We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good quality, busy 5* Oasis” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Hotel,Xian

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
Ranked #3 of 2,461 Hotels in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good quality, busy 5* Oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Great hotel in a cool city. Decent rooms, good breakfast, friendly staff and a real buzz in the lounge. Be warned, all chinese men seem to smoke! Not a problem for me but could be a problem for others as, although smoking is banned indoors, nobody takes any notice whatsoever..
Only one issue we had.. we visited the Thai restaurant after hearing good things about it.. TBH, was one of the worst Thai meals we have had.. truly awful.. maybe we visited on a bad evening..
Otherwise, all was up to the usual Shangri-La standard

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sawasdee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    708
    489
    77
    9
    8
See reviews for
121
190
37
242
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Hotel looks dated and worn out. I stayed two nights here on business/pleasure. The bar area had a singer in there both nights and she was way too loud and we spent the evening shouting at each other to try and be heard and then just gave up.

Bedrooms very average and the corridors smelled of cigarette smoke.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJH31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

This hotel is said to be the best in Xi'an. Rooms are modern and comfortable. Staff is friendly and wants to serve well. Bath amenities fine. Thai restaurant a welcome change from Chinese. Lobby bar area seems popular with a business crowd after work. A very satisfactory place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leisurist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Took my 9 year old son on a long weekend trip to see the Terracotta army in October 2012. We stayed for two nights.

The staff absolutely bent over backwards to make our stay as pleasurable and as stress-free as possible. From knowing our names, to arranging taxis, to advising on restaurants, to giving my son extra fruit & sweets and to meeting his demanding requirements e.g. hot chocolate to be drunk with a chinese meal in the evening.

On our first evening, we struggled to find a taxi back from Xian to the hotel -- we waited 40 mins until my son negotiated (in his best english/mandarin) with a local tuk-tuk driver to take us the 25+ mins journey back. We remarked on this to the concierge on our return (he asked us how our evening went). Next morning, another member of staff apologised for the delay we have getting back (it was not the hotel's fault at all!) and said that our predicament had been discussed at the staff meeting that morning.

Upside: great hotel, awesome staff, good breakfast buffet, lamb BBQ + food generally; wonderful pool.

Downside: as others have mentioned, it's a bit removed from the main city (good and bad implications) - can be a pain to get back to the hotel at night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

This hotel has everything you want for a comfortable stay. The rooms are fantastic - very quiet and comfortable. There is a good choice of places to eat and drink too. We particularly enjoyed the Thai restaurant which I'm told is one of the best in China. Recommended

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P_W68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Best hotel in Xi'an? Huge swimming pool, excellent food, attentive staff, and the excursions/guides offered, while not cheap, were absolutely top-notch, really very high quality, and well worth paying the extra for.

While this is not a cheap hotel, I think some of the wine was overpriced, and would query the provenance of a Chilean white served in the bar. Try the Royalty Garden restaurant two minutes' walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SiameseDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel.We were shown direct to our room which was spacious with a bath and separate shower area. I only wish the outside of the windows were cleaned but I dare say they can't do that very often as it was the 8th floor.
I had a swim in the large pool which didn't feel like it was indoor because of the large windows. I was the only one there and, yes I had to wear a swimcap!
The hotel is a bit far from the centre but the taxis were inexpensive. We did walk to the small Goose Pagoda but it was a very long walk, about an hour but at least you can walk unlike Beijing.
The breakfast buffet was extensive. We took the tour to the Terracotta Army organised by the Hotel and enjoyed it very much. Penny speaks excellent English.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annem03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
4.0 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,461 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#5 of 2,461 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Westin Xian
The Westin Xian
#4 of 2,461 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
4.9 mi away
Gran Melia Xi'an
Gran Melia Xi'an
#2 of 2,461 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
6.0 mi away
Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an
Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an
#16 of 2,461 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Xian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Xian

Property: Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
Address: No.38B Keji Road, Yanta District, Xi'an 710075, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#5 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#38 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Xian 4.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-la, Xian is located in the prestigious financial and shopping district of the Gao Xin Hi-tech Development Zooe,5 minutes walking distance to the Keji Road Station of Metro Line 3. Hotel enjoys easy access to Xian's leading business, entertainment and shopping destinations. A prime residence for both busniess and leisure travelers, the hotel is just 30 minutes drive from Xian International Airport and 45 minutes from the world-famous Terra-Cotta Warriors Museum. Hotel provides Complimentary shuttle bus service for all in-house paying guests on Weekend and public holiday. The hotel comprises 395 tastefully appointed rooms and suites, all with floor-to-ceiling glass windows and stunning views of the landscaped gardens or the city. At 57 square meters, the spacious Grand Premier rooms are the largest guestrooms in Xian for the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Orbitz so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Xian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian China/Shaanxi
Shangri La Hotel Xi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing