We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Ranked #24 of 2,658 Hotels in Xi'an
Reviewed September 7, 2010

1. very nice hotel, clean rooms, good tv, good bad.
2. staff speaks english so it was easy to talk with them.
3. good breakfast- western.
4. location- a bit far, but minuts walking from the central (bell tower).

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shanim_nim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (619)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

391 - 397 of 619 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2010

There are 3 hotels in the complex , the Mercure being the cheep one still enjoy the services from its expansive brothres (Pool and so on). Good hotel with typical Chineese bads and good breakfest.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Amir R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

Stayed here as part of a tour. Basically an average hotel. Buffet was fantastic, but the beds were hard as a rock. We had to request 2 extra duvets to try to soften it a little. When I asked about a softer bed, they suggested upgrading to the Grand Mercure or Sofitel hotels next door. Go figure, as this is the cheapest one of the three in Renmin square.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank windowpane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

I would give everything about this hotel a positive rating except the bathroom which deserves a super negative rating. The bathroom is so poorly designed that it makes your stay miserable. Even a brief shower floods the entire bathroom floor. The bathroom sink is beautiful vessel type but unfortunately when the water is turned on, if you are not very cautious water splashes out of the bowl and soaks your clothes.. Curiously, one wall of the shower is clear glass into the bedroom so someone in the bedroom can see you in the shower. Strange to say the least.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2Goers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2010

Stayed here for three nights in mid-April (last week). Hotel as described in previous reports. Great value - I think I paid a rate of $63 per night through Travelocity -- Breakfast is very good, though not included in this particular rate.

A few complaints -- if you're looking to be in the middle of town, forget this place -- you're a good 20 minute walk to the Drum and Bell Tower area -- Be careful on the way -- crossing streets in China is not for the faint of heart.

During a sudden and unexpected cold snap last week, the heat in the hotel was not working properly. When I went downstairs to inquire, I noticed the desk staff all had their heavy winter coats on .... No heat during my stay.

And finally, what is with the beds in this hotel? The lack of comfortable bedding was mentioned on this site before, however, nothing prepared me for the reality. It was like sleeping on a box spring. No kidding.

Xi'an is a very intersting city -- plenty to do in two or three days -- You save some money by staying at this hotel but you definelty give up some comfort.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eurotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2010

The Mercure is one of four hotels (and one of three Accor hotels) in the secluded and quiet Renmin square, off a busy central road in Xi’an. It’s the budget option of the three, with the Sofitel being the luxury choice.

The Mercure is a good value choice (we paid 600 RMB/£60 for the night including breakfast - if you pre-pay you get it even cheaper) with good size rooms and all standard room amenities; even though you’re not paying for the Sofitel you can still use all the facilities of that hotel and charge restaurant/bar bills to your room at the Mercure.

We were lucky enough to be able to check into our room on our arrival in Xi’an (around 9am) after travelling from Beijing on the overnight train, which was a real bonus. The room is perfectly adequate for a night or two without being anything special. The check in staff are efficient and friendly and can provide local advice. Breakfast is the only meal available at the Mecure and is made up of a decent buffet providing Chinese and western options, including an egg chef who can cook then how you like. There’s plenty of fruit too. Staff in the restaurant are attentive and helpful.

Lunch and dinner options are available at the Sofitel – we tried the Japanese restaurant which was fantastic value and declicious. We didn’t use the pool or any other facilities at the Sofitel – we just didn’t have time! But we did stroll round the gardens a few times trying to work off some of the delicious Japanese food that we over induldged in.

The hotel is conveniently located in central Xi’an – about 15-20 minutes straightforward walk to the Muslim quarter and Bell and Drum towers.

At the rate we paid, and like use if you don’t plan on spending much time in the hotel itself, its a brilliant way of accessing the facilities of the best hotel in the city without paying at least twice the price.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

We had to change our arrangements due to train tickets and that was available on short notice. We booked triple , and on arrival (8 AM !) we were allocated in a huge suite on the 3rd floor. The hotel shares services with Sofitel and we used the gym and pool there , as well as had two dinners in the bufet restaurant. All were top notch. The staff is attentive and speaks good english. Even though the rooms show wear and tear here and there - i think it is good value for money , while in Xi'an . Location is also good and convenient.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pepsii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
0.7 mi away
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
#36 of 2,658 in Xi'an
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#15 of 2,658 in Xi'an
529 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Legend Peoples Grand Hotel Xian
0.5 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#10 of 2,658 in Xi'an
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Xian on Renmin Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Xian on Renmin Square

Address: No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#11 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#16 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
#23 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range: $43 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Xian on Renmin Square 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure on Renmin Square Xian is a comfortable, elegantly appointed hotel, featuring 113 rooms, as well as dining and meeting facilities. Located in the grounds of Renmin Square, in the heart of the commercial and government district, the hotel is minutes away from the major shopping centres and cultural sites and is ideal for all travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Xian on Renmin Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure On Renmin Square Xian Hotel Xi`An
Mercure Xi An
Mercure Hotel Xi An
Mercure Xian On Renmin Square China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing