We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good first impression, but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of King Dynasty Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added King Dynasty Hotel to your Saves list
King Dynasty Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Daqing Road, Xi'an 710082, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Name/address in local language
Ranked #127 of 2,327 Hotels in Xi'an
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good first impression, but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights as part of a Wendy Wu tour. The hotel is situated just outside the city walls and with 24 floors is an impressive building. First impressions were good - a very grand entrance and a big, spacious, well-equipped room on the 19th floor.
Then we started to notice the 'little' things that weren't quite right:- the toilet that didn't flush properly (I did some running repairs), the bath that wouldn't empty, a socket that wouldn't work, the TV that we couldn't figure out, and a blown light bulb. And the decor was tired and just a bit shabby, especially in the bathroom. The windows were very dirty - I guess on the 19th floor it wouldn't be easy, but it looked as if no-one had ever even thought of cleaning them! We were slightly concerned later to look up from outside and see a couple of windows apparently missing!
Breakfast was the usual mix of Chinese dishes with a few token if not wholly successful attempts to satisfy western tastes. But it filled a gap.
The lifts also proved less than satisfactory. I recall there were 6 to serve the 24 floors, but only 5 were working. They were small, and at 6 people plus luggage the alarm would sound. Which meant for long delays on check-out morning. I think we waited around 15 minutes, and some people even longer. Check-out itself also took a long time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daleswalker52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    158
    73
    24
    5
See reviews for
22
76
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
282 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Huge rooms with big hard beds and a view of the western walls of Xian - that's if they ever clean the windows and the polluted haze clears. Facilities all a little dated but more than adequate with wired Internet (common to many Chinese hotel rooms so an advantage to those of us who took a laptop over the tablet! Breakfast was very good with western and Chinese choices though the dining area overflows to the lobby when all the Wendy Wu groups all have a similar leaving time, The roundabout is very busy if you want to walk across to the city walls (hire a bike and cycle round) but don't miss the very small shop that hides round the corner if you come out of the main doors and turn right.

Room Tip: You need a room facing east to see the western walls and old city centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will_Of_The_North
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Being close to the city walls the King Dynasty was ideally situated for aspects of the old city and seeing how it contrasted with the new. The impressive entrance lobby, seemingly a feature of many Chinese hotels, belied some of the behind the scenes quality - a non-flushing toilet for example. As a base to visit the wealth of cultural and historical aspects of Xi'an it was ideal, although because of its location, the traffic noise was sometimes obtrusive. Free wifi was greatly valued.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gordon374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
818 reviews
379 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 553 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Our Wendy Wu tour, and as you will read, a lot of other tour companies stayed here. One of the best hotels we got. As we went along the quality of the hotels and the food got progressively worse. There must not be any carpet cleaning machines in China because they were always dirty. Go with laminate much more hygienic, specially when you don't have the means to keep carpets clean. We booked a 4 star tour according to Vacations to go, but we did not get that quality.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starviagera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bright, Australia
Level Contributor
256 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Try to book a room with a view of the city wall a bit more noise than the other rooms but worth it for the views. Wi Fi in lobby good food choices for breakfast. Short walk 20 minutes to the gate to get up on the wall. Hire a bike and do the 14 km loop of the wall it will be a high light on your trip you see so much more from the wall.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast NSW
Level Contributor
68 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Second hotel of our Wendy Wu tour and was a major improvement to our Beijing Hotel. We had a large room and a double bed (which lots of others did not get all trip). The bed was hard but that was expected. Good bathroom and nice views at the park opposite and the city wall. However it was a little noisy because the hotel is right on a busy intersection and lots of passing traffic that is always beeping their horns. Breakfast was fairly good and staff were attentive and topping up foods etc. Went for a drink at the bar before dinner and this was a bit of a joke. We were told it would take about 30 minutes to get a couple of drinks so we did not bother. Apart from this the hotel was fine - nothing to rave about but clean and comfortable. ATM's all around the hotel and good for a walk opposite in the park in the morning (there are traffic lights and a crossing so you can manage to get across the road).

Room Tip: try to get a room at the back of the hotel away from the busy road (although you will not have a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kris052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley
Level Contributor
56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Our second hotel on a 16 day tour of china - some things better than our hotel in Beijing, somethings worse Rooms are a good size but definitely in need of a lick of paint etc Bathroom a bit dingy - bath plug did not fit and the towels were very poor quality ( when I went to use the flannel it turned grey as soon as I put it into water and towels had holes in) On a more positive note, breakfast selection was good and the lobby large and welcoming with free wifi Hotel also very well located right next to city walls

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZanyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
1.2 mi away
Dynasty Hotel
Dynasty Hotel
#555 of 2,327 in Xi'an
3.5 of 5 stars 100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand New World Hotel
Grand New World Hotel
#17 of 2,327 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 578 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yulong International Hotel
Yulong International Hotel
#66 of 2,327 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#5 of 2,327 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 876 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mehood Hotel (Lianhu Road)
Mehood Hotel (Lianhu Road)
#43 of 2,327 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 21 reviews
0.1 mi away
Xian Titan Times Hotel
Xian Titan Times Hotel
#16 of 2,327 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Dynasty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Dynasty Hotel

Property: King Dynasty Hotel
Address: No.1 Daqing Road, Xi'an 710082, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#74 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — King Dynasty Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 542
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your King Dynasty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Dynasty Hotel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing