We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for our purposes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Citadines Central Xi'an
Ranked #13 of 2,616 Hotels in Xi'an
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Using other people's reviews made it easy to reach the Citadines in Xi'an. At the airport, we went outside and caught bus 1 for a hassle free ride into Xi'an. After getting off at the Melody Hotel, we walked from the bus back the way we had just come to the first street, looked right and there was the hotel logo on top of the hotel for us to use as a guide. The check in was smooth, the people behind the desk courteous and very helpful. Our room was spotlessly clean. I used the small kitchen to prepare a couple of lunches and there was everything I needed. Our bed was very comfortable. I especially liked the fact I could slide the partititons and have two rooms instead of one large room. I also liked the way you could slide the tv along a track to watch it in either the sitting area or the bedroom. There was also a dvd player but I didn't check to see if they had dvd's available. We should have brought some English language ones to watch even though there were English language channels on the TV. One breakfast was included which my husband ate as I am not much of a breakfast person. He said the food was hit or miss. He felt the quality of the food was determined by the number of people that they were trying to serve. One morning he watched as fresh water was poured over used coffee grounds to make a slightly colored brew that was anything but coffee. When he complained, they gladly made another pot of coffee. The Citadines was wonderfully located. Close to the center of the old area and within walking distance of many attractions. The South Gate of the city is only a short walk away. For a small fee you can walk the wall which is as wide as a street , take a very bumpy bicycle ride or a trolly. Down below, on the new city side of the wall is a lovely park with lots of places to sit and watch how the park is used by both the young and the old. As you approach the South Gate wall from the Citadines area, you can take an underground passage to the left and you will see a blue Chinese gate in the same block as the Subway sandwich shop. Behind and beyond the arch is a great area for purchasing chops, brushes and lots of well done Chinese art work. for very reasonable prices. Many of the water colors can be rolled and put into a box for safe travel and make wonderful gifts for yourself or others. The Citadines is also near the Mosem quarter. the prices are very high compared to Shanghai. I am sure these people have to earn their money within a short span of time as the winters are very cold with few tourists. I have been living in China for the the last six months and I don't eat street food. However, I did purchase an ear of roasted corn. Even though I only ate a couple of bites...I was reminded why I can't eat street food because I got very sick. If you have a cast iron stomach eat the street food. Otherwise you could be unlucky enough to have your trip interrupted with illness. I felt the Citadines offered a great value. It was very well maintained and an oasis of order and cleanliness after the grime of the city.

Room Tip: HIgh floor, back of hotel to avoid noise.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kfransom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,040)
There are newer reviews for Citadines Central Xi'an
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

678 - 684 of 1,040 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed here for just one night as part of a tour of China in May.
Not a spectacular hotel, on a side street off one of the main roads (which proved to be a problem when requiring a taxi), but the location wasn't bad. The hotel, is acutally serviced apartments, which is neither here nor there. The room itself has lots of space and was airy, clean and modern. No complaints about that.
Breakfast is taken in a restaurant which is attached to the hotel, though not part of it as such. It wasn't very impressive, with very little choice, and it was all a bit grubby.
From this location you can go and see the Drum and Bell towers, Xian city walls, or go off to see the Terra cotta army, which is very good.

I personally think that there are better hotels in Xian, but if like us you are on a budget then this will suit just fine.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bushbabyDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

I am a female, traveled alone to Xi'an. I felt very safe at this hotel. The hotel is in an excellent location, but still very quiet.

I took a bus from a bus stop near the hotel to the train station, where I changed to another bus that took me to see the Terracotta warriors, saved lots of money this way !

The only disappointment is the breakfast, it is quite bad compared to the hotel buffets that I am used to.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosamund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Fantastic location , friendly staff to the max and clean comfortable rooms with reasonable price.
Near a lot of activity specially the food street , and walking distance from the downtown first stop ( airport bus no. 1).

Room Tip: almost all have good view
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank likeArock159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

We arrived in Xian by train and the taxi cost 20 yuan to the hotel. The hotel is located in Central Xian as the name suggest within sight of the drum tower and bell tower.
We had a 1 bedroom apartment on the 11th floor with district views. The rooms had modern amenities including a lounge and kitchenette. Free wireless internet was included using your own laptop in rooms. The bed was comfortable, spacious and clean.
There are couple of restaurants in the same building as the hotel and a McDonald within 2 minutes walk in front of the bell tower. It is within minutes of all the shopping malls in Xian city centre that you but will not be able to do them all.
Buses to the airport depart from the Melody hotel 2 mins walk around the corner and cost 25 yuan each.

Room Tip: Book a i bedroom apartment on a high floor.
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dassan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

THOROUGHLY RECOMMEND! My husband and I have travelled widely on business and pleasure and except for the 6* Lengendale Hotel in Beijing consider this one of the very best hotels we have come across in China. The staff were freindly and really could not have been more helpful. I asked them to arrange a private tour for us to particular places - which they did, no problem. Our own tourguide and driver for a day for teh equivalent of around £70.

The hotel is unique - would definately stay there any time we return to Xian (this was our second visit). It has everything one could possibly need and as each 'apartment' has it's own little kitchen, if you wanted to make it your base for a couple of weeks it is very pleasant and reasonable, GREAT value! Great position. Walking distance to many 'sights'.

We had our (teenage) kids with us, could have had a 'connecting room' if we had wanted - we didn't! There was a comoftable Queensized bed and a good solid sofa bed in each room. Always wonderful in China to find a bathtub! There is a lift which requires you use your room key to operate it, so there are no dodgey looking people roaming around touting massages or whatever, which can happen in other establishments in tourist areas of China. And we did not receive any phonecalls there offering similar services (which happens in most hotels even at the top end). Unless you're into that sort of thing (and be warned Aids is rife!) it is better to unplug your phone overnight or they'll ring foreigners rooms all night. Except, please note they did not here, which was a pleasant relief from the (almost) norm.

There is a perfectly adequate little restaurant downstairs and breakfast was extremely good, with bacon and egg alternatives as well as some to the very good Chinese alternatives and fresh fruit. MacDonalds is a short walk away if you're craving Western fast food! The hotel is only a few hundred yards from the drop off point for the bus from the airport. Get on the shuttle at the airport and stay on til 'The belltower'. As you leave the bus there is a large hotel in front of you - facing the hotel turn right along the main road, walk about 200 yards turn left and you will see the restaurant and glass entrance to the Hotel in a side street to your right - easy! On the return trip to the airport, you simply return to the same bus stop and get onto the shuttle at the same stop.

The hotel have a list of tours they can organise for you - Warriors etc., these ARE negotiable. The Muslim quarter is simply across themain road (where the shuttle from the airport drops you off) it is well-worth a visit. It looks the way most visitors to China imagine a chinese shopping street should look! Quaint, colourful and oriental - quite rare in the 'real' China, actually! HOWEVER, watch out if buying sourvenirs and especially Terracotta Warrior ornaments - at the actual Terracottas Warrior site the prices are extremely high but everywhere the quoted prices are VERY negotiable. I heard of someone paying Y600 (RMB) for an approximately 14inch figure that I was later offered for Y30(RMB)! the price for an approximately 18" high warrior was quoted as hundreds of Yuan in lots of places - I bargained and bought a fantastic one for Y60 in the Muslim quarter, do not fall for the high prices - the same figurine I finallly bought for Y60 was quoted as Y1200 in several places! - the traders see a 'foreigner' coming and multiply the actual price they will settle for, 10 times or more. Be prepared to walk away - there is always another stall who WILL negotiate.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SmallPlanet096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

We stayed here for four nights and it was perfect. The apartment was very spacious and very clean. The staff were extremely helpful and courteous and made us feel very welcome. They arranged for a driver to take us on excursions to the Terracotta Warriors as well as the Banpo Nealithic site, Hot Springs and Hanyanling Mausoleum. The location of this hotel is superb - most of the interesting parts of the city are within easy walking distance and it's not far to the South Gate of the Xi'an city wall. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMDWesternAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#14 of 2,616 in Xi'an
499 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#11 of 2,616 in Xi'an
897 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
#37 of 2,616 in Xi'an
243 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
1.6 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#5 of 2,616 in Xi'an
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Central Xi'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Central Xi'an

Address: No.36 Zhubashi Road, Beilin District, Xi'an 710002, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range: $26 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citadines Central Xi'an 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines Central Xi’an is the first international brand serviced residence in Xi’an. Its ideal location in the city centre places it within walking distance to office towers with multinational companies, famous local specialty food street and cafés, and a bustling street bazaar. Just an hour's drive from the city center is the famous Terra cotta Warriors, a Unesco World Heritage Site. At Citadines, you can have the freedom to live the life you want. Just choose from our menu of flexible services to suit your lifestyle and budget.Your serviced residence has everything you need for rest, work and play - in a living space that doubles up as a home office with wireless internet access. The residence features a fully-equipped kitchen and living room, separate from the bedroom, so you can invite friends over or recharge after a hard day's work.The sleek home entertainment system with cable TV mounded on wall and slides smoothly from bedroom to living room, so you can watch TV or enjoy your favorite music wherever you want.Drop by the Breakfast Lounge for freshly brewed coffee. Or work out at the Fitness Corner and relax at the TV Lounge - the options are endless. At Citadines, you will find friendly staff who are delighted to share their local knowledge and help you settle in quickly and experience the local culture.Citadines Central Xi’an is one of a vibrant collection of The Ascott Limited’s serviced residences in over 70 cities in Asia Pacific, Europe and the Gulf Region. A member of CapitaLand, it is the global leader in branded serviced residences, bringing you more than 25 years’ experience in supporting travellers who work and live away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Citadines Central Xi'an reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Central Xi`An Hotel Xi`An
Citadines Apart Hotel Xi An
Citadines Central Xi'An China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing