We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Xian Apartments Guesthouse Hq
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Xi'an(Xi'an)
$101
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$182
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
$112
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Park Xian(Xi'an)
$96
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$303
$291
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveler rating
45
31
6
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
31
6
2
2
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 86 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Thanks a lot for helping us a lot with the excellent tour guide, Alice, and the helpful aunt, May's mom. We were glad we were picked up by Alice and the driver as soon as possible when we arrived. The next three days are enjoyable! The apartment is so big, clean as well as the brilliant location just a few minutes to cover the nearby scenic spots like Bell Tower, Drum Tower, XI'AN Great Mosque by walking. We enjoyed all the places that Alice lead us to. Among them, Terra Qutta Warriers was definitely the best one. The factory was such an intersting place where was the best place to do shopping stuff (name forgotten, the guide will tell you). My little son was so tired that we had to choose the restaurant in the Warriors Country which was close to the Museum but the food were good. Very pitty for missing the silk factory. (by the way, I am a big fan of Chinese culture). In summary: I did have a good memory and enjoy the family tour very much. The driver was good and Alice had a good English. Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michele K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We (myself, husband and two daughters 11 and 9) were picked up at the airport by a driver which was great as we arrived late at night. We were met at the apartment by the owner's mum and our guide Alice. The next day we slept late then walked up to the Bell Tower. That day we also went to the Muslim quarter, the mosque and the drum tower. Very easy to do by yourself. The owners mum did our laundry which was great as we have been travelling a lot.
The next day we went to the terracotta warriors with Alice and a driver. Just to add that we never do tours like this when travelling - this was our first one. I don't think this was the best tour as we ended up in 3 places where they were there to sell us stuff: a terracotta factory which was interesting but also a silk factory (not good at all) and a tourist area added on to our trip to the great goose pagoda where we had the opportunity to buy paintings. We would have preferred to be asked. That beside the tour itself was good - the driver was fantastic and Alice had good English and information. Perhaps we should have just hired a driver?

The following day we cycled the city walls - just caught a tuk tuk there and then walked back to the bell tower and ate. We had left our luggage at the apartment and Mei's mum was incredibly patient while we sorted out the final things in our suitcases in preparation for the train to Beijing.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 70sammy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hqhostel, Owner at Xian Apartments Guesthouse Hq, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

HI there

Thank you for the feedback and overview of your stay in Xian, we certainly appreciate your fair and balanced description. I wanted to take this opportunity to offer our apologies to you and your family concerning the “add ons”.

Just to clarify for the readers, everyone is informed about the Terra Cotta Warriors factory before the tour, and given the option not to visit if they so desire. For the Silk Factory, it is located at the site where lunch is provided and entirely optional to visit or not. As such it is not actually a diversion away from the tour route. We will be more clear about this in future.

I will say though that many people, especially those with kids, do find it extremely interesting, however I certainly accept it may not be for everyone. We do hope you didn’t feel forced into the visit. Again sorry for any confusion here and we hope it didn’t impact the overall positive experience too much.

In regards to the shop you visited inside the Big Goose Pagoda, unfortunately our guide did not follow procedure here and we have informed her that this is not correct way to conduct the excursion. We completely agree that you should have been asked, and do appreciate you bringing this to our attention.

On a more positive note, I would also like to emphasize your point about jumping in a tuk tuk to one of the gates of the wall. I encourage everyone to try this for visiting anywhere within the city walls. It is a great way to experience the city and get a feel for daily life. They are easy to get from the Muslim Quarter and generally a great bit of fun.

Hope the readers can bear in mind that prices initially quoted by most drivers should be considered an opening salvo, and in no way set in stone. It is possible to get trips very cheap, but that may take a bit of negotiating time. As a rule of thumb 20 rmb should be absolute maximum for anywhere within the walls (per trip, not per person) and this should be made clear before commencing your journey (both that it is per trip, AND in Chinese currency)

Remember if you have any troubles with this, we offer a free mobile phone to all our guests so they contact an English and Chinese speaker to clarify the situation, so feel free to use it if you want to clarify with driver at the start.

As a final note, thanks again for your feedback, we are continuously looking to improve and this will assist us with that endeavour no end.
Cheers Hq

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We really enjoyed our four days in this apartment. It was very spacious and clean and conveniently located close to the Muslim quarter and not too far from metro stations. Staying in a genuine local apartment was a good change from the hotels used during our month long stay in China. We were met at the railway station by Alice and welcomed to the apartment by Mei's lovely and helpful mother. Alice also accompanied us to Mt Huashan and to the Tang Dynasty Dumpling Dinner and Dance show. Xi'an is a huge city so it was great to have such a central location.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bed apartment for two nights in April 2013. We were met at the airport by a driver arranged by the owner of the apartment and met at the apartments by Alice and Mei's mum. The apartment is in a brilliant location just a few minutes walk from the Muslim Quarter and an easy ten minute walk to the Bell Tower and twenty minutes to the south gate of the city wall where we hired bikes. Mei's mum helped with laundry, 20 Yuan for a machine load, which is a great help when travelling with children. There was also space enough in the apartment to dry it. I confess to being fussy but this apartment was very clean. Our only hitch, on arrival, was to realise that we had a two bedroom apartment with two double beds (one super king), when we had made a booking for five people. Never the less, Mei's mum was quick to offer solutions and leant us extra bedding. Our ten year old slept on the large sofa, so no problem in the end. In summary: great, clean apartment in fabulous location.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Met by HQ apartment's driver at the airport (and also used him to drop us off at the train station too - so much easier).

Greeted at the door of the apartments by Judy who spoke excellent English as Mei was away. Also met Mei's parents, who couldn't have been nicer, even though they didn't speak English, Judy helped.
All communication prior to us arriving was fab & the apartments are in a fantastic location. Five minutes walk to the Muslim . As explained on their website, these are local apartments, so why anyone would complain about the shower being part of the bathroom & not separated is beyond me. This is how the people of Xian live!! We knew that when we booked. There was a local school next door which was a bit loud first thing, but that would only bother you if you left late. Most days you're up & out on tours so you wouldn't notice it.

Our children rated it excellent as there was hundreds of DVDs and free wifi in the apartment. Basic but perfectly adequate for our two day stay. Coffee & tea are provided too. We ate in the Muslim quarter some fantastic food (recommended by Judy).

Mei's mum, whilst speaking no English was fantastic. Allowed us to stow our suitcases in her apartment all day & even let us use her bathroom before we left for the train station that evening.

Oh, nearly forgot. The apartments supply a mobile phone free of charge for you to call Judy (or Meim I guess) if you're stuck, or need help. Great customer service. Thank you!

You can also do washing there, we were going to, but didn't need to in the end.

Excellent location, good, clean apartments, fantastic service. Recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MOT99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews