We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xian Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel,Xian

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
Ranked #3 of 2,331 Hotels in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
ncbeachlover5
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Xian Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during our overnight in Xian to see the Terra Cotta Soldiers. We were met by Penny from the tour desk who greeted us at the airport and took us directly to the the museum. The tour was fabulous and everything we expected. We were greeted at the hotel by a warm and welcoming staff. We are a family of 5 and had two connecting rooms which were very comfortable. Breakfast the next morning was delicious! There was something for everyone. I would definitely stay at the Shangri-la again if I were returning to Xian.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Ncbeachlover5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    467
    73
    8
    8
See reviews for
105
171
29
211
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We travelled here last summer. The rooms were clean and the service was spectacular.
On a whim, my kids requested that we see the pandas in Chengdu on two days notice. The assistant concierge, Derek, helped organize a flight departing at 8 am which allowed us time to land, see the pandas (and even hold them), have a great lunch, and then depart for Beijing that afternoon. The concierge coordinated with the Chengdu Shangri-La to have a driver at the ready and make sure that all went well. This was incredible, extraordinary service.
Back to the hotel, although not in a scenic location, the hotel is quite pretty inside and no complaints whatsoever. On another positive note of the trip, after recognizing that we were to miss the fabulous breakfast, the concierge took requests for a takeout, boxed lunch. The look of the other airplane passengers was shocking as we pulled out the fresh fruit, croissants, etc as we took off.
I would highly recommend this hotel when visiting Xian to see the Terra cotta soldiers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anamericantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed at this great hotel for two nights and wished we could have stayed longer. We had flown in just to see the Terracotta Warriors, what we saw was impressive. The staff was attentive, the hotel lobby is just beautiful with live music every night, and the restaurants were reasonably priced and the food was great. The rooms are a good size and well appointed. The breakfast each morning was excellent and the staff were always friendly and very knowledgeable. This was a truly enjoyable all round experience. I highly recommend staying at The Shangri - La when visiting Xian.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was the second Shangri-La Hotel we stayed at in China during our trip and it was fantastic. Rooms, lobby, service (we were late, and the staff checked us in at our room to let us settle, great touch).

The breakfast was spectacular, every type of food you could imagine. The staff could not be more helpful. The gym and pool were fantastic. Our room was immaculate.

The city of Xian is a very busy place and everyone is here to see the Terracotta Warriors for a quick trip, at least those we spoke to. This is the place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Houston940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Though we were there only one night, having flown in just to see the Terra cotta soldiers, what we saw was impressive. The staff was attentive, the hotel beautifully decorated and of course the rooms were large and well appointed. We toured the spa and health club and both looked inviting.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MEBesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was such a beautiful hotel, just absolutely lovely. The lobby has great ambiance. Our room had hot tea and fruit waiting for us when we arrived. The service was perfect, really classy. The room was clean, the hotel was spotless, and we enjoyed our stay here.

I wasn't that impressed with the buffet. The Asian offerings were bland. I was hoping for more local delights. A crepe bar or waffle/pancake bar would have been nice too. We loved the pots of yogurt, and my kids loved the fruit and pastry selections. The coffee was good, though, and the service was attentive. We also ate at Siam, and the service was slow. The food was good but not great. The kids ordered orange juice, and it was fresh squeezed, which is nice, but bitter, like they had juiced the peel too. I don't think I'd go back to that restaurant. The room service was great, though.

Overall, it was a lovely hotel. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blackacre03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
120 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We arrived at the hotel and were graciously met and helped with our luggage, even though my husband and I always travel with only carryon. We loved our very comfortable room with the usual amenities and a great bed, but the two best things about the hotel were first, the wonderful gym and amazing swimming pool that's large and designed for swimming laps. Second, the breakfast at the Yi Cafe was not only very good with its wide assortment of Asian and Western food served buffet style, but also has a comfortable setting with garden views. Service at the Front Desk, including checkin, checkout, getting change for tips, etc. was also very good. We wish we could have stayed longer at the Shangri-la in Xian.

The location is not in the center of town (about 15 kilometers from the Old Town), and Xian's population is roughly 7-8 million people so it's a large metropolitan area. We had our own car and driver for our stay in Xian, so this was not an issue for us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
4.0 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,331 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 stars 327 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#5 of 2,331 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 931 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Westin Xian
The Westin Xian
#4 of 2,331 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Gran Melia Xi'an
Gran Melia Xi'an
#2 of 2,331 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 stars 297 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
6.0 mi away
Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Xian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Xian

Property: Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
Address: NO. 38B Keji Road, Xi'an 710075, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#5 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#38 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Xian 4.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-la, Xian is located in the prestigious financial and shopping district of the Gao Xin Hi-tech Development Zooe, hotel enjoys easy access to Xian's leading business, entertainment and shopping destinations. A prime residence for both busniess and leisure travelers, the hotel is just 30 minutes drive from Xian International Airport and 45 minutes from the world-famous Terra-Cotta Warriors Museum. Hotel provides Complimentary shuttle bus service for all in-house paying guests on Weekend and public holiday. The hotel comprises 395 tastefully appointed rooms and suites, all with floor-to-ceiling glass windows and stunning views of the landscaped gardens or the city. At 57 square meters, the spacious Grand Premier rooms are the largest guestrooms in Xian for the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Xian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian China/Shaanxi
Shangri La Hotel Xi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing