We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent Hotel in Xi'an” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel,Xian

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
Ranked #3 of 2,355 Hotels in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Mattapoisett
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel in Xi'an”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Shangri-La is an excellent, Western-style hotel, well-located in Xi'an. Excellent base from which to see the terra cotta warriors. Great breakfast buffet - same restaurant also serves a wonderful buffet for dinner, offering both Chinese and Western fare. Very good staff - perhaps not quite up to the Peninsula, but very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Semass777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    474
    75
    8
    8
See reviews for
114
178
34
217
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for two nights while in Xian on business.

I arranged airport pickup service, and when I arrived at the hotel a staff member met me and directed me to my room, and completed the check in service at the room itself. As I had been living on airplane food for the day, it was a welcome surprise to find a bowl of fresh fruit waiting for me in my room!

The room itself was clean and comfortable. A separate bathtub and shower were available.

I used the gym once, and it was a really nice facility.

The buffet breakfast included a good selection of food. I also had lunch once at the dim sum buffet and it was very good value.

I would stay here again if travelling to Xian.

Room Tip: I had a corner room- although I faced away from the beautiful gardens, this wasn't a big problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BostonianAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Very good hotel and amenities. Fabulous spa treatment and loved steam room, sauna, jacozzi, pool. Liked the spin drier and heater to dry bathing costume.
Buffet breakfast and dinner offered good choice and quality. Unfortunately one meal was not hot enough. However the staff reacted very positively and the evening ended well. Carpet in the dining room needed vacuum cleaning.
Bedroom large clean and comfortable with handy night light.
All services, drivers and tours organised by the hotel were first class.
Penny, our guide to visit the Warriors, was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed at the Shangri-La, Xian for two nights while I visited all the local sites, including the terra cotta warriors, City Wall, Great Mosque, Touch of Antiquities Museum, and the Pagoda and it's gift shop.

The hotel was one of the best I've ever stayed at. Extremely comfortable bed, free internet in the room, wonderful bathroom, all the first class amenities. The breakfast buffet was extensive - with breakfast food for all nationalities and tastes, and artfully displayed. My stay was arranged by General Tours, and so the buffet was complimentary.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyLitchfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Great hotel in a cool city. Decent rooms, good breakfast, friendly staff and a real buzz in the lounge. Be warned, all chinese men seem to smoke! Not a problem for me but could be a problem for others as, although smoking is banned indoors, nobody takes any notice whatsoever..
Only one issue we had.. we visited the Thai restaurant after hearing good things about it.. TBH, was one of the worst Thai meals we have had.. truly awful.. maybe we visited on a bad evening..
Otherwise, all was up to the usual Shangri-La standard

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sawasdee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Hotel looks dated and worn out. I stayed two nights here on business/pleasure. The bar area had a singer in there both nights and she was way too loud and we spent the evening shouting at each other to try and be heard and then just gave up.

Bedrooms very average and the corridors smelled of cigarette smoke.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJH31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This hotel is said to be the best in Xi'an. Rooms are modern and comfortable. Staff is friendly and wants to serve well. Bath amenities fine. Thai restaurant a welcome change from Chinese. Lobby bar area seems popular with a business crowd after work. A very satisfactory place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leisurist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
4.0 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,355 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 stars 349 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#5 of 2,355 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 950 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Westin Xian
The Westin Xian
#4 of 2,355 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Gran Melia Xi'an
Gran Melia Xi'an
#2 of 2,355 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 stars 310 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
6.0 mi away
Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Xian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Xian

Property: Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
Address: NO. 38B Keji Road, Xi'an 710075, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#5 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#40 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Xian 4.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-la, Xian is located in the prestigious financial and shopping district of the Gao Xin Hi-tech Development Zooe, hotel enjoys easy access to Xian's leading business, entertainment and shopping destinations. A prime residence for both busniess and leisure travelers, the hotel is just 30 minutes drive from Xian International Airport and 45 minutes from the world-famous Terra-Cotta Warriors Museum. Hotel provides Complimentary shuttle bus service for all in-house paying guests on Weekend and public holiday. The hotel comprises 395 tastefully appointed rooms and suites, all with floor-to-ceiling glass windows and stunning views of the landscaped gardens or the city. At 57 square meters, the spacious Grand Premier rooms are the largest guestrooms in Xian for the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Xian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian China/Shaanxi
Shangri La Hotel Xi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing