We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel with very good staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel,Xian

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
Ranked #3 of 2,353 Hotels in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel with very good staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I was in this fine hotel for work and vacation. This hotel it great! Really it is. The rooms are spacious and taste full decorated. The food is great. But what makes this hotel special is the way guests are treated. . The staff gives you the feeling that you come home every day and not just in a hotel. I could really appreciate that. This hotel is my choice next time I come back to Xi'an

Room Tip: Let the hotel arrange your taxi's because getting one in the city can take a long time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Hans H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMMSLXN, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel,Xian, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Hans H, thank you very much for choosing Shangri-la Hotel, Xian when you visited Xian. We're pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay with us, the service and products made you satisfied. Thank you again for your support and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    670
    473
    75
    8
    8
See reviews for
113
177
34
216
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ct
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

What a marvelous stay in a beautiful hotel. The room was spacious, immaculate & the bed was as comfortable as home. If the pollution wasn't so bad I'd even have had a great view from my high floor. Very well located, plenty of shopping & restaurants in the area. No question I'll stay here on my next visit.

Room Tip: High floors are nice but the pollution was so bad most days I couldn't see across the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ct_travelers_41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMMSLXN, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel,Xian, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Ct_travelers_41, thank you very much for staying at Shangri-la Hotel, Xian and sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We're so pleased that you enjoyed the stay and was satisfied with the products and service. Thank you again for your support. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Clean and well maintained/managed hotel in xian. Third time to stay, and it is comfortable to stay.

It is pricy in china, but, service is good and hired staff who can speak english and korean. Good effort for customer oriented. 1F breakfast restaurant is also very nice to me.
Smog and air pollution is all same in xian.
But, not many restaurant near by i can go as foreigner. So will try other hotels ^^

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kihwan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMMSLXN, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel,Xian, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Kihwan Y, thank you very much for choosing Shangri-la Hotel, Xian and sharing your staying experience with us. We're pleased that you were satisfied with the hotel products and service. As the reataurants problem you raised, we suggest that you could also try our Thai Restaurant in the hotel, as well as a Portuguese reataurant just next to the hotel. We're happy to introduce more information to you when you come to Xian next time. Thank you again for your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
397 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Although I make an effort to look for newer hotels when coming to Xian on business, I always end up staying at Shangri-La. Service, room quality is consistently good. My only comment is that with the increasing bad air quality, the Hotel should upgrade it's indoor air quality or air purification system.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmquek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMMSLXN, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel,Xian, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear kmquek, thank you very much for staying at Shangri-la Hotel, Xian and sharing your feedback here with us. We're so pleased to be as your consistent choice in Xian. Thank you very much for your great support and suggestion. We'll seek some ways to make it better. Look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Excellent service throughout all departments of this hotel. Staff are always willing to go above and beyond what is expected of them to ensure that your stay is one that you will never forget. I would recommend the breakfast buffet at the Yi Cafe.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMMSLXN, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel,Xian, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear David K, thank you very much for choosing Shangri-la Hotel, Xian when you visited Xian. We're pleased to hear that you had a execellent stay with us. Thank you again for your support and comments. Look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Best Hotel Experience ever.... Lovely hotel with extra lovely staff... Would recommend to everyone!! not come across a better hotel experience before and i am a regular at shangri-la's around the world...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Irfy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMMSLXN, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel,Xian, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Irfy A, thank you very much for staying at Shangri-La Hotel, Xian and sharing your feedback with us. We're so glad that you feel satisfied with the hotel facilities and services. Thank you very much for recommending the hotel. We hope that Shangri-La Hotel, Xian will be your "home" at Xian. Thank you again for your kind support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

This is an excellent and reasonably priced hotel in the centre of Xi'an. Ideal for trips to the Terracotta Army, Walled City etc. the hotel guide we had was very pleasant and informative. Airport transfers make for very easy travel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank lou055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMMSLXN, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel,Xian, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear lou055, thank you very much for choosing Shangri-La Hotel, Xian and sharing your stay experience with us on Trip Advisor. We're so pleased that you had a wonderful travel in Xian and a nice stay in our hotel. Thank you again for your great support and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
4.0 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,353 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#5 of 2,353 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 949 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Westin Xian
The Westin Xian
#4 of 2,353 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Gran Melia Xi'an
Gran Melia Xi'an
#2 of 2,353 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 stars 308 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
6.0 mi away
Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Xian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Xian

Property: Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
Address: NO. 38B Keji Road, Xi'an 710075, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#5 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#39 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Xian 4.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-la, Xian is located in the prestigious financial and shopping district of the Gao Xin Hi-tech Development Zooe, hotel enjoys easy access to Xian's leading business, entertainment and shopping destinations. A prime residence for both busniess and leisure travelers, the hotel is just 30 minutes drive from Xian International Airport and 45 minutes from the world-famous Terra-Cotta Warriors Museum. Hotel provides Complimentary shuttle bus service for all in-house paying guests on Weekend and public holiday. The hotel comprises 395 tastefully appointed rooms and suites, all with floor-to-ceiling glass windows and stunning views of the landscaped gardens or the city. At 57 square meters, the spacious Grand Premier rooms are the largest guestrooms in Xian for the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Xian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian China/Shaanxi
Shangri La Hotel Xi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing