We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Citadines Central Xi'an
Ranked #12 of 2,603 Hotels in Xi'an
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“very good room”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Some reviewers have called this hotel ' basic' but I disagree.
The room we had was huge and modern, with 2 double beds, a kitchenette and a good sized bathroom.
It is about 5-10 mins walk from the Muslim Quarter where there is a night food market so we bought some scrumptious dishes and took them back to the hotel to eat in the comfortable lounge-type area on each floor.
Make sure you book the Central Citadines because there are at least 3 hotels from this chain in Xian.
The breakfast was pretty poor.

Room Tip: I think they are all more or less the same. We just booked a standard and were only there for 2 nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prospectsQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin N, General Manager at Citadines Central Xi'an, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear prospectsQ, hello from Citadines Central Xi'an and thank you for your review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our spacious apartments and facilities. Buying food back from the Muslim Quarter to dine in is a great idea and something which we encourage our guests to do, which is why we have provided eating utensils and crcokery in all our apartments. Any leftovers can be heated up the next day using the microwave oven or the electric stove. We also encourage our guests to try the local breakfast options around the hotel as an alternative to our hotel breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    508
    149
    47
    18
See reviews for
340
295
109
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Great central location, just a short walk from the Airport Shuttle bus stop. Very spacious room, some staff were helpful but some were quite indifferent. Breakfast were very average, not cater for foreigners.

Room Tip: recommend higher floors as it is located in a business precinct with shops around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dreamtime18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin N, General Manager at Citadines Central Xi'an, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Dreamtime18, hello from Citadines and thank you for your review! We are glad to know that you enjoyed our convenient location and spacious rooms! We have also noted your feedback on the breakfast and will speak to the operator about providing more Western options for our foreign guests. Thank you again and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We were happy with our choice of Citadines as we felt it was good value for money and provided a range of conveniences in a great location. The room had plenty of space for suitcases, etc, as well as a large seating area and kitchenette facilities. The bathroom was good, with enough space and everything required. The room and bathroom were clean and in good condition. We had one breakfast included and thought that was basic - adequate but not great. However, given the location of the hotel, that's not a big issue. There were terrific eating options all around the immediate area ranging from holes-in-wall selling fabulous steamed buns to local diners to what looked a bit more like Chinese versions of fast food. There were also a few small 'supermarkets' around for water, etc. The Citadines is a quick walk to the Muslim Quarter, and the airport shuttle leaves just around the corner from the Melody Hotel. All-up, would definitely stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antip0de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin N, General Manager at Citadines Central Xi'an, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Antip0de, greetings from Citadines Central Xi'an and thank you for your wonderful feedback! As you pointed out in the review, we provide large living spaces and convenience for our guests to ensure your stay here is as comfortable and smooth as possible. It's great that you ventured out to the surrounding area to try the local restaurants and food hawkers, adventurous foodies will find that there's a lot waiting to be discovered in our immediate vicinity. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed in a studio room in October for one night. The room was clean, and for the price, great value for money. Staff were bilingual and eager to assist. The location is hard to beat - you can walk to the Drum & Bell towers and to the Muslim Quarter/food street.

The only downside was the breakfast, which was simple and disappointing. Items were poorly labelled and often incredibly oily.

Room Tip: High floor may help to reduce noise from nearby roads. Ours was at the back of the hotel and faced a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tristanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin N, General Manager at Citadines Central Xi'an, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Tristanr, hello from Citadines and thank you for your review! It's great to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and we wish you could have stayed longer than 1 night to have more time to explore Xi'an. We have noted your feedback on the labelling and oiliness of the breakfast and have passed the feedback to our operator for improvements. We look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Well run apartment hotel. We arrived about 1am and there was still plenty of activity. The bed was very comfortable, TV which was on a slide so it can be viewed at a table or in bed. We were on the 12th floor and had an excellent view over the flood-lit skyline. Never quite got the hang of the air-con and maintenance struggled as well. In fact, they did comment that it was broken and we didn't hear from them again. All in all, I really liked it here. Buzzy area, restaurant has an excellent chef in the evening - quite different from the breakfast which is very average. You only get one voucher for breakfast per room unless you book a twin room. I would try the Bell Hotel nearby next time for breakfast rather than buy another voucher for a pretty uninspiring breakfast. I must mention the taxis as I was unaware it was such a problem in Xian where taxis are unregulated. They are run by Triad like bosses at the train station and possibly the airport. You are expected to accept their price, not metered. Quite often they refuse to take you anyway! In 3 days, we did not get one taxi that would accept to use the meter, or even that accepted to take us to the Citadene - saying there was too much traffic there!!! - What rubbish. We took electric tuk tuks when they would take us or walked!!!! Arm yourself with local bus knowledge - the Citadene will assist & you will be OK to places like the Terracotta Warriors. But this won't help when you have a lot of luggage and need to have private transport I'm afraid. I won't return to Xian unless the authorities can clean up this taxis mess.

Room Tip: Great views on the 12th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobynBSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin N, General Manager at Citadines Central Xi'an, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear RobynBSydney, warmest greetings from Citadines Central Xi'an and thank you for your feedback! We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay here, and apologize for the niggling issues you experienced during your stay here. As you said, there are several other breakfast options in the hotel's vicinity which are both delicious and value-for-money, hence we too encourage our guests to head out and explore the other breakfast options. Also, you are quite right about the taxi issue: it is both frustrating and vexing, unfortunately one that does not look like it will be solved anytime soon. The authorities here have tried some means to deal with the illegal taxis and motorcycles, but the measures seem to have limited effectiveness at the moment. Other cities have taken more effective measures to solve this problem, so let's hope that the authorities here will take a page out of their books and take a stricter stance sooner rather than later. In the meantime, we will continue to provide our guests with as much assistance as possible to minimize the inconvenience experienced. Hopefully you will consider making a trip back again in a few years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

At the reception the hotel looks quite simple and not very welcoming. Howveer once in the room, in particular if you get an appartement room, there is a lot of space which makes your stay comfortable. The breakfast is very simple and a bit disappointing. However the hotel itself is centrally localted, in particular if you want to go to the market place of Xi'an.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominik125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin N, General Manager at Citadines Central Xi'an, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Dominik125, hello from Citadines Central Xi'an and thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed our central location and spacious rooms, and apologize for the disappointment you had with the breakfast. We have another set breakfast option at our 6th floor for our guests as well, and hopefully on your next visit you can give that a try. We look forward to seeing you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Centrally located, just a short walk from the bus stop from airport, near the Drum Tower. Small reception, but functional and efficient. We had all the essentials in the room for our 3 night stay. Extra bed provided; with more bedding to suit our group
.
Breakfast was not so good - in a restaurant run by another business in ground floor area of Hotel. We had to buy another voucher as only 2 persons included in the price. Layout of buffet was challenging - you needed to hunt around the room to find everything - tea / yoghurts / cooked eggs were at the bar (being monitored by the boss) - other stuff was a bit easier to find on the buffet tables. The experience was a bit like a hostel, rather than hotel restaurant. Some food was inedible - the bacon was just horrible - indeed it may not have been bacon! Certainly not a place to linger and relax.

limited details of local things to do; maps etc. weather details given each day by the lift. looked like some bikes to rent and umbrellas too, but we didn't use them. Hotel had a small gym near top of premises, also a roof top garden, but the weather / smog so bad, did not venture out to check this.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMW050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin N, General Manager at Citadines Central Xi'an, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear JMW050, greetings from Citadines Central Xi'an and thank you for your reply! We are glad that you enjoyed our facilities and at the same time would like to apologize for the less than satisfactory breakfast. As you pointed out, the breakfast is run by our partner who also operates the restaurant downstairs. We have relayed your feedback on the breakfast layout and items for their follow up, and hope to see positive change soon. Once again, thank you for the feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
1.0 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#11 of 2,603 in Xi'an
878 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#14 of 2,603 in Xi'an
486 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Grand Soluxe International Hotel
4.0 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,603 in Xi'an
656 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Central Xi'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Central Xi'an

Property: Citadines Central Xi'an
Address: No.36 Zhubashi Road, Beilin District, Xi'an 710002, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citadines Central Xi'an 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines Central Xi’an is the first international brand serviced residence in Xi’an. Its ideal location in the city centre places it within walking distance to office towers with multinational companies, famous local specialty food street and cafés, and a bustling street bazaar. Just an hour's drive from the city center is the famous Terra cotta Warriors, a Unesco World Heritage Site. At Citadines, you can have the freedom to live the life you want. Just choose from our menu of flexible services to suit your lifestyle and budget.Your serviced residence has everything you need for rest, work and play - in a living space that doubles up as a home office with wireless internet access. The residence features a fully-equipped kitchen and living room, separate from the bedroom, so you can invite friends over or recharge after a hard day's work.The sleek home entertainment system with cable TV mounded on wall and slides smoothly from bedroom to living room, so you can watch TV or enjoy your favorite music wherever you want.Drop by the Breakfast Lounge for freshly brewed coffee. Or work out at the Fitness Corner and relax at the TV Lounge - the options are endless. At Citadines, you will find friendly staff who are delighted to share their local knowledge and help you settle in quickly and experience the local culture.Citadines Central Xi’an is one of a vibrant collection of The Ascott Limited’s serviced residences in over 70 cities in Asia Pacific, Europe and the Gulf Region. A member of CapitaLand, it is the global leader in branded serviced residences, bringing you more than 25 years’ experience in supporting travellers who work and live away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Citadines Central Xi'an reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Central Xi`An Hotel Xi`An
Citadines Apart Hotel Xi An
Citadines Central Xi'An China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing