We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 5-star experience in Xian” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel,Xian

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
Ranked #3 of 2,328 Hotels in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson
Level Contributor
104 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A 5-star experience in Xian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We arrived at the hotel and were graciously met and helped with our luggage, even though my husband and I always travel with only carryon. We loved our very comfortable room with the usual amenities and a great bed, but the two best things about the hotel were first, the wonderful gym and amazing swimming pool that's large and designed for swimming laps. Second, the breakfast at the Yi Cafe was not only very good with its wide assortment of Asian and Western food served buffet style, but also has a comfortable setting with garden views. Service at the Front Desk, including checkin, checkout, getting change for tips, etc. was also very good. We wish we could have stayed longer at the Shangri-la in Xian.

The location is not in the center of town (about 15 kilometers from the Old Town), and Xian's population is roughly 7-8 million people so it's a large metropolitan area. We had our own car and driver for our stay in Xian, so this was not an issue for us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    462
    72
    8
    8
See reviews for
99
169
26
191
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Our family stayed on the Executive floor on a recent holiday in Xi'an. The rooms are great and to the high standard you expect from Shangri-La. Breakfast and evening drinks in the Executive floor - great.

Food in the Yi Cafe and the Thai restaurant - average and disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rtw99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The hotel and service were both excellent! The location was great for walking around the city, doing shopping and there are three Starbucks within walking distance. Stay on their signature floors. Their signature floor is on 19 and they have excellent breakfast, afternoon tea and snacks in the evening. All the soft drinks, coffee and snacks are included. It will save a lot of money as we didn't need to pay for any food

Room Tip: Stay on signature floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martinj911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
150 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This was my first time in this property and it will be the last. First the good things, some of the people show a very good attitude for service (as usual in SL properties), then the swimming pool is very good and well managed. Room is well appointed.

Then, the not so good things:
1) The coffee shop is not so good. Not a good selection for breakfast, like absence of low fat yogourt, a very poor selection of cheese and one of the worst coffee I even been served in China.
2) Buffet dinner is rather expensive for what you get (288 RMB without drinks).
3) The worst is the experience at check out as I did at 5.30am, so at that time they have only one person attending guests, so if you have an earlier flight you need to wait for the person in front of you to finish (I am wonder why they have 20 people during the day around the lobby and only 1 person in the morning to do the check out for guests).
Then I asked for wake up call at 4.30am and nobody called me, so don't trust this service or you may miss your morning flight.
And the worst was the taxi I booked the night before to go to airport at 5.30am, as without telling me they put me in a kind of special taxi that while using a meter it costs me 172 RMB when using a regular taxi may cost around 100 RMB at that time, and of course the taxi cannot produce a proper invoice, so this makes you feel like a scam and give me a very bad impression of this property as this never happened to me before in a SL property in China, so be aware about this situation if you book a taxi to go to airport in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prayanak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shangrilaxian, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel,Xian, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear NickBkk, thank you for staying with us and review of our property. We are sorry to hear with your stay experience with us. Your feedback on our F&B and Front Office services have been taken note and will be investigated by our Director of F&B and Director of Rooms. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay and look forward to exceeding your expectation on your next trip with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester uk
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed here during a recent tour of China on our travel agents recommendation. We had a good room on a corner of the sixth floor which consequently felt airy and light. The room was of a good 4 star standard and not the five star advertised. We had a pleasant stay here but as we were tourists rather than business travellers we felt the location was too far from the main sights. This meant we ate in the hotel both evenings and the food was very mixed. The buffet by 8pm looked tired and so we went for the a la carte, very disappointing, we did complain and the manager was very apologetic and made an adjustment to our bill. The second night we ate in the Thai restaurant and this was much better and we would recommend this. Breakfast was good, plenty of choice plus a very attentive restaurant manager!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacManchesterUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shangrilaxian, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel,Xian, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear jacManchesterUk, thanks for your review. Shangri-La Hotel, Xian located in the CBD of city with easy access to Xian's leading entertainment, shopping and main attractions. We do apologize for the inconvenience this caused you. Your feedback on our buffet and a la carte has been noted and will be investigated by our F&B Manager and Executive Chef, and we hope that you will choose our hotel again when you are back so that we can exceed your expectations during your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The Shangrila Hotels always guarantee a very reliable and acceptable standard. After many years of services, and in the fast changing faces of Xi'An (which has a mission to become an international metropolis), some aspects need serious attention to bring back excellence.
Airport transfer, reception checking in and checking out, concierge are all excellent.
Attention to detail is need to clean the room-my experience not thorough enough-dusty, finger marks on glass, curtains drawn or open for evening is rather eratic.
Serious concern over breakfast when I noticed one fly spying on the bread and pastries section, attendents ywaning over the ood they stood by to serve, and some young attendants simply not up to standard.
Lounge and music there is excellent, as expected of all Shangrila Hotels.
Have provided feed back upon check out (they really care) and completing their survey.
The receptionist "Moon" is wonderful! She made the stay very worthwhile. She should be acknowledged.

Room Tip: Not in particular. Depends on how much you want to pay. Perhaps a room that is nearer the end or at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Y S Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shangrilaguilin, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel,Xian, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Y S Daniel L, thanks for your review. We are sorry to hear about your stay experience with us and apologised for the inconvenience caused. Your feedback on our room and F&B have been noted and will be investigated by the managers involved and we look forward to exceeding your expectations during your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and were treated really well. The staff were always helpful, welcoming and friendly. The hotel was very busy but they took time to respond to our requests eg the power board in our room was not working when we arrived but it was fixed as soon as we reported a fault. The concierge organised a fantastic English speaking guide named Li who works for the hotel to take us on two half day tours to the terra cotta warriors and the Han dynasty tombs. Both are very different sites and he had a wealth of knowledge and didn't try to force us to shops or anything like that. The Han site on the way to the airport is a must see if you have time. We had read about it but were half hearted. When Li recommended we do it, we took his word for it and were not sorry. The famous terra cotta warriors are amazing but the other site, although lesser known, rivals it. The hotel room was clean, nicely appointed and the bed was absolutely huge! Functional, not spacious, but with water provided and wifi. Lobby bar was a nice retreat with grand piano and great cashews! Singer at night time. Very talented and soft, sultry music for the most part. Nice at the end of a busy day. Breakfast was amazing for its breadth and scope. There was nothing you could not order or find in the buffet. The omelettes, freshly made with your selected ingredients, were wonderful. The room service was prompt and accurate. The main restaurant (Chinese not Thai) was great. We had a combined BBQ dish of pork, duck and chicken. Fabulous. The chef came out to check that diners were happy. No one was unhappy, quite the opposite. Our only fault would be that we could hardly see out our room window due to the dust/dirt on the outside. We had a garden side room rather than road side so it was quiet. We would definitely recommend this hotel and return on our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathydel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
4.0 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,328 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 stars 290 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#5 of 2,328 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 889 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Westin Xian
The Westin Xian
#4 of 2,328 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
4.9 mi away
Gran Melia Xi'an
Gran Melia Xi'an
#2 of 2,328 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
6.0 mi away
Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Xian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Xian

Property: Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
Address: NO. 38B Keji Road, Xi'an 710075, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#5 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#38 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Xian 4.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-la, Xian is located in the prestigious financial and shopping district of the Gao Xin Hi-tech Development Zooe, hotel enjoys easy access to Xian's leading business, entertainment and shopping destinations. A prime residence for both busniess and leisure travelers, the hotel is just 30 minutes drive from Xian International Airport and 45 minutes from the world-famous Terra-Cotta Warriors Museum. Hotel provides Complimentary shuttle bus service for all in-house paying guests on Weekend and public holiday. The hotel comprises 395 tastefully appointed rooms and suites, all with floor-to-ceiling glass windows and stunning views of the landscaped gardens or the city. At 57 square meters, the spacious Grand Premier rooms are the largest guestrooms in Xian for the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Xian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian China/Shaanxi
Shangri La Hotel Xi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing