We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Xi'an(Xi'an)
$124
Hilton
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Park Xian(Xi'an)
$74
$71
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gran Melia Xi'an(Xi'an)
$127
$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$387
$296
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (628)
Filter reviews
628 results
Traveler rating
185
310
102
17
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
185
310
102
17
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrenmin squareother hotelsterracotta warriorsbell toweraccor groupgated complexrailway stationking sizeovernight train from beijingminute walkspoke englishtaxi driverbreakfast buffetmuslim quartercomfortable hoteldrum towersouth gate
Filter
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 628 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We liked our stay in Mercure hotel in Xian. The hotel is located together with Grand Mercure and Softel at the closed territory. The room was not very big but clean and fresh. Beds were ok, compared with other china hotels they were not very hard. It will take you 15 - 20 min walk to reach Xian railway station.
In general I would say that this Mercure gives you the expected services and comfort you look for when booking an international chain.
I have only one one negative feedback towards hotel staff. I wanted to prolong our stay for 1 night but we were refused to do it on the price we had booked. We were told that this is not possible to prolong our stay but we are able to make a new booking for 1 night with much higher rate.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to feedback following your recent stay with us. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

Meantime, we appreciate your sharing your concerns, we have brought it to the attention of relative deprtmants.

Thank you again for your feedback, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Mercure on Xi'an Renmin Seuare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Felt safe and secure in this gated hotel enclave, Mercure being one of four.breakfast was good, plenty of choice. Dinner at Sofitel, recommend. Also nice pool to use at Sofitel. Staff very friendly also. All in all a nice place to come back to after being out all day

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Rosemary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to feedback following your recent stay with us. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us

Thank you again for your feedback, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Mercure on Xi'an Renmin Seuare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

This is a standard Western style hotel that could have been anywhere in the world. It was clean and quiet, but the bed wasn’t very comfortable. And although booked as a double bed, it was actually two twin beds pushed together with single duvets.

This hotel is about a 20 minute walk to the main city centre sights: Drum Tower, Bell Tower and Muslim Street. The streets around the hotel are very wide; we walked round the city centre at night: the whole area feels extremely safe.

Breakfast was both Western and Chinese cuisine with a very wide, good quality, choice. We did not have dinner at the hotel, but went instead to DeFaChang (twice) for their excellent Dumpling Banquet.

Hotel restaurant staff were friendly and helpful, though none of the reception staff seemed able to smile. However they all spoke good English.

The wifi was easy to access and had an acceptable speed; air conditioning was good but the shower was difficult to control.

Although we only used the hotel to sleep and shower, we would have preferred more authentic Chinese surroundings rather than an average international chain. But this hotel is fine for a couple of days, especially if you prefer western style accommodation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandP_Cotswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to feedback following your recent stay with us. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

Meantime, we appreciate your sharing your concerns, we have brought it to the attention of relative deprtmants.

Thank you again for your feedback, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Mercure on Xi'an Renmin Seuare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

The price that we paid for this hotel was something of a bargain. However, I thought I'd paid in advance but when we arrived I was informed that the credit card transaction had been declined. The front desk staff advised that I'd been informed by email but I couldn't find the email and they couldn't tell me when it had been sent.

The room was fairly large for the price we paid and everything was well maintained and clean. You can walk to the Bell Tower and some other attractions if you don't mind a 20 minute or so walk.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NE_Traveller_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to feedback following your recent stay with us. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

Meantime, we appreciate your sharing your concerns, we have brought it to the attention of relative deprtmants.

Thank you again for your feedback, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Mercure on Xi'an Renmin Seuare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The hotel itself was average with very helpful reception staff and forever smiling doormen. Obviously when in Xian you do not spend all your time in your hotel so for a couple of nights sleep this was adequate. Food and beverage was on the expensive side inside the hotel with limited choices outside. We found some eateries on the third level in the Shopping Centre across the road but if all else fails there is a seven - 11 with cheap beer and a nearby KFC. Not the best Chinese experience.
Disappointingly there was no in-room WIFI. I needed to go down to the ground floor where everyone else trying to get access were fighting over the 8 available chairs. This is not acceptable in this modern age.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to feedback following your recent stay with us. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

Meantime, we appreciate your sharing your concerns, we have brought it to the attention of relative deprtmants.

Thank you again for your feedback, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Mercure on Xi'an Renmin Seuare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews