We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another average review”
Review of King Dynasty Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
King Dynasty Hotel
Ranked #221 of 2,603 Hotels in Xi'an
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Another average review”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

This was my second hotel I stayed in whilst in China. Again I have fairly similar comments to my other reviewed hotels. My bathroom was clean although the room itself was slightly unclean. The carpet needed a good clean! Whilst being on a non smoking floor, I could still smell stale smoke. From the three hotels this hotel was particularly bad.

Breakfast provided a good choice or cereal, pastries and fruit with good service from staff in providing tea and coffee and clearing tables.

This hotel was the only hotel which provided free wi-fi, which was great for getting in contact with people from home.

If I were to return to Xi'an I would stay in a more centrally located hotel, as it wasn't near any sites of interest.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CityTraveller86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    160
    73
    25
    5
See reviews for
23
77
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

This is probably the best local Chinese hotel I've stayed in. It is rated a local 5-star, which is supposed to be an international 4-star standard.

Room was clean with new shower provisions topped up everyday. Room was big but with most local hotels, are not very brightly lit. I liked the room and that I could finally get CNN on their cable tv.

Food in the cafe was pretty decent. Service quality, as with most local establishments, is poor. You do need to manage your expectations when it comes to service quality in China. It's just not quite there yet.

WiFi is only available in the hotel lobby. Free wired internet is provided in all rooms. No subway yet but expect it right below in a few years time. I think that will then make this hotel more convenient. Hotel made the effort to list the bus numbers to take to tourist attractions, which is good. But they could take the additional step to have the same listing in English.

There are several eating establishments as well as a supermarket about 10min walk away, so that's good as well.
.
Overall I did enjoy my stay in this hotel and will keep it in mind for subsequent trips.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank F1Rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

The hotel looked ok from the outside but not so impressive on the inside, the first night the lifts broke down and we were on the 18 floor so had to use the stairs and took the hotel ages to sort this out. The rooms were tatty and needing modernization. The breakfast room was not big enough and lacked in tables. Another hotel with cold breakfasts and very little choice. I ran a bath on one of the nights there only to find i had a bath of brown dirty water, this happened twice before giving up. The location of the hotel is not to bad you do have a supermarket close buy and a few shops. If you are looking for the internet it works if you are lucky only in reception but if you want a UK website forget it. Staff do not speak English so difficult to get yourself understood

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Solo41-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Xi'an hotels

Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

The good: this hotel is strategically located on the north-western side of the city wall (across the road), which means it's close to the main roads out of the city, to the city's city-wall park (which goes around the old town, 13.4Km) and close to the city centre. There is a helpful concierge (especially when you have to take a taxi somewhere!). Two ATM machines next to the building (both sides);

The so-so: some rooms are better than others, so if you're not happy, let them change your floor. The restaurants is also so-so and a lazy staff. Breakfast usually overcrowded, try to be there on time. The lobby bar is pretty lame, but better than other places I've been.

the bad: there is a small swimming pool in the basement; there is a noisy KTV on the 5th floor and a pretty bad massage-SPA on the 6th.

tip: a good place nearby to eat: from the reception cross the street and walk southwards (right side) in the park, after 300m in the middle of the park a nice modern chinese restaurant with imported wine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xueyan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilydale, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The hotel was nice enough staff were friendly but the air con did not work,There is a made dash for breakfast, No where near enough tables for the number of guests. By the time we got to our seat our breakfast was cold, drink prices were a bit high,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Two thirds of the way through our tour so this was surprising to find the bed was not so hard.
good complimentaries, catered for Western & Eastern breakfasts, quiet, central shopping, supermarket 10 mins away, had trouble with the internet,lighting not the best. Had a nice view out to the pool and garden.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TillyHavelockNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Good rooms, though once again slightly tired at the edges because of the amount of use they get. Despite that, the hotels Travelsphere use seem to be the same ones that other tours use, as we saw customers from Wendy Wu etc. Food was of a very good standard for evening meal but remember If you aren’t prepared to eat Chinese food or will moan about it after a couple of servings, try Benidorm! It was at this point a couple of people began looking for alternatives. Breakfast was reasonable with plenty of choice.
The hotel is located on a roundabout and we didn’t venture out alone so can’t really comment on local facilities. We did the optional night tour of Xian which was well worth it, especially looking at local food items for sale, including frogs (live), fish (live and jumping out of tubs) and unidentified items! At the end of this tour we found a Spar that sold bottles of beer for 25p! A bargain and just the thing to quench thirst after a busy day.
Terracotta Warriors are amazing. Xian was really interesting. A great visit.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.2 mi away
Quest International Hotel
Quest International Hotel
#1,113 of 2,603 in Xi'an
79 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gudu Wenhua Hotel
Gudu Wenhua Hotel
#23 of 2,603 in Xi'an
626 reviews
5.1 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,603 in Xi'an
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Citadines Central Xi'an
Citadines Central Xi'an
#12 of 2,603 in Xi'an
1,020 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#13 of 2,603 in Xi'an
485 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#5 of 2,603 in Xi'an
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Dynasty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Dynasty Hotel

Property: King Dynasty Hotel
Address: No.1 Daqing Road, Xi'an 710082, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#119 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — King Dynasty Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 542
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your King Dynasty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Dynasty Hotel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing