We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Another disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Good World Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Good World Hotel
Ranked #929 of 2,327 Hotels in Xi'an
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
292 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Another disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

This hotel was the idea of U.K. tour company Exodus and it was not a good one. The first impression of the room was it was large and smelled of smoke. Later we noticed some of the ceiling tiles were sagging, there were some large stains in the carpet and plenty of mold in the bathroom. Breakfast was disgusting; mostly cold food except the Tang (orange drink) which was hot. We were in room #402 which looked over the front of the hotel. There was not internet.

Room Tip: Advise you find a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank climber_in_CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    18
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
1
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Hotel was mainly ok, the staff didnt speak almost any english. For example postacard was totally unknown.
If you want use european utensils at the breakfast, you better bring them with you.
Windows hadn't been washed for ages.
Lobby bar didnt have any western alcohls available. Only that terrible chinese moonshine vodka and chinese wine that tasted like vinegar. Chines beer was the only thing to drink.
Well, rooms were clean.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauli666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

We stayed here as part of a group tour. It was the worst hotel of all the ones we stayed in. We had to change rooms twice because the smell and mold in the rooms were so bad. They finally upgraded us to a suite, which was acceptable, except the toilet wouldn't flush completely. The air conditioning did not work in any of the rooms, and the air smelled of smoke, even though we were on a non-smoking floor. I had a bad asthma attack shortly after entering our first room. There was black mold under the wallpaper and the carpets were badly stained. The bathrooms were not clean, and had mold and hair. Almost our whole group had to change rooms. Breakfast was not great either, and the dining room carpet was even dirtier than the rooms. They told us it was because the hotel is old, but I've stayed in much older buildings than this. It needs serious cleaning and maintenance. Would not recommend to others, especially those with allergies or asthma.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank designsbykari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Xi'an hotels

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

The bellman did not greet our taxi and in factseemed to hide in a corner throughout the checking process. He never offered to help (he probably saw our large and heavy suitcases.) The staff means well, but speaks limited English.

The property is older and needs some attention. The lobby area has peeling paint and exposed wiring visible behind the check-in counter. Light bulbs were burned out. It just has that overall feel of having seen better days and of an absentee manager.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kovanen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

Clean rooms , same hard chinese bed as the case in most 3-4* hotels in china. If you like soft bed, then you would have to stay at 5* hotels to get one. It takes awhile for the AC to work and they do not seem to have a real AC, coz the AC is not as cold and seems they're just drawing in the spring cold air from outside. So, I cannot imagine how hot the room might be during the summer in this case (just a thought)

Bfast is good. The cookies are the best. At the time we were staying there, there was also another group of american youths there so not sure if their bfast choices preparations were influenced by this large group of american tourists.

The hotel is near some local chinese eatery and shops. One of the bellboy staff was kind enough to accompany us to a local chinese eatery late one evening as had a couple of guests who wanted to try out local chinese beer and pulutan (snack foods for beer). It was just a 2 min walk behind the hotel, 1st right corner when you come out of hotel and on the left side of the street, after 2min walk you will see a local chinese eatery with barbecue stall. The hotel staff was kind enough to stay with us for awhile to help us order the beer and some pulutan. Try the RMB 9 beer instead of the RMB 12 Tsintao beer. It taste same and cheaper. Their pulutans (chicken / beef/ goat meat) are good and cheap RMB5 for 10 sticks which is their minimum per order per kind. But be warn, their pulutans are real spicy, so if you are not a hot spicy eater then avoid this. Not sure they serve pulutans that are not spicy bec. we did ask to be serve not spicy but still the servings came out spicy. And you also have to specify that you want COLD BEER, or they will just give you a bottle of beer right out of the box.

The hotel is 20-30minutes walk to the drum tower area. So if you're not up to walking, you can take the taxi.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank valuetravelph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2008

I recently stayed for two nights in Xian at the Good World Hotel in Xian. Mine was a flying trip over three days to check-out the famed Terra-Cotta Warriors [bi(ee) ma yong – in Chinese] plus some of the other sites from this ancient Chinese capital. As a foreign inhabitant of Shanghai, I had never traveled to Xian so on a spare long weekend, along with some very cheap fares, this was it! The hotel was selected in a hurry although I was (in error) influenced by a website review elsewhere. If you are an independent traveler with limited time looking for a medium quality and medium price hotel I suggest staying somewhere near the hub of local transport, sightseeing, restaurants and nightlife. For Xian, this somewhere in the southern half of the old city. Anywhere near the Drum Tower or Bell Tower is ground zero for sightseeing travelers. The northern half inside the old city walls (where the Good World Hotel is located) is away from it all. This was an area that was unbelievably quiet and deserted at night for a Chinese city. While the old city is easily covered in a cheap taxi or mini-cab, why disappear into the night a few kilometers away when there are plenty of alternatives more convenient and just as quiet. As far as quality and service goes for the Good World Hotel, it was good and the staff did their job. Having traveled and worked in China for a few years, this hotel was fine. One learns to be flexible here. The hotel offered average value for money. It included the usual little extras such as the odd paint marks and a little peeling paint plus a little bathroom grime but in my experience these are not uncommon features in buildings over about three years of age and below 5 stars here. On sightseeing around Xian, of course the Terra Cotta Warriors are the highest priority. I took a local tourist bus service to the site (Bus 306) for about RMB25 (US$3.60). Taxis and touts offer a whole range of prices. Bus 306 departs about every 20 minutes from the front of the main Railway Station - see my general Xian review. Other sites recommended around Xian are: the Shaanxi Province History Museum and the Great Mosque – very old but quite unique and worth a quick visit. There is a series of markets right near the mosque plus some very local restaurants in this quarter where you may research and enjoy some nice local cuisine and even surprises. There is also a lively precinct of modern-looking restaurants, coffee shops and bars in/near FenXiang Steet (two blocks south of the Bell Tower) that is worth investigating. For transfers to/from the airport, taxis and buses (Line 1) are available and operate from in front of the Arrivals area at the airport. The Line 1 bus costs RMB25 and its last stop is downtown at the Melody Hotel near the Bell Tower. From there you can pick-up an English map and then use it to get a taxi (cheap) to where you want to go. In summary, this hotel offered good value for money and standard China hotel service but it was a little removed from everywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zd68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
4.4 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,327 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 stars 288 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#5 of 2,327 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 880 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Citadines Central Xi'an
Citadines Central Xi'an
#15 of 2,327 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 819 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Ibis Xi'an
Hotel Ibis Xi'an
#37 of 2,327 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 731 reviews
3.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
#3 of 2,327 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Good World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good World Hotel

Property: Good World Hotel
Address: No.108 Lianhu Road, Xi'an 710003, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#115 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Good World Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Good World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Good World Hotel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing