We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern apartment style rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Citadines Central Xi'an
Ranked #12 of 2,603 Hotels in Xi'an
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Modern apartment style rooms”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed here with a family of 3 people, I would have given it 4 stars except that the room we were given only had a sofa bed in the room for our child and we had to ask to get it made up, it should have been ready for us. The aircon didn't get the room very cool on a hot day so we opened windows and it was noisy outside. The queen bed was hard but most beds in China seem to be that way. Lots of power points with universal plugs which was good. The room was modern and was equipped with a kitchen. The breakfast was good and had two options - a takeaway style in a lounge and a buffet. Reception had good English and gave good directions. The hotel is in short walking distance to the south gate of the city wall as well as the drum tower so it is well located inside the ancient city walls. It would suit a business traveller I think.

Room Tip: get a higher floor to avoid outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poddleplop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin N, General Manager at Citadines Central Xi'an, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Poddleplop, greetings from Citadines Central Xi'an and thank you for your kind comments. We apologize that we did not anticipate your needs better and opened up the sofa bed, we will strive to do better in future. We are glad you enjoyed the rest of our facilities, and hope you enjoyed yourself exploring the attractions in Xi'an. We hope to welcome you back in future for leisure or business. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    508
    149
    47
    18
See reviews for
340
295
109
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed there in September. Maybe we were luckier than others because our room was larger than we expected, clean and well-maintained. For the money we paid we felt we got a really good deal. It was really a small apartment with a kitchenette and a sitting area. We found the beds to be comfortable enough. Like everyone else, we found the main attraction was the convenient location. We never ate breakfast in the hotel so offer no comments. Staff were helpful with directions and area advice.

If I have a complaint, it's that the computers set up for guests were impossible to operate. After spending 30 minutes trying to get on to Hotmail, I gave up in frustration. However, this wasn't unique to this hotel. I had the same trouble at our hotel in Beijing and at the Hong Kong airport. The hotel's Wi-Fi was very good and I ended up sending e-mails via my wife's tablet. So if you're going to China and want to use a computer I strongly suggest you bring your own iPad, tablet, laptop etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin N, General Manager at Citadines Central Xi'an, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear artmc, nihao from Citadines Central Xi'an and thank you for your review! We are glad that you found your stay here to be value for money, and as you have pointed out we are set up more as apartments than the average hotel rooms. While the property is slightly aged, our team does its best to maintain clean and comfortable conditions so our guests have the best experience possible. I apologize for the trouble you had with the computers at the lobby, some of our guests encounter problems accessing foreign websites though this is an issue that is widespread through China. As you pointed out, our rooms all come with WIFI so everyone is welcome to surf from their own devices. We look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

the hotel is centrally located, ideal to visit xian, hotel staff is extremely kind and give advise on how to reach the terracotta warriors wth public transportation if you want to, rich breakfast and perfect wireless connection.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simona m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin N, General Manager at Citadines Central Xi'an, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear simona m, hello from Citadines and thank you for your review! We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay here with us, and look forward to welcoming you here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

It seems that Citadines has simply taken over a local hotel and put its name on it without doing much to the facilities or the service.

The hotel corridors and interior does look fairly shabby upon first inspection (the couch was quite old). It certainly does not reflect the pictures on the website. The room is better at night because of the lighting. We got used to it quickly and it was quite spacious.

For the price I think this is a decent hotel in a good location, close to the drum tower and the Muslim quarter. The wifi worked well. The bed was OK. There were international channels (CNN, BBC etc).

The service staff were not particularly friendly. The breakfast was pretty bad.

Studio rooms only come with 1 breakfast per day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chickenvspeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin N, General Manager at Citadines Central Xi'an, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear chickenvspeter, hello from Citadines Central Xi'an and thank you for your review! To clarify, Citadines has been running this establishment since its opening in 2008. As we have been operating for a number of years, the facilities are slightly worn. We are glad to share with you that we have a renovation scheduled for the end of this year, after which we will be able to bring you new and improved rooms and facilities to improve your stay experience. We apologize for the service and the breakfast, and will use your comments as a basis for improvement. As you have pointed out, our studio rooms come with 1 breakfast per day, and our studio twin rooms come with 2 breakfasts per day. Additional breakfast coupons can be purchased at the Front Desk, and guests are also encouraged to explore the surroundings for a taste of the yummy treats that locals have for breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel when visiting Xian mainly due to the location. The airport shuttle bus stops a 5 minute walk away and as it was our first trip to China we tried to simplify the travel arrangements as much as possible. The bus stops outside the Melody Hotel and Citadines is just around the corner. The hotel had mixed reviews on Trip Advisor but as quite a few had said it was clean we decided to give it a go. When we checked in they asked for 200 CNY deposit which would be refundable at checkout. The corridors of the hotel are basic, there is nothing welcoming at all. When we got to the room it was again very basic, we were stunned into silence. There was a small kitchenette, a small bathroom, a sofa and a double bed. The sofa had seen better days and we did not use it at all. The bathroom did not have a wash basin, it was situated just outside the bathroom door. The bath itself was chipped. The bed was so uncomfortable that we did not get any sleep at all for the 2 nights we stayed. We had arrived late afternoon and after a walk we decided to eat at the restaurant attached to the hotel, it was the worst Chinese food we have ever tasted, service was poor and we ended up leaving most of the food, we asked for a bottle of water and for some odd reason they did not provide any glasses, after requesting glasses we were given one, so after another request we finally prised another glass out of them. We had booked breakfast but when we went to have breakfast which is served at the same restaurant we had dined at the previous night we were told the breakfast voucher was only for 1 person, we said that was a mistake however they said to check with reception who confirmed that breakfast was only for 1 person so we asked them to change the date on the second days voucher and we would have to pay for the next day. Once again the restaurant was dreadful, it was 7 am and they still were not ready, service was dreadful and the food was even worse. We left promptly and decided not to bother with the following morning as we were leaving at 8 am for the airport. We were glad to leave the following morning after another very uncomfortable night. Apart from one other hotel in India which we promptly moved out of the next day I think this has to be the worst hotel we have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKtripper100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin N, General Manager at Citadines Central Xi'an, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear UKtripper, greetings from Citadines Central Xi'an and thank you for your feedback! We apologize for your disappointment with our rooms and facilities. While we do not offer 5-star luxuries, one of the reasons many of our guests choose to stay with us is because we offer good value-for-money. While some of our furnishings are basic, we do provide a host of other amenities such as a kitchenette and cooking utensils which one would not be able to find in most hotels. That being said, you will be glad to know that we are scheduled for a renovation at the end of the year to refresh the rooms and premises, and hope you will visit us again then to experience the improvements for yourself.

We also regret your poor experience with the buffet breakfast and restaurant. We work with an external vendor for the breakfast and have relayed your comments to them and are working with them on the improvements. They also apologize for the unsatisfactory experience and will review their service standards.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we hope you will give us another chance to serve you better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The most important thing about this hotel is it's location - right in the centre of Xi'An, 3 min walk to the Muslim Quarter and the Bell Tower, 10-15 min walk to the South Wall, 3 metro stops to the Shaanxi Museum. The hotel shows it's age - it's not dirty but not particularly clean either - it's just a bit worn out and should be freshened up but for the price ( paid £40 incl. breakfast ) it's not a bad choice. The rooms are big, bright and functional ( have a separate kitchenette ) but don't expect any luxuries - this is a 3 star apart-hotel, with typical hard Chinese beds ( I stayed in 4 star hotels elsewhere in China and the beds were great ), bathroom shows a bit of mould but not terrible. Breakfast is very poor - basically you can have a fried egg or an omelette and a toast with jam. That's it, as far as western food goes. There are some dumplings and noodles but nothing looks very appetising. You can have a packed breakfast ( sandwich, cake, yoghurt, juice, apples, tea or coffee ) on Floor 6 and eat in your room. The reception staff are very nice and helpful.
Tip - if you want 2 breakfasts, book a twin room. Double rooms come with 1 breakfast only. You can still swap for a double room ( you get a sofa in the sitting area instead of the 2nd bed ) but will have 2 breakfasts.

Room Tip: Higher floor, less street noise. Twin rooms only up to floor 6. If you want higher, ask to swap for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Groch2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin N, General Manager at Citadines Central Xi'an, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Groch2010, hello from Citadines Central and thank you for your review! We apologize if our facilities and cleaning standards were not up to your expectations. You will be glad to know that we have planned for a renovation at the end of this year to revamp our rooms and facilities so as to better servve our guests. We will also work with our breakfast vendor to icrease the western selection at our morning breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back in future to experience the improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGF, MO
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 366 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

I'll not soon forget my wife's face when we walked into the reception lobby - a mixture of shock & disappointment followed by contempt when we entered our room. Demonstrating the flat screen TV that cleverly slid on tracks mounted on the wall from sitting to sleeping areas in the small studio room or the view of the Drum Tower did little to impress her, nor did the kitchenette or plethora of electrical outlets to charge our portables.
But after two nights stay, she appreciated the proximity to Muslim Quarter, the Bell Tower and its metro station, the nearby restaurants and morning Starbucks, and the airport express bus around the corner. She quickly realized the value of the location and simplistic comfort of accommodation.
When she let it slip that she would stay there again, I felt vindicated. Sometimes location is everything...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShowMeVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin N, General Manager at Citadines Central Xi'an, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear ShowMeVegas, greetings from Citadines Central Xi'an and we really enjoyed your very humourous review! Thank you for your faith in us and we are glad that you enjoyed our facilities and most of all our excellent location. We most definitely look forward to welcoming you (and your wife) back to Xi'an again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
1.0 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#11 of 2,603 in Xi'an
878 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#14 of 2,603 in Xi'an
486 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Grand Soluxe International Hotel
4.0 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,603 in Xi'an
656 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Central Xi'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Central Xi'an

Property: Citadines Central Xi'an
Address: No.36 Zhubashi Road, Beilin District, Xi'an 710002, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citadines Central Xi'an 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines Central Xi’an is the first international brand serviced residence in Xi’an. Its ideal location in the city centre places it within walking distance to office towers with multinational companies, famous local specialty food street and cafés, and a bustling street bazaar. Just an hour's drive from the city center is the famous Terra cotta Warriors, a Unesco World Heritage Site. At Citadines, you can have the freedom to live the life you want. Just choose from our menu of flexible services to suit your lifestyle and budget.Your serviced residence has everything you need for rest, work and play - in a living space that doubles up as a home office with wireless internet access. The residence features a fully-equipped kitchen and living room, separate from the bedroom, so you can invite friends over or recharge after a hard day's work.The sleek home entertainment system with cable TV mounded on wall and slides smoothly from bedroom to living room, so you can watch TV or enjoy your favorite music wherever you want.Drop by the Breakfast Lounge for freshly brewed coffee. Or work out at the Fitness Corner and relax at the TV Lounge - the options are endless. At Citadines, you will find friendly staff who are delighted to share their local knowledge and help you settle in quickly and experience the local culture.Citadines Central Xi’an is one of a vibrant collection of The Ascott Limited’s serviced residences in over 70 cities in Asia Pacific, Europe and the Gulf Region. A member of CapitaLand, it is the global leader in branded serviced residences, bringing you more than 25 years’ experience in supporting travellers who work and live away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Citadines Central Xi'an reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Central Xi`An Hotel Xi`An
Citadines Apart Hotel Xi An
Citadines Central Xi'An China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing