We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's average by regular standards but the best hotel in X'ian”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
Ranked #6 of 2,612 Hotels in Xi'an
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“It's average by regular standards but the best hotel in X'ian”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

So after staying in other Shangri-La properties we got a little spoiled. This one was more like a three star Best Western, but it was clean and comfortable for the one night that we needed it. Service was what you come to expect from the parent company. I was told it is the best hotel in X'ian.

Room Tip: Rooms are large and spacious. Probably more space than you really need. Don't expect panoramic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miosoti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    889
    507
    80
    12
    10
See reviews for
162
216
58
332
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Went to Xi'an to see the Tera Cotta army and stayed 2 nights. Hotel staff were very willing and helpful. Seemed to be some mix-up with pre-arranged babysitter for he evenings however. Duty manager did her best to resolve the issue. Definitely advise getting a room to face the "garden" (actually a golf driving range). The front of the hotel faces a busy and dusty main road. He food in the cafe and Thai restaurant was good. Breakfast buffet is good value as well. Nice pool and gym. Location is a little bit out of the main sites but easy enough to get to in a taxi. We organised an airport pick up and tour via the hotel, both went smoothly.

Room Tip: Definitely face the rear of the hotel via a garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Everything worked about the Shangri-La. Check in, ambience, English-speaking: all great. The rooms are beautifully appointed with lovely art pieces. Our room overlooked a driving range, so lots of green expanse. Which was good because the pollution was high and difficult to see the sky. The breakfast room was large and it was warm enough to enjoy breakfast on their spacious patio. The staff were truly interested and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Frances S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel is a huge complex consisting of a tower for rooms, three lobby floor restaurants (very good), a spa, super sized gym and equally super sized pool.

Easy check in with five people assisting us!
Room comfortable with good sheets and pillows, good lighting and both a separate shower and bath tub in the bathroom. Bathroom on the small side for two people but has everything you might need as a traveler.

Tip: From the "City Room" side of hotel street traffic is a bit loud and they love to blow their horns in this city. Just counted 25 honks in the last minute, but it is 7:30am and the middle of rush hour so can be expected. Noise died down after 9:00pm and did not disturb my sleep.

Look for good room rate deals directly on their website and sign up for the one that includes breakfast.
Complimentary Internet access in all of hotel.
You cannot open any windows, but with the smog thick outside you don't want to anyway.
About an hour drive from the airport.

Room Tip: "City Room" a bit noisy during morning and afternoon rush hour from car horns. No problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank New_York_Snow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caitriona358
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Before we arrived at the hotel, I was in contact with the staff who were very helpful. They helped us organise a tour to the Warriors. We booked on a public tour but there was just the two us, so we were treated like a private tour - just us and the guide in a car. It's worth asking how many others are on the public tour before you book. Our guide was brilliant!!!! The hotel gave us a packed lunch which was much better and more delicious than I could have imagined. Breakfast each morning was great. The usual buffet with stations offering a range of food from around the world. As you leave the restaurant there were coffee and tea machines with disposable cups etc., fruit and biscuits to take with you. A nice touch. We ate in Siam Garden the Thai restaurant) which was very reasonable and really tasty. I was a bit cold while eating but the food and service was super! Room was spacious, warm and comfortable. Staff were always ready to please and we're quick to respond to any requests. There were all types of people there but mainly couples and business folk. Had a great time!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caitriona358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Shanri-La in Xi'an is truely a gem! Everything is coated with sheer luxury and makes the stay quite pleasant. Xi'an as a city itself was ridiculously polluted and impossible to venture out without seriously injuring your lungs.. So you end up being indoors pretty much most of the time.. And thankfully, Shangr-La has so much to offer that you really dont need to go out much. There are three restaurants to choose from to dine in and a fantastic lounge bar with live performances.. The food in all the three restaurants are absolutely delicious and cover a good range of cuisines. Would have been a bit better if more staff spoke English considering their clientele seemed to have a large western crowd. Also, sometimes, it did feel like there were more people standing around saying good morning and good evenings than those who did the work!

The rooms are well appointed and the views from the top floors can be nice, obviously that would depend on how bad the smog outside is. One thing I found really interesting was they keep a little route map with a lanyard to go out jogging with! Now as much as that idea is great, you really do not wanna be jogging with the horrendous pollution outside. I think it would hv been more helpful if they had live display screens showing the air quality index so people can look it up before venturing out.

The Shangri-La has a fanstastic spa, gym and a swimming pool all covering an entire floor of the hotel. The pool isnt deep enough, but long enough to do your laps.. the gym and the spa itself is really top of the class and a delight to use.

Overall, I loved my stay at Shangri-La and would definitely want to go back if I were to ever visit Xi'an again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank row_heath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cARDIFF
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is what a five star hotel is all about, it manages spectactular and cosy, great views from 14th floor, super breakfast and spa.
Nice garden area, very relaxed atmosphere makes this hotel extra special
Only drawback location not quiet as good as the Westin which is adjacent the Pagoda area, however this is bit of a tourist trap.

Next to the Fairmount in Shanghai this is the best hotel we have experienced on our trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HRP54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
4.3 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,612 in Xi'an
658 reviews
4.9 mi away
Gran Melia Xi'an
Gran Melia Xi'an
#2 of 2,612 in Xi'an
452 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#4 of 2,612 in Xi'an
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Westin Xian
The Westin Xian
#5 of 2,612 in Xi'an
661 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
4.1 mi away
Sofitel Legend Peoples Grand Hotel Xian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Xian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Xian

Property: Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
Address: No.38B Keji Road, Yanta District, Xi'an 710075, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#5 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#6 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#6 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#50 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Xian 4.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-la, Xian is located in the prestigious financial and shopping district of the Gao Xin Hi-tech Development Zooe,5 minutes walking distance to the Keji Road Station of Metro Line 3. Hotel enjoys easy access to Xian's leading business, entertainment and shopping destinations. A prime residence for both busniess and leisure travelers, the hotel is just 30 minutes drive from Xian International Airport and 45 minutes from the world-famous Terra-Cotta Warriors Museum. Hotel provides Complimentary shuttle bus service for all in-house paying guests on Weekend and public holiday. The hotel comprises 395 tastefully appointed rooms and suites, all with floor-to-ceiling glass windows and stunning views of the landscaped gardens or the city. At 57 square meters, the spacious Grand Premier rooms are the largest guestrooms in Xian for the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Xian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian China/Shaanxi
Shangri La Hotel Xi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing