We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Citadines Central Xi'an
Ranked #12 of 2,589 Hotels in Xi'an
Greymouth, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

A little hard to find in the pouring rain as the entrance is off on a side street but nothing a quick phone call couldn't fix. Check-in was easy. Staff were pleasant and helpful. We traveled as a family of three so didn't really feel the advantage of the extra space as it was taken up by the fold out couch (much more comfortable then it sounds). Rooms were clean and the bathrooms were a decent size. We made up the couch ourselves the first night (takes a little bit of strength) and used the extra blankets from the cupboard, the bed was made up when the room was cleaned the next day.
Main goal of this trip was to see the teracotta warriors, tours are on offer but are not pushed. These tend to have a few extras involved and the hotel provides English directions (with the Chinese translations) as to how to bus. Surprisingly straightforward once you find the bus and MUCH cheaper than the tours. Take a bus to the train station, then find the big gathering of buses to the right of the train station building - can also take the 915 bus (it's green) which goes straight to the warriors for 9renminbi. The location is convenient to the drum and bell towers and the Muslim Quarter, comfortable walking distance. And, thankfully, umbrellas are available.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin N, General Manager at Citadines Central Xi'an, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Lucy A, hello from Citadines and thank you for your review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and services. We apologize that you had to pull up the sofa bed on your own, on your next visit just give a call to Front Desk and we will be glad to send someone up to do it for you. As you pointed out, visiting the Terracotta Warriors on your own is not difficult and cheaper than the tours, and our charming Front Desk officers are always glad to help out with the directions. Exploring on your own also allows you to view the exhibits at your own time instead of having to keep schedule with the tours. We hope you'll visit again to explore the rest that Xi'an has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    505
    148
    47
    18
See reviews for
337
292
109
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
South Hampton
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Hotel is centrally located approx. 7 minute walk from Bell Tower, Market, and City wall. Hotel rooms are furnished with kitchen area equipped with dishes, eating utensils, microwave, stove top and mini refrigerator. Rooms are clean and basic.
Staff was knowledgeable and responsive. We ate at the Chinese restaurant located near the lobby area and the food was good. This hotel is a good place to stay if one is looking for a place to stay while enroute to visit the Terracotta soldiers.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MayGoEZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin N, General Manager at Citadines Central Xi'an, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear MayGoEZ, greetings from Citadines Central Xi'an and thank you for your feedback! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here and hope that the in room kitchen equipment came in useful during your stay. We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed the services provided by our staff, and hope that you'll continue to recommend us to your family and friends. Looking forward to your next visit here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackheath NSW
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Citadines Central was exactly what we were looking for in a city centre hotel. It was comfortable, with spacious well-equipped rooms and perfectly located for visiting the local sights and for the airport bus. Unlike other reviewers we found the staff to be very helpful with an excellent level of English. In particular we have to mention Jessica Cui who went out of her way to give us good information and advice about travelling around the city.

The breakfast was perfectly adequate, despite the rather odd system of providing only one voucher per double room. But the restaurant staff were also very helpful and we noticed that food was replenished on a regular basis.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin N, General Manager at Citadines Central Xi'an, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Maggi W, greetings from Citadines Central Xi'an and thank you for your feedback! It's great to hear that our excellent location and spacious apartments were able to satisfy your needs during your stay. Our friendly staff are glad to go out of their way to help our guests, and our Guest Service Manager Jessica found it a delight to reply your queries on exploring Xi'an. Our studios only come with one breakfast voucher as they are intended for single occupancy though we allow a maximum of 3 guests per studio, though we encourage our guests to try the local breakfast options around the vicinity to get a taste of Xi'an. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Some reviewers have called this hotel ' basic' but I disagree.
The room we had was huge and modern, with 2 double beds, a kitchenette and a good sized bathroom.
It is about 5-10 mins walk from the Muslim Quarter where there is a night food market so we bought some scrumptious dishes and took them back to the hotel to eat in the comfortable lounge-type area on each floor.
Make sure you book the Central Citadines because there are at least 3 hotels from this chain in Xian.
The breakfast was pretty poor.

Room Tip: I think they are all more or less the same. We just booked a standard and were only there for 2 nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prospectsQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin N, General Manager at Citadines Central Xi'an, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear prospectsQ, hello from Citadines Central Xi'an and thank you for your review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our spacious apartments and facilities. Buying food back from the Muslim Quarter to dine in is a great idea and something which we encourage our guests to do, which is why we have provided eating utensils and crcokery in all our apartments. Any leftovers can be heated up the next day using the microwave oven or the electric stove. We also encourage our guests to try the local breakfast options around the hotel as an alternative to our hotel breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Great central location, just a short walk from the Airport Shuttle bus stop. Very spacious room, some staff were helpful but some were quite indifferent. Breakfast were very average, not cater for foreigners.

Room Tip: recommend higher floors as it is located in a business precinct with shops around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dreamtime18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin N, General Manager at Citadines Central Xi'an, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Dreamtime18, hello from Citadines and thank you for your review! We are glad to know that you enjoyed our convenient location and spacious rooms! We have also noted your feedback on the breakfast and will speak to the operator about providing more Western options for our foreign guests. Thank you again and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We were happy with our choice of Citadines as we felt it was good value for money and provided a range of conveniences in a great location. The room had plenty of space for suitcases, etc, as well as a large seating area and kitchenette facilities. The bathroom was good, with enough space and everything required. The room and bathroom were clean and in good condition. We had one breakfast included and thought that was basic - adequate but not great. However, given the location of the hotel, that's not a big issue. There were terrific eating options all around the immediate area ranging from holes-in-wall selling fabulous steamed buns to local diners to what looked a bit more like Chinese versions of fast food. There were also a few small 'supermarkets' around for water, etc. The Citadines is a quick walk to the Muslim Quarter, and the airport shuttle leaves just around the corner from the Melody Hotel. All-up, would definitely stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antip0de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin N, General Manager at Citadines Central Xi'an, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Antip0de, greetings from Citadines Central Xi'an and thank you for your wonderful feedback! As you pointed out in the review, we provide large living spaces and convenience for our guests to ensure your stay here is as comfortable and smooth as possible. It's great that you ventured out to the surrounding area to try the local restaurants and food hawkers, adventurous foodies will find that there's a lot waiting to be discovered in our immediate vicinity. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed in a studio room in October for one night. The room was clean, and for the price, great value for money. Staff were bilingual and eager to assist. The location is hard to beat - you can walk to the Drum & Bell towers and to the Muslim Quarter/food street.

The only downside was the breakfast, which was simple and disappointing. Items were poorly labelled and often incredibly oily.

Room Tip: High floor may help to reduce noise from nearby roads. Ours was at the back of the hotel and faced a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tristanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin N, General Manager at Citadines Central Xi'an, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Tristanr, hello from Citadines and thank you for your review! It's great to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and we wish you could have stayed longer than 1 night to have more time to explore Xi'an. We have noted your feedback on the labelling and oiliness of the breakfast and have passed the feedback to our operator for improvements. We look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#15 of 2,589 in Xi'an
479 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#11 of 2,589 in Xi'an
868 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Grand Soluxe International Hotel
4.0 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,589 in Xi'an
626 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Central Xi'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Central Xi'an

Property: Citadines Central Xi'an
Address: No.36 Zhubashi Road, Beilin District, Xi'an 710002, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citadines Central Xi'an 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines Central Xi’an is the first international brand serviced residence in Xi’an. Its ideal location in the city centre places it within walking distance to office towers with multinational companies, famous local specialty food street and cafés, and a bustling street bazaar. Just an hour's drive from the city center is the famous Terra cotta Warriors, a Unesco World Heritage Site. At Citadines, you can have the freedom to live the life you want. Just choose from our menu of flexible services to suit your lifestyle and budget.Your serviced residence has everything you need for rest, work and play - in a living space that doubles up as a home office with wireless internet access. The residence features a fully-equipped kitchen and living room, separate from the bedroom, so you can invite friends over or recharge after a hard day's work.The sleek home entertainment system with cable TV mounded on wall and slides smoothly from bedroom to living room, so you can watch TV or enjoy your favorite music wherever you want.Drop by the Breakfast Lounge for freshly brewed coffee. Or work out at the Fitness Corner and relax at the TV Lounge - the options are endless. At Citadines, you will find friendly staff who are delighted to share their local knowledge and help you settle in quickly and experience the local culture.Citadines Central Xi’an is one of a vibrant collection of The Ascott Limited’s serviced residences in over 70 cities in Asia Pacific, Europe and the Gulf Region. A member of CapitaLand, it is the global leader in branded serviced residences, bringing you more than 25 years’ experience in supporting travellers who work and live away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Citadines Central Xi'an reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Central Xi`An Hotel Xi`An
Citadines Apart Hotel Xi An
Citadines Central Xi'An China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing