access. The residence features a fully-equipped kitchen and living room, separate from the bedroom, so you can invite friends over or recharge after a hard day's work.The sleek home entertainment system with cable TV mounded on wall and slides smoothly from bedroom to living room, so you can watch TV or enjoy your favorite music wherever you want.Drop by the Breakfast Lounge for freshly brewed coffee. Or work out at the Fitness Corner and relax at the TV Lounge - the options are endless. At Citadines, you will find friendly staff who are delighted to share their local knowledge and help you settle in quickly and experience the local culture.Citadines Central Xi’an is one of a vibrant collection of The Ascott Limited’s serviced residences in over 70 cities in Asia Pacific, Europe and the Gulf Region. A member of CapitaLand, it is the global leader in branded serviced residences, bringing you more than 25 years’ experience in supporting travellers who work and live away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Citadines Central Xi'an reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Central Xi`An Hotel Xi`An
Citadines Apart Hotel Xi An
Citadines Central Xi'An China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing