We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Dear&Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel,Xian

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
Ranked #3 of 2,354 Hotels in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing
1 review
“Dear&Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Hall and Dinning room are really good! It's abviously a super hotel.
The service is good, everyone i meet in the hotel would offer help if you have a confusing face.
There's guide tour to choose when i want a short visit arround
And good price also.

Room Tip: Real King Bed~
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Xuemeng S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    670
    473
    75
    8
    8
See reviews for
113
177
34
216
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Our stay at the hotel was fantastic. Exceptional service, would highly recommend this hotel. The room service menu has scope for improvement. "Siam" - a world class Thai restaurant. Enjoyed our dining experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank BigKingfisher007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safety Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Myself, husband and 13 year old daughter flew to Xi'an in July 2013, primarily to visit the Terracotta Warriors. We were not disappointed!

We booked through the hotel, a Horizon Club Room for a reasonable price, which entitled us to the amenities of the Executive Lounge. Included in the price was complimentary airport transfer from the airport to the hotel OR hotel to airport. However we booked a local taxi for our return journey to the airport (RMB120) as the hotel price was excessive. After a flight delay from Shanghai, we appreciated the cold water and towels waiting for us at the airport. Airport to hotel only 40 minutes depending on traffic.

On arrival at the hotel we were greeted by Scarlet who completed the check-in process in our room. While checking us in, Scarlet poured some complimentary hot Chinese tea and answered our questions regarding possible tours to the Terracotta Warriors. What a great service and done with a smile.

Accommodation:
The Horizon Club room was quiet, spacious and well appointed. Clean, comfortable beds, flat screen TV and plenty of storage space. Excellent bathroom, especially the TV above the bath, powerful shower and the usual Shangri-La toiletries. Complimentary bottled water each day and fresh fruit on arrival.

Horizon Club Lounge:
As we were there only for a few days, we ate breakfast each day and dinner in the Club Lounge. The buffet breakfast was excellent and catered for our needs. It offered a varied choice of western and Asian dishes with eggs made to order. We ordered dinner from the main restaurant menu which was delivered promptly to the Club Lounge. Everything ordered was of a good standard. During the day, the Club Lounge offered a good choice of hot and cold beverages including snacks. Later on, there was an excellent selection of canapés, wines, beer and spirits. The staff in the Club Lounge were fantastic and really looked after us during our visit.

Amenities:
My husband and daughter really enjoyed the large indoor swimming pool, especially after a full day sightseeing. We did not use the other facilities as it was a short visit but everything in the hotel seems to be of a higher standard. However, we did book the full day tour through the hotel, which proved to be an excellent choice, at a reasonable price. It was a small group with 2 tour guides, Jun and Penny, who did a great job showing us their beautiful city. A packed lunch was also provided.

Overall:
We would definately recommend visiting Xi'an and staying at the Shangri-La, especially in a Club room which is well worth the extra money. The hotel, staff and service was outstanding during our visit. They were very friendly and could not be more helpful.

A special mention to Scarlet, Lora, Grace, Milie and Cherry who helped make our trip really memorable.

We were definitely in awe of the Terracotta Warriors and absolutely loved seeing the walled city with it's Drum and Bell Towers, Goose Pagoda and Tang Art Museum. Hopefully we will return one day as much more to explore and stay again at the Shangri-La.

Room Tip: Pay extra for Horizon Club Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenBO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Not the best location and staff were difficult to deal with! It is more than the language, it is the training that they lacked as well as proper supervision. Food quality at Yi cafe is acceptable but not the Shangri La standard in other locations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Salem S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shangrilaxian, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel,Xian, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Salem S, thanks for your comments, we are very sorry to hear about your stay experience with us and apologised for the inconvenience this caused you. Your feedback on our services and buffet has been noted and will be investigated by our Director of Rooms and Director of F&B. Please contact me at slxn@shangri-la.com or 29 8875 8888 so that we can learn more details and address this issue with you directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Our touring group of 10 stayed here in August 2013 and really enjoyed the visit. We arranged a custom tour through Penny Wang at the hotel tour desk and were very fortunate that Penny actually personally provided the guided tour herself for our group. We toured the Terra Cotta Warriors museum, had a nice lunch, visited a unique art museum and rode bikes on the city wall, all in one day of activities. It was an awesome day of touring Xi'an, and could not have been better organized. The fact that this property can organize tours on their own is a nice distinctive feature compared to other hotels visited on our tour of China.

This hotel is top notch, with very nice rooms, a great restaurant called Yi Cafe, and a high end pool, spa and workout area on site. The front desk is very organized and the lounge area had nice entertainment as well. I wish we could have stayed here longer, but would recommend this hotel to anyone seeking the best available place to stay.

Room Tip: I suspect all rooms here are very nice rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IlliniRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ncbeachlover5
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during our overnight in Xian to see the Terra Cotta Soldiers. We were met by Penny from the tour desk who greeted us at the airport and took us directly to the the museum. The tour was fabulous and everything we expected. We were greeted at the hotel by a warm and welcoming staff. We are a family of 5 and had two connecting rooms which were very comfortable. Breakfast the next morning was delicious! There was something for everyone. I would definitely stay at the Shangri-la again if I were returning to Xian.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Ncbeachlover5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We travelled here last summer. The rooms were clean and the service was spectacular.
On a whim, my kids requested that we see the pandas in Chengdu on two days notice. The assistant concierge, Derek, helped organize a flight departing at 8 am which allowed us time to land, see the pandas (and even hold them), have a great lunch, and then depart for Beijing that afternoon. The concierge coordinated with the Chengdu Shangri-La to have a driver at the ready and make sure that all went well. This was incredible, extraordinary service.
Back to the hotel, although not in a scenic location, the hotel is quite pretty inside and no complaints whatsoever. On another positive note of the trip, after recognizing that we were to miss the fabulous breakfast, the concierge took requests for a takeout, boxed lunch. The look of the other airplane passengers was shocking as we pulled out the fresh fruit, croissants, etc as we took off.
I would highly recommend this hotel when visiting Xian to see the Terra cotta soldiers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anamericantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
4.0 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,354 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 stars 346 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#5 of 2,354 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 949 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Westin Xian
The Westin Xian
#4 of 2,354 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Gran Melia Xi'an
Gran Melia Xi'an
#2 of 2,354 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 stars 309 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
6.0 mi away
Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Xian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Xian

Property: Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
Address: NO. 38B Keji Road, Xi'an 710075, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#5 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#40 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Xian 4.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-la, Xian is located in the prestigious financial and shopping district of the Gao Xin Hi-tech Development Zooe, hotel enjoys easy access to Xian's leading business, entertainment and shopping destinations. A prime residence for both busniess and leisure travelers, the hotel is just 30 minutes drive from Xian International Airport and 45 minutes from the world-famous Terra-Cotta Warriors Museum. Hotel provides Complimentary shuttle bus service for all in-house paying guests on Weekend and public holiday. The hotel comprises 395 tastefully appointed rooms and suites, all with floor-to-ceiling glass windows and stunning views of the landscaped gardens or the city. At 57 square meters, the spacious Grand Premier rooms are the largest guestrooms in Xian for the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Xian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian China/Shaanxi
Shangri La Hotel Xi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing