We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modernity among great history and culture.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel,Xian

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
Ranked #3 of 2,328 Hotels in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Modernity among great history and culture.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

XiÁn is a fascinating city with it's amazing history and culture going back thousands of years. To see and experience the range of ancient buildings and artifacts and to hear the music of a bygone era needs several days at least. The one day visit is just a tease. The city is undergoing a transformation and part of this is the Shangri-La Hotel XiÁn; contemporary, comfortable accommodation supported by friendly and attentive staff and great restaurants. The Shangri-La is reasonable well located, an important factor in a city where the transport infrastructure is still to catch up with all the building going on around it.

Room Tip: Depending on the time of your visit prices can be quite reasonable which makes the Horizon Club affo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 602Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    613
    462
    72
    8
    8
See reviews for
99
169
26
191
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
213 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I can understand why this hotel is one of the best in Xian however I worry the staff are not trying hard enough any more. The room was nice, good bathroom, comfy bed. he gym is very good with a good selection of machines and kit. the breakfast is good or you can help yourself to coffee and fruit by the door. Worth a try though not cheap.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sagsma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I was there in Xian again for a business trip and this time i choose Shangri-la over Sheraton . Here is major feedback

1. Good Hotel, 45 mins from Airport , rapid Check in and Very friendly reception staff which can speak kind of OK English.
2. Rooms are good, with abundant space , Electronic Locker and good neat spacious Bathrooms with good accessories.
3. Lobby is good spacious and has built in Wine shoppe.
4. Very good International cafe with marvelous Buffet Breakfast , Dining and Wine selections. Equally good Thai restaurant and Chinese restaurant in terms of Food and hygiene .
5. Service is although slower in Chinese restaurant .
6. Well If you are seeking a booking with complimentary stuff. then you would be disappointed. they don't provide you with many options and seem to charge for everything and that too pretty big.
7. WIFI is claimed to be high speed. But i found it to be rather slow then i got in sheraton xian few months back.
8. GYM and SPA are marvelous . GYM is the best GYM i have seen in hotels
9. i had a chat with a British Visitor who is like a regular in this part of world. He says this Hotel is hit with Chinese visitors. But International visitors mostly prefer Sheraton Xian or other options because Sheraton is too Chinese and i agree to that.
10. There House keeping was disappointing, they keep on pinging me even when i had Donot disturb balb on
10. i liked my stay here, but not sure will choose it again i find Sheraton to be more cost effective with same standard of amenities .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nik007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Great hotel...can't control room temp in winter which is very frustrating. Room was about 24c. Gym was nice and spacious. Well located for work. Nice breakfast. Room was clean. Front desk staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eeyore821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stayed for two nights on business and was delighted with the hotel. The rooms are large and very well appointed and all the extras are of a very high quality - toiletries, tea and coffee, fresh fruits etc. I ate at the Thai restaurant one evening which was delicious, and the breakfast choice was exceptional. The staff were friendly and efficient, my only slight annoyance was that despite making it known when I checked out, some charges were not added to the bill but were debited from my credit card after I left which made the subsequent paper trail unnecessarily complicated. An exceptional hotel though, highly recommended.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We travelled in China this August. This is our first stay. We enjoyed our stay here.
The food is very good and the room is so clean. The staff are friendly and helpful.
The room was new, spacious and clean, and the gym was huge and fabulous.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wombourne
Level Contributor
88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed at the Shangrila last month (room 1423). I do not doubt its claim to be the best in Xian but it is not up to international 5 star standard and I would rate it as 4 star. Check-in was smooth and our luggage was speedily delivered to the room but no one accompanied us to the room to explain how to use the safe, coffee-making facilities and other attributes.

On the plus side the room was spotlessly clean with an enormous bed (nearly twice the size of our super king at home), the power shower was invigorating and I was very pleased to find the L'occitane toiletries in the bathroom together with spare toothbrush, comb, shower cap and sewing kit. The hairdryer was in a drawer but had a very strong coil which was difficult to straighten out so the only way to use it was keep the drawer open and bend over it sideways.

The laundry service was good and quick but quite expesive at £6 for a shirt and £3 for a handkerchief.

I did not like the breakfast cafe which was vast, very noisy and busy. There was a wonderful choice of food however, with large islands of Chinese and Japanese food, every type of bread, cereal and fruit with smoothies and vegetable juices including celery and cucumbber. continental plus hot and cold buffet and special section where chef would cook to order. When you were shown to your table large ugly mugs were plonked on the table and a thermos flask containing tea/coffee. One morning, I had a dirty plate, chipped milk jug and stained napkin which I did report on the feedback form that was left on the table but had no acknowledgement.

We did eat in the Thai restaurant one night which was very good and reasonably priced with a glass of Chardonnay and Rioja at £7 per glass, (half the price of other hotels we stayed in China). There was also a very pleasant outside eating area called "the Yard" where two chefs cooked to order on charcoal barbecues most nights. One night after the theatre we asked if it was possible to order food from the restaurant to be brought out and although this was obviously not the "norm" two delightful young waitresses tried their skills at uncorking the wine and laying the table for us and even bought me a throw to keep warm as the night chill set in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KerryWombourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
4.0 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,328 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 stars 289 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#5 of 2,328 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 888 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Westin Xian
The Westin Xian
#4 of 2,328 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
4.9 mi away
Gran Melia Xi'an
Gran Melia Xi'an
#2 of 2,328 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
6.0 mi away
Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Xian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Xian

Property: Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
Address: NO. 38B Keji Road, Xi'an 710075, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#5 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#38 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Xian 4.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-la, Xian is located in the prestigious financial and shopping district of the Gao Xin Hi-tech Development Zooe, hotel enjoys easy access to Xian's leading business, entertainment and shopping destinations. A prime residence for both busniess and leisure travelers, the hotel is just 30 minutes drive from Xian International Airport and 45 minutes from the world-famous Terra-Cotta Warriors Museum. Hotel provides Complimentary shuttle bus service for all in-house paying guests on Weekend and public holiday. The hotel comprises 395 tastefully appointed rooms and suites, all with floor-to-ceiling glass windows and stunning views of the landscaped gardens or the city. At 57 square meters, the spacious Grand Premier rooms are the largest guestrooms in Xian for the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Xian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian China/Shaanxi
Shangri La Hotel Xi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing