We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks are Deceiving” 3 of 5 stars
Review of King Dynasty Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
King Dynasty Hotel
Ranked #172 of 2,355 Hotels in Xi'an
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
214 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Looks are Deceiving”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel as part of a Wendy Wu tour. The hotel on face value looked ok when we arrived, but it was downhill from there.

Whilst I expected the beds to be hard, and I like a firm mattress, I think it would have been softer sleeping on the floor. Luckily I was in a room on my own, and could sleep on the doona with the other 1/2 to cover me. Not ideal, but it was a bit better.

The first morning there, my toilet flooded, not pretty or nice, and whilst they sent someone up to fix it fairly quickly, I'm not convinced they cleaned the bathroom very well afterwards. Several other members of my group had similar issues.

The food was very average, but ok. Don't expect anything exciting there unless you want Chinese food for breakfast. Their idea of western food leaves a lot to be desired.

Overall, the hotel was tired, not particularly clean feeling and as others have mentioned, in need of an overall.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank fairywings2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    158
    73
    25
    5
See reviews for
22
77
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire, UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This hotel was probably once very grand but sadly it no longer is. The room was huge with a very large bed (firm but ok) and a large bathroom, the breakfast was ok, and the hotel is close to the city walls but this is where the positive ends.
The rooms are all very tired and badly need a makeover, the carpet was filthy and there was a significant amount of mould in the bathroom which could have been improved dramatically simply by replacing the silicone around the shower and bathroom fittings. The shower leaked and flooded the bathroom floor. The air conditioning was useless. The place stunk of cigarette smoke and the windows and curtains were dirty.
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone not on an organised tour and therefore has a choice of where to stay. Unfortunately we did not have this choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank WGreen74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Xi'an hotels

Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Driving up to the hotel we felt it has potential. Good location and impressive entrance. But as we entered we felt the neglect and the dire need for renovation. I can understand that hotel is not up to date with renovation, yet the King Dynasty was simply neglected and dirty. Did not have any noise problem but would not stay there in its current condition.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rafib1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlisle
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed here on our tour of china, very good location close to the city wall. Its on a busy roundabout some people said it was noisy but our room was on the back so it was nice and quiet.
Breakfast was ok nothing to shout about. The bedroms were a little tired and the bathroom door needed revarnishing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishpondblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

As others have noted this has a very impressive entrance hall but this is necessary to accommodate all guests at breakfast time. The rooms appeared quite nice but we had to move at midnight on our first night when the toilet started to flood the bathroom floor. However the reception staff were quick to find us another room and apologised profusely. Breakfast was very busy and staff were slow to replenish empty dishes and bread. The selection was good and the egg station was OK.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank IanJoan44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

we stayed here during a tour of china and hong kong, our room was on the 18th floor so we had fab views.we spent most nights in the bar, where they had buy one get one deals, so was inexpensive too.food in restaurent was good , as was the service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debs_59England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Hello i know its abit late but last year me and my nan stayed at this hotel the room was comfortable with an exelent view. now you see my nan is a tea maniac and loves her tea but in the room there wasnt any milk so i went down to breakfast earlie and requested to one of the waitresses if it would be possible for me to get a beaker of milk for my nan for the following morning. the waitress said yes thats not a problem and so had a cold beaker of milk ready for my nan once she had finished her breakfast. after this we had the morning to ourselfs as we went on a tour this was our free time and so decided that we would have a wounder around. the desk staff were always very freindly and proffecional. in the future when visiting xian i will definatly stay and reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1967markb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
1.2 mi away
Dynasty Hotel
Dynasty Hotel
#585 of 2,355 in Xi'an
3.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunda Gentleman International Hotel
0.3 mi away
Grand New World Hotel
Grand New World Hotel
#17 of 2,355 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Xian Titan Times Hotel
Xian Titan Times Hotel
#16 of 2,355 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 468 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#41 of 2,355 in Xi'an
3.5 of 5 stars 861 reviews
4.8 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,355 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Dynasty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Dynasty Hotel

Property: King Dynasty Hotel
Address: NO. 1 Da Qing Road, Xi'an 710082, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#93 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — King Dynasty Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 542
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HRS, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your King Dynasty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Dynasty Hotel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing