We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning property, great location & excellent services.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
7 Sages International Youth Hostel
Ranked #5 of 300 Specialty Lodging in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Stunning property, great location & excellent services.”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The above statement says it all! It really is great - the double private ensuite is an absolute steal at £15 for 2 people. The staff are incredibky knowledgeable about all things Terracotta and also can tell you of the best places to go out in Xi'an. Book with 100% confidence.

Room Tip: Go for the private! They are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Constantinejack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    198
    42
    7
    3
See reviews for
36
101
44
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

It's not a bad little hostel, we stayed in a private standard room, which had quite a funky back drop and was warm and clean but i'm a did get a bad rash off the sheets which i'm not sure if I was allergic to what they washed them in or something more sinister (I hope it's not the latter) but it didn't half effect my sleep trying not to scratch. Furthermore, the Chinese people in our courtyard were extremely loud all night outside our room and our window did not close properly so we had to listen to them blabber on and the incessant fireworks and crackers going off which definitely did not help the sleep situation when you have to be up early for a day filled with sight seeing.Tired.com

It's geared for more Chinese then foreigners the staff did speak good enough English to deal with your inquiries but they were a little abrupt and not overly helpful. The grounds were pleasant and traditional which was nice but the bar was a let down and i'm not sure how it got voted for best atmosphere because there was not and you'd think being round Chinese new year there would be.

Overall, it's location to the train station is in it's favourite it's only round the corner and once you have your bearing you can walk to it for transport. It's cheap enough, you can get information from staff but I find more on the web.

It you visit Xian for a couple of days I would recommend as it won't put a dint in the bank and you can get around from there. But in my opinion, I would stay very long in this place even though it's an ancient capital as all the effort is takes to get round, find places isn't worth it. Don't get me wrong the Terracotta warriors are amazing but everything else was mediocre as best to the point where the mere thought of sight seeing was exhausting.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlebethany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauranada
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

7 sages is a great option for xian - it is a beautiful old converted house with spacious double rooms. Staff are super helpful and the bar/cafe is a great place to hang out. Rooms are heated but the free wifi does not extend to them (great in the bar though).
The location is close to the central train station, about 15 minutes walk to the nearest subway. My only issue with the hostel is the area between it and the train station is a bit seedy - not threatening in any way but lots of 'hairdressers'.
Overall a great, great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauranada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

You really do get an oriental feel to the layout of this hostel. Sadly it seems more geared to Chinese tourist, the staff are not particularly good at speaking English, and there seems to be some dodgy work with the money they receive from you when purchasing meals(money being passed under the table rather than being cashed through). Change could take up to 30 minutes to return. I was in the dorm, and one night they allowed a guest into our dorm at 3 am, the bed wasnt made so they guy spent half an hour setting his bed up. Organisation is clearly lacking! I also gave them 3 postcards to post out for me which they charged me for the stamps, and none of those post cards reached their location

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander_tkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Went there with 10 college students. When we reserved they offered to pick us up at the airport for a reasonable price. Very nice setting, felt like we were entering a part of the forbidden city. Really liked the restaurants and activities room (with pool table) for getting the whole group together. Really enjoyed getting an American style breakfast. The cappuccinos where really really nice.

The youth hostel is a good 20 minute walk to the center of town, but only 5 minutes from the train station, which was convenient for us since we were taking the train to Shainghai.

When we arrived at the youth hostel, we got a last minute confirmation for a visit to an aircraft company 70km north of Xi'an....for the next morning. The staff were very helpful and got us transportation for all 12 of us.

The rooms were very nice, however, you need to use your room key to activate the heater/air conditioning unit. In the winter, the room was freeeeezing, litterally.The so called unit is near the ceiling, which is great for an air conditioner, but as a heating unit, heat rises, so none of the heat made it down to the bed. It took almost 2 hours to heat the room.

We were disappointed by the terracotta soldier tour offered by the youth hostel. We understood about 1/3 of what the interpreter said. To save costs, the driver let us off on a side street and we had to walk 1/2 km to the ticket outlet (so he didn't have to pay the museum parking). After the museum, they took us to lunch (included) to a restaurant (if you can call it that) just off site from the museum. It was the most awful eating experience we had in our 2 weeks in china. Actually it was our only bad eating experience in china.

When we left the youth hosted, I left, forgetting about the money for the key deposit (for 12 keys). It was a good chunk of change. One of the staff chased us down the street to give us our money back. So kudos for their honesty.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelcunnuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We booked this place even though it was described as loud and full of partying people in our guidebook. During our stay, (mid-December) this couldn't have ben further from the truth. In fact, its tranquility and gorgeous old grounds are the highlights of this hostel.

We stayed in a private double room, which was great at the price. Some minor annoyances (once you plugged the bathroom sink, you can't unplug it again), but we enjoyed the great bed, crisp clean sheets and good heating, as well as the modern decor. Lots of hot water in the shower, plus good locks on the doors so we really felt safe.

What we weren't so happy with was the staff's attitude, which was quite rude at times. Some of this may be down to the language barrier, e.g at check-in: "You're staying for three nights." - "No, just one." - "You booked three nights!" "We booked one, could you check again?" She checked, found we were right, didn't comment or apologise, just checked us in.

But other things were just thoughtless – like suddenly announcing at the café at 10.59 pm "We are closed now" and shutting off the lights, rather giving the half dozen people a heads-up earlier. Instead, they had happily sold us a pot of tea half an hour earlier without pointing out they were about to close so we probably wouldn't be able to finish it.

All in all, as long as you don't mind the occasional snippiness, this is still a good place to stay, mainly for its historic atmosphere.

Room Tip: Double rooms are quite a bit away from the entrance, which makes them nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pottgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

From the moment we stepped into this hostel, we knew we'd found a good one. All the the rooms are in courtyards that really make you feel like your in proper China! We met a lovely chinese girl who wanted to show us around the city, and when she came to meet us in the hostel, she couldn't get over how lovely it was inside!

Spent a bit of time relaxing in the bar, which serves nice food, and cheap drink, and is a nice place to relax.

10 - 15 min walk to the centre of town, and 5 - 10 min walk to the train station.

Rooms were pretty cold, but i was there in the winter so its expected.

I would come back here no doubt if I came to Xi'an again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bradley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Soluxe International Hotel
1.0 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#11 of 2,603 in Xi'an
877 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Legend Peoples Grand Hotel Xian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ancient City International Youth Hostel
0.8 mi away
Hantangyi International Youth Hostel Xi'an
1.4 mi away
Citadines Central Xi'an
Citadines Central Xi'an
#12 of 2,603 in Xi'an
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 7 Sages International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 7 Sages International Youth Hostel

Property: 7 Sages International Youth Hostel
Address: North Yard, No.2 Qixianzhuang, Beixin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 300 Specialty Lodging in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — 7 Sages International Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your 7 Sages International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Sages International Youth Hotel Xi`An
7 Sages International Youth Hostel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing