We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location - couldn't have been better placed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Xian Apartments Guesthouse Hq

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Xi'an
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Xian Apartments Guesthouse Hq
Save
You added Xian Apartments Guesthouse Hq to your Saves list
Ranked #5 of 629 Xi'an B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent location - couldn't have been better placed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Met by HQ apartment's driver at the airport (and also used him to drop us off at the train station too - so much easier).

Greeted at the door of the apartments by Judy who spoke excellent English as Mei was away. Also met Mei's parents, who couldn't have been nicer, even though they didn't speak English, Judy helped.
All communication prior to us arriving was fab & the apartments are in a fantastic location. Five minutes walk to the Muslim . As explained on their website, these are local apartments, so why anyone would complain about the shower being part of the bathroom & not separated is beyond me. This is how the people of Xian live!! We knew that when we booked. There was a local school next door which was a bit loud first thing, but that would only bother you if you left late. Most days you're up & out on tours so you wouldn't notice it.

Our children rated it excellent as there was hundreds of DVDs and free wifi in the apartment. Basic but perfectly adequate for our two day stay. Coffee & tea are provided too. We ate in the Muslim quarter some fantastic food (recommended by Judy).

Mei's mum, whilst speaking no English was fantastic. Allowed us to stow our suitcases in her apartment all day & even let us use her bathroom before we left for the train station that evening.

Oh, nearly forgot. The apartments supply a mobile phone free of charge for you to call Judy (or Meim I guess) if you're stuck, or need help. Great customer service. Thank you!

You can also do washing there, we were going to, but didn't need to in the end.

Excellent location, good, clean apartments, fantastic service. Recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MOT99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    31
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
37
17
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The HQ apartments might be a bit off the main street but it is so within walking distance of the Muslim quarter. There you can find food and shopping and lots of photo opportunities. Mei was so helpful, really!!! the apartment was well appointed, comfortable and had WiFi. Our internet connections up to that point had been quite unreliable but when we were at HQ the connections were great. I would recomend HQ to anyone, especially travelling with a family. Mei was so helpful to the point of coming out onto the street with us to help us hail an evening taxi to the train station.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at HQ Guesthouse in January 2013 with our two teenagers, and really enjoyed the space and freedom of staying in an apartment rather than hotel rooms. We arranged with Mei to have transport to and from the airport, and also to take a tour with Judy the guide to the Terracotta Warriors, and were really happy with these arrangements, finding everyone to be friendly, courteous and thoughtful. Mei's mother in particular went out of her way for us, guiding us one evening on foot to a nearby restaurant to try paumo, a local specialty, and staying with us until she was satisfied that we had been seated, ordered our food, and had our steaming bowls of paumo on the table!
We would certainly stay with HQ Guesthouse again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brood_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Unfortunately we didn't get to meet Mei, she was on holidays. Her Mum and Dad took great care of us and Judy (the guide) couldn't have been more helpful, friendly and attentive. Definitely take her with you to the Terra-Cotta Warriors. Her knowledge and insight really improved the experience. The rooms are HUGE but a little sparse. The shower was odd but very large and the hot water was reliable. In a very convenient location within the old city. Maybe 10 minutes to the Bell Tower.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Indiman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Hello, I strongly suggest to stay here when in Xi'an - big apartment in the center, very clean and very near to Muslim Quarter. With a small fee is possible to use laundry.
We also appreciated their tour to Terracotta Warriors.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lepo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed at HQ Guesthouse in October 2012, travelling with our three young children. Mei was extremely helpful and fast at responding to our emails in preparation. The family room we stayed in was 2 big bedrooms plus lounge and a small dining room and small kitchen! Much larger than our expectations. The beds were comfortable and clean. The apartment was in a fantastic location - walking distance to the main market street, bell tower, drum tower, shopping and restaurants. It isn't a 5-star hotel, but it is clean and functional for a family - in the best location. The staff were friendly and even did our washing for a small charge. We would recommend this and we would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BAZZA73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We were met at the Melody Hotel by Alice (?). She took us to the apartment and told us about tours.

It was nice to have separate rooms for a few days. The place was clean and large. It would be a great place to stay if you were staying a week or longer. Especially for a family. The water cooler was a plus, and the family stressed that they were available to help with anything. I was unable to afford their Terracotta Soldiers tour, but I'm sure it is good. Right near the Muslim area and convenient to sights.

Room Tip: You will hear the bugles blaring Monday thru Friday. I think they use it as a school bell. It was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#5 of 2,328 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 884 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#13 of 2,328 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 702 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#20 of 2,328 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ramada Xian Bell Tower Hotel
0.5 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#40 of 2,328 in Xi'an
3.5 of 5 stars 843 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atour Hotel Xi'an Nanmen
Atour Hotel Xi'an Nanmen
#24 of 2,328 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xian Apartments Guesthouse Hq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xian Apartments Guesthouse Hq

Property: Xian Apartments Guesthouse Hq
Address: Building A, Hong Cheng International Apartment Complex, Xi Hua Men, Xi'an 710003, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 629 B&Bs / Inns in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hq Guesthouse Xian: Boutique accommodation for families, couples and independent travelers of all ages located in the centre of Xian. Offers bunks, double rooms with balconies or your own self contained 100m2 apartment near Muslim Qtr, absolutely perfect for families. Spacious, cozy, clean and extremely central: experience absolute comfort for a fraction of the usual cost. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Xian Apartments Guesthouse Hq China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing