We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay in Xian”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
Ranked #6 of 2,688 Hotels in Xi'an
Reviewed April 13, 2011

I recently stayed for two week at the Shangri-La Hotel. The hotel itself is very nice. All the amenities a westerner would want. The rooms are well done. One tip - to turn the lights on you have to put your key in a slot - issue is when you leave and take the key the mini fridge cuts off - any card will work so i put my frequent flyer card in the slot. The health club was good with both weights and cardio equipment and it was never crowded in the mornings. The pool was closed during my visit for annual maintenace. I ate Breakfast everyday at the hotel. It was about $20 US for the buffet which had both Chinese and Western dishes. Pleanty of fresh fruit, breads and cereals as well as alot of other good items. I ate dinner at the Siam restaurant two nights - excellent. If you like spring rolls that are not fried their's were excellent. The lounge area is also very nice. All in all this was an excellent place to stay for a first visit. You will find it very similar to any fine western hotel but with a touch of China. The service was excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maddie59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,556)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

639 - 645 of 1,556 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2011

The good: hotel facilities are in good condition, lobby bar is impressive and location is close enough to the old city and sights further afield. The bed and linens were quite nice.

The bad: service service service! concierge immediately stopped helping once they learned we were interested in eating outside the hotel, waitstaff cleaned a quarter of the table we were sitting at in the lobby bar and never came back - five min later when we left after no one else came by we were met with a half-hearted apology, server in yi cafe who told us we had to pay for breakfast when it was included in our package, to having to call back housekeeping when they forgot to bring extra toiletries and then having the staff show up while they were sending a text - and didn't even make eye contact or speak.

At these rates and with the obligatory 15% service charge across the board issues like this should be unheard of. Also real bacon would be nice and make sure your seafood is fresh before serving, i.e. crab legs and lobster tail.

Big discrepancies between what is advertised and what is delivered.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank old_mosquito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

This is a new hotel and though a cab drive to the Ancient Wall and center is the best choice for a stay in Xian. You come here for the Terracotta Warriors an hour away but this hotel is good location for seeing both Xian and the warriors. Service was good and the breakfast at the Horizan Level lounge was ver good. Best choice for this city.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VoxVolpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2010

Well this is a good Western Style Hotel In Xian. It is outside the City walls in one of the newly built-up areas. A good base for touring and there are any number of good restaurants within walking distance

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marekw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2010

My jaw dropped when I entered the lobby. It was so amazing. I took pictures of the flower arrangements even. The people were SO friendly and helpful. Our room was exquisite. I had to take a picture of it and the view from the window. The morning and evening buffets had great variety and excellent choices. The omlet chef did a great job on mine. We accidently sat in the wrong area of the dining room. Our mistake was handled with such graciousness. The staff was very helpful when I needed to mail my postcards. Every person there made me feel so welcome.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fredia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

Highly satisfied with my two times stay in Shangri-La Xi'an. Rooms and service are impressing. Horizon club floor has one of the best rooms and the lounge serves great food.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Stayed in this hotel for a 2 nights. I was able to secure on excellent rate from Expedia ( calling directly). As always I made a reservation for on executive floor ( horizon in a case of Shangri- La chain). On arrival, check in a separate lounge. Very efficient in comfortable surrounding. Something very unusual happens, I still do not know why. We were upgraded to a Shangri- La suite. I'm not going to describe this suite. To many people would get jealous. I never see this type of suite in my life and we did stay in many so called high class hotels. Going back to reality. Horizon lounge extremely well run . Wonderful breakfast and afternoon cocktail hours. Very helpful and efficient personel. I did see a "regular" horizon rooms - very elegant and comfortable. Yes, hotel is outside ofg a city wall, which in my opinion is a plus - easier to get in and out. Many stores and restaurant nearby .
Stron recommendation

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
4 mi away
The Westin Xian
The Westin Xian
#5 of 2,688 in Xi'an
757 reviews
4.3 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,688 in Xi'an
779 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sofitel Legend Peoples Grand Hotel Xian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#4 of 2,688 in Xi'an
1,265 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
4.9 mi away
Gran Melia Xi'an
Gran Melia Xi'an
#2 of 2,688 in Xi'an
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Xian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Xian

Address: No.38B Keji Road, Yanta District, Xi'an 710075, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#5 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#6 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#6 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#47 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range: $141 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Xian 4.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-la, Xian is located in the prestigious financial and shopping district of the Gao Xin Hi-tech Development Zooe,5 minutes walking distance to the Keji Road Station of Metro Line 3. Hotel enjoys easy access to Xian's leading business, entertainment and shopping destinations. A prime residence for both busniess and leisure travelers, the hotel is just 30 minutes drive from Xian International Airport and 45 minutes from the world-famous Terra-Cotta Warriors Museum. Hotel provides Complimentary shuttle bus service for all in-house paying guests on Weekend and public holiday. The hotel comprises 395 tastefully appointed rooms and suites, all with floor-to-ceiling glass windows and stunning views of the landscaped gardens or the city. At 57 square meters, the spacious Grand Premier rooms are the largest guestrooms in Xian for the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Xian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian China/Shaanxi
Shangri La Hotel Xi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing