We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (299)
Filter reviews
299 results
Traveler rating
37
160
72
25
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
160
72
25
5
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 299 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2014

This was our second hotel on our 21 day Wendy Wu Magnificent China Tour. The King Dynasty Hotel had some renovation work going on; it is quite old, and needs the work. The beds, again, were hard, but really, like I have mentioned in the review of the hotel in Beijing, not that uncomfortable. Our breakfast was chaotic the first morning as the main breakfast buffet room was PACKED with Chinese business men, tourists and maybe locals. On the second morning the national tour guide had arranged for a separate room, which was nicer, but the food was the same. The breakfast in this hotel was clearly 85% Chines-type, with only a smattering of Western choices; but, still reasonable. Again, we did not have lunch or dinner in the hotel we were staying. We had been informed that there was a bar/lounge which we should see. Well, there was; but it clearly was a "local young person" hangout. There was also supposedly some sort of roof top floor with a "tea room". Well, there was; but it was under rehab. The room it self was acceptable; everything worked. The view, once the smog lifted, was directly into the ancient walled city area. Very nice, at nite and day. There is a large traffic circle directly below, but, unlike other comments here, it really did not bother us. There is a Zi'An Metro subway station right outside the side door to the hotel, in case you want to use the subway. There are several stores very nearby, in case you need batteries for your camera, or additional scan disks, or shaving cream or whatever. There are many bank ATM's within a short walk. So, all-in-all, it is a nice area to be; but, the hotel itself could be newer and nicer.

Room Tip: We did not chose; it was assigned. But, a room on the highest floor possible to get away from the very busy traffic circle below the hotel windows. Also, a room fronting on the ancient city (which would be eastward) has got to have a better view than rooms fronting the other directions.
  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Marvin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely hated this hotel. Little to no English, staff refusing to change money, poor breakfast choices, and no in room wifi were just the start. In our first room the toilet malfunctioned - trying to explain to the reception desk why we needed another room was a struggle. Our second room was adequate - until we ran the shower and discovered the hot water and steam really bought out the smoke odour and cigarette burns on the bathroom mirror. The windows are not double glazed and the curtains not block out so there was a lot of street noise. Additionally there is a window that opens and has no fly screen or lock... Very bothersome!
We ate at the hotel one night and elected for food from the western menu. It appeared to have been either prepared elsewhere or ordered for another place as it was cool when it arrived from the elevator... The spag bol was more like stir fry with pasta instead of noodles. The pizza was good and the fries were western enough.
The gym was adequate but smoking is allowed. Bizarre! (And quite frankly awful to be around).

All of these things would have been fine (I think) if we had booked this hotel knowing it was crap and paid a price accordingly. But booking through Wendy Wu for a rather expensive tour we were very disappointed. If you're thinking of booking a Wendy Wu tour then get the names of the hotels before you pay and do some research!

Stayed: December 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Isabelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2014

Stayed there 3 weeks ago very disapointed food very little international choice for breakfast, rooms cold and uninviting as were staff. Seemed to be geared up for asian nationals only. Very little english understood at reception or in the dining room.

Room Tip: Make sure the heating works
  • Stayed: November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is right next to an underground station with a food court , convinence store and electronics mall around it. Hotel staff are polite and helpful but you must be able to speak the language or have an excellent translation apps.

The rooms and shower are spacious and there are many channels on TV but all Chinese. Rooms can do with some renovations as walls are stained and doors do not operate smoothly .

The lifts are slow especially at checkout time. In addition it gets overloaded easily so you need lots of patience and give about 20 to 30 minutes for the time to get down to the lobby for check out and another 20 or 30 min at actual checkout counter especially when there are a few tour groups doing so at one time.

For breakfast the spread is good but do be early as once the tour groups come , the que for food is long and things runs out fast.

WiFi in lobby does not really work well but there is wired internet acess in the room .

Stayed: November 2014, traveled with family
Thank Susanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2014

This hotel should be closed until they renovate the rooms to remove mold and repair the run-down condition. Another Wendy Wu hotel; their track record with hotels is underwhelming. Ask for a view to the east to see the city wall, as we did. Even on the 16th floor, the traffic noise from the huge roundabout was audible. The subway stop is right outside the door. Our tour group had a separate room at breakfast, which was nice. Lots of renovations near breakfast room. Breakfast OK. Gift shop full of smoke from person inside.

  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LadyMarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews