We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel to Stay in Xian”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Ranked #24 of 2,659 Hotels in Xi'an
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was a wonderful hotel to stay in Xian. The price is definitely reasonable for what you get - a very secure hotel in a major compound around the very hectic Xian, in a great location. Also, the best part is that you have access to the more expensive sister hotel, the Xian Sofitel. Do stay at the Mecure, you cannot go wrong.

It was a very comfortable hotel and very clean.

The Sofitel concierge was always great. For China, all the Sofitel staff speaks great English. Also, for tours, go to the second floor of the Sofitel and ask for Eva. She speaks English well and can arrange English-speaking tours.

Just so satisfied that we stayed in this Sofitel-Mecure compound. Do not miss it.

Room Tip: Any room here is great. Just start booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galavant123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Mercure Xi'an on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience with us. At Mercure, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit with us will be more pleasant one.

Yours sincerely,

Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (619)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

204 - 210 of 619 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

Our stay was good, and we found the service to be very good. The room was good and clean as well. The hotel was slightly hard to find as it is inside a complex - and kind of hidden away.
The reception staff was helpful and their english was good. We tried out roomservice, and it was quite bad and the portions very small - NOT worth the money, unless you really don't want to leave your room.
We also tried their breakfast one day, and found it very good, and not too expensive.
All in all a good stay - and the only thing i was really unpleased with was the fact that we were promised internet for free, and found out that first of all it wasn't free, second of all it was not wireless! Also the beds were very hard, but we made do. Would not stay again - mainly because I like wireless internet access in the room if possible.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johanne849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to share your experience following your recent stay with us. While I noted your compliments on the receptionists, I was very concerned to learn that the room service experience and the internet service was not up to your expectations. I am truly sorry that this was a disappointment and please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. As the result of your feedback, we will conduct a market survey for the room service in terms of the portion of the food and price and take the neccessary measures to improve accordingly. At the meantime, the internet connection is free of charge which should not be charged to any guest, therefore, we would like to follow up on this if we may have your advice about the room number and guest name.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Sam Wang
Director of Quality
Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square
quality@renminsquare.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights only booking 24 hours in advance. The room rate was very reasonable at such short notice. We had 2 ground floor rooms both with a queen bed. Both rooms were good with minimal night noise. The rooms were private as there were trees and hedges outside the windows. The rooms were compact but air conditioned which was for us a necessity (temperatures hovered around 38-39 til late). The hotel is situated on Renmin Square and shares its location and some facilities with the Sofitel. The Sofitel has a pool and gym that guests at the Mecure can use free of charge. The buffet breakfast at the Mecure was good and reasonably priced for a hotel breakfast. Empty or near empty food trays were replenished regularly which was great for us as we ate towards the end of the breakfast period. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels etc. The staff assisted with all of our requests or enquiries regarding getting around etc. The muslim quarter/bell tower and drum tower are located about at 10-15 minute walk away. We spent most evenings down there enjoying the markets, or food stalls. There is also a Macdonalds and KFC nearby for those with a need for western fast food. The Hotel is located closest to the Northern gate of the city wall.

We were able to keep one of our rooms for free until 2pm - the other one we paid half the room rate to allow us to keep the room until 6pm.

Room Tip: ask for upper level and make sure WIFI works in your room. We were told that one room didnt have go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bossladymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Xian on Renmin Square. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Your sincerely,

Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
brussels
22
Reviewed July 16, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in June. It was the cheapest of the hotels in Remin square but in my opinion the best. staff were soooo helpful and friendly. Breakfast was fantastic. Rooms were small but very comfortable. So glad we picked here and not the much more expensive Sofitel next door. It does look impressive but they charged my son to "borrow" goggles to swin which cut his nose but he still had to pay for them, they charged to "borrow" an inflatable swim ring and told my sons to pay to play snooker or leave. Staff at pool reception in Sofitel were very rude with fake smiles but pool was nice. Save your money and stay in the friendlier Mercure.

Room Tip: Bus outside hotel to the left goes into the bell and drum tower. 3 stops - less than 3 minutes. or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TazJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Xian on Renmin Square. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

At the same time, I am very concerned to read from your comments that you find the pool service less than satisfactory. Thank you very much for sharing this with us. Please rest assured that we have brought this to the attention of the relevant department in Sofitel Xi'an.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Your sincerely,

Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Pros:
-helpful concierge, front dest, housekeeping staff
-spacious room
-bed soft for my standard
-breakfast: good spread, with a good blend of local and standard western meal
-throughout my stay, hotel could get cab for me easily
-room clean
-easy facility to exchange $$. There is Bank of China opposite, but there are forms to fill, need to show original passport. Rate for hotel and Bank of China is roughly the same
-noise level low

Cons:
10 mins walk to Muslim Street and Bell Tower subway station
I did not bother to take the erratic cab nor the dangerous pedicab. I managed on foot. The walking at night is safe and fun, as you walk on a large walkway and along the way you pass some large parks where you can see locals dancing, exercising.
Suggest that the hotel provides shuttle service, then the place is perfect:)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Navia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Mercure Xi'an on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience with us. At Mercure, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit with us will be more pleasant one.

Yours sincerely,

Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The hotel is effectively inside a walled hotel complex there are a couple of bars in other buildings and a couple of restaurants the spa was particularly good although in another building. Breakfast could not be faulted. However if you want the real Xi'an take about the two mile walk to De Fu Xiang which was an area of bars and local restaurants which was well worth the walk, cold beer real people and great great food. We would recommend Ding Ding

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iantoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind comments on Mercure Renmin Square Xi’an. It was with great pleasure that I read these comments and it will be with equal pleasure that I share your compliments with all of our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our ambassadors as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Your sincerely,

Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
0.7 mi away
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
#36 of 2,659 in Xi'an
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#16 of 2,659 in Xi'an
529 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Legend Peoples Grand Hotel Xian
0.5 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#9 of 2,659 in Xi'an
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Xian on Renmin Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Xian on Renmin Square

Address: No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#11 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#16 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
#23 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range: $43 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Xian on Renmin Square 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure on Renmin Square Xian is a comfortable, elegantly appointed hotel, featuring 113 rooms, as well as dining and meeting facilities. Located in the grounds of Renmin Square, in the heart of the commercial and government district, the hotel is minutes away from the major shopping centres and cultural sites and is ideal for all travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure Xian on Renmin Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure On Renmin Square Xian Hotel Xi`An
Mercure Xi An
Mercure Hotel Xi An
Mercure Xian On Renmin Square China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing