We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Xian on Renmin Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Ranked #20 of 2,353 Hotels in Xi'an
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel with walking access to the other hotels in the remin square complex. 3 nights of western like relief during 10 days immersion in China. I can recommend the buffet in the Sofitel, pricey but skip lunch and you'll eat your fill.

Only downsides were handle falling off shower and being charged extra for my 4yr old to have breakfast buffet, these were small complaints.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank dgl3sjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to feedback following your recent stay with us. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

Meantime, we appreciate your sharing your concerns, we have brought it to the attention of relative deprtmants.

thank you again for your feedback, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Mercure on Xi'an Renmin Seuare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    278
    89
    12
    12
See reviews for
89
239
59
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Another long overdue review... Stayed at this hotel in June, from the outset when I first contacted them about getting form the airport to the hotel, their communication was prompt and professional.

Firstly the room - despite booking a non-smoking room - did smell of stale cigarette smoke, which can be unbearable and I had thought of asking for another room but the next day, the smell was hardly noticeable.

Breakfasts are great so much choice and the staff are super efficient in clearing tables and offering more coffee.

The rooms are older style but clean and comfortable. Enjoyed a few drinks at the Sofitel hotel (within the same complex) as the Mercure only has a breakfast room.

Evening meals were enjoyed at a local mall within 10 walk and they were thoroughly enjoyable as all the staff in the food-mall went out of their way to help with translations of menus.

All the staff at this hotel were so helpful it made for a great stay in Xian.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 925er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, while I noted your good compliments on the hotel, I regret to note your displeasure over the guest room and the inconvenience caused by the cigarette smell. Please accept our apologies of any inconvenience caused.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Mercure on Renmin Square Xi'an
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Level Contributor
84 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Our stay was nice. The situation of the hotel is fine. You can walk to the muslim area, the mosquee, the drum and bell towers. The Renmin square is privatised for the 3 Accor hotels, safe and quiet. The room was in par with the price paid. The bed was very hard. The hardest we had during our trip in China. Staff was nice and spoke good english.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cyberasylum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Mercure Xi'an on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

At Mercure, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it..

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

It's the cheapest hotel in the Renmin Square complex so it's not, of course, five star. But it's perfectly acceptable, with clean rooms and a decent range of Asian and European foods at breakfast.

Assuming you are visiting Xian as a tourist, or on business, it's more than good enough for the time you will spend here.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank BequiaWhispers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure on Renmin Square Xian. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I booked the hotel just for a day as I had to stay in Xian for my connecting flight.

Location was very convenient as it is fairly near to all the attractions.

Room is FUNCTIONAL (if you are there for a business trip and not fussy about the room). Basic creature comforts.

If you are there for sightseeing and want to come back to a lovely comfortable hotel room , this is not that place. (Sorry I have to be frank)

Shower area have a very funky mouldy smell but water stream pressure was good.

My room's air conditioned system somehow got warm & stuffy at about 10pm. Thought something was wrong , so I called housekeeping. To my horror, the housekeeping lady told me that the central air conditioning is switched off that is why the room is so warm.

Why in the world does a 4 star hotel switch off central air conditioning at an alloted timing ? To save electricity ?

Stayed in other Mercure hotels around the world and this had to be the worst in my book.

Saving grace was the Touch Spa situated adjacent to the mercure. Massuers were professional and massage was really good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBeautifulLetdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to feedback following your recent stay with us. I was very concerned to learn that our facilities and services of the hotel was not up to your expectations. I am truly sorry that this was a disappointment and please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we have brought this to the attention of the relevant departments.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Mercure on Xi'an Renmin Seuare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
214 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Had 4 wonderful nights in this hotel located in a secured complex with the other 2 sister hotels (namely Sofitel and Grand Mercure). Our room is big but can't understand why no rollaway bed was allowed for my daughter! We tried their breakfast on our first morning and found the spread to be quite standard and boring. Staff are very polite and speaks sufficient English. Location is pretty good but need a bit of walking about 10-15 minutes. To the right, you will end up at Bell Tower and Muslim Street and to the left, you will end up with a street of departmental stores, supermarkets and food court (Ren Ren Le building). There is Bank of China across the road where you can withdraw money from their ATMs. Crossing the road to get money is a challenge though!! We got ripped off on our first night dinner at a Cantonese Restaurant - sorry can't remember the name but is on the direction to Muslim Street where RMB160 was charged for chinese tea!!! Otherwise, this hotel is highly recommended in Xian.

Room Tip: Pick a room that is away from the road as you can still hear the traffic at 10.00pm. You really nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bibby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Mercure Xi'an on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

At Mercure, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it..

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
110 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I booked thru expedia. I pre-paid ~$160 US $ for 3 nights stay. It didnt not included breakfast.
I am a solo traveler and stayed from May 28 to May 31, 2013.

I dont remember anything but good things about this hotel.

Positives:
*Polite, English speaking staff. Very helpful with directions and maps. One of the best staff in general of all my trip to China. Knowledgeable and always polite. Great English.
*They asked you if you want a taxi or public transporation. I always used the buses, and metro. I basically walked out of the complex, made a right and waited for the # bus that the staff told me. That is how I got into the center of town every day. I believe it was like 1/2 a yuan one way. Then, I will get a bus back and just say "sofitel" and they knew...or show them the little name of the hotel. This is a big complex of 3 hotels with many restaurants. As mentioned before, this is the "cheapest" hotel of the 3.
*Comfortable bed.
*AC Worked fine, plenty of hot water
*Super clean, super nice bed sheets
*Bathroom/Room supplies: Soap, tootbrush, it has a hair dryer, iron, etc,
*Mini refrigerator ...very useful, i found a supermarket and purchased lots of fruits! =)

Tip:
I asked the front desk about the cheapest way to get to the airport. And they told me that in front of a hotel (sorry, I dont rember the name of the hotel, but is across the street from the Bell tower plaza....the same plaza that has the starkbucks and the Haagen Dazs) a bus departs every 20 min. And, it was very cheap. I am guessing less than $8US. Is one of those big "touristic" buses..and it gets busy quick...but they have 1 every 20min, so just leave with enough time that you will make it. Then, is a direct route to the airport.

Xian was one of my favorites cities in China. The Metro was being constructed and expanded. I dont speak any chinesse/etc and was able to travel alone and used the public transportation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank panedu50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure on Renmin Square Xian. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
0.4 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#13 of 2,353 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#5 of 2,353 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 948 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Soluxe International Hotel
3.8 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,353 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Xian on Renmin Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Xian on Renmin Square

Property: Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Address: NO. 319 Dongxin Street, Xi'an 710004, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#11 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#14 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
#19 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Xian on Renmin Square 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure on Renmin Square Xian is a comfortable, elegantly appointed hotel, featuring 113 rooms, as well as dining and meeting facilities. Located in the grounds of Renmin Square, in the heart of the commercial and government district, the hotel is minutes away from the major shopping centres and cultural sites and is ideal for all travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, ACCOR and Hotwire so you can book your Mercure Xian on Renmin Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure On Renmin Square Xian Hotel Xi`An
Mercure Xi An
Mercure Hotel Xi An
Mercure Xian On Renmin Square China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing