We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Ranked #22 of 2,652 Hotels in Xi'an
Reviewed June 26, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank frugalanne
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (616)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

210 - 216 of 616 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

Hotel had great central location within the old city walls of xi'an. The fact that it was in renmin square made it easy to navigate towards even when taxis spoke little to no english. Reasonable walking distance to all major Xi'an attractions (excluding terra cotta) Rooms were nice, modern, clean. It is in a gated area and towards the back of the square. It didnt bother me, it had a very calm feel as opposed to the rest of the city.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rnevarez562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Xian. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Your sincerely,

Mecure Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Very helpful staff, the breakfast was great, and while not included in my room rate, was worth the extra money. Was disappointed with the location, quite a bit of a walk to the metro station and the sites. Taking a bus or taxi was almost always the most convenient way of getting anywhere. May have been easier to stay at a hotel on the metro line.

The room was adequately clean, but showed some signed of wear such as a leaking shower door. Room service was quick and reasonable. Being able to use the facilities and the surrounding hotels was very nice.

No real complaints overall but would probably choose a hotel a bit closer to the sights next time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Andrew5725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Xian. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Your sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Mecure Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I made booking through Accor website, website badly designed. I initiated the page in HK$ which reflected prevailing bank exchange rate , confirmation came in Yuan but credit card company received charges in HK$ which reflected exchange rate which is more than 5% higher than prevailing bank exchange rate. I made a call to the front desk manager who helped me to sort out this issue promptly, she is also very considerate and emailed me information to travel from airport to hotel without me asking. During my 4 nights stay, we find the rooms very clean and well maintained (better than some higher rating hotels), front desk staff are always smiling, patient and helpful. The room maids are also very considerate. Overall, I am very happy with services of the whole team and would strongly recommend this hotel. Remember to make booking through other website and not through Accor site.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greenviewhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Mercure Xi'an on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience with us. At Mercure, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit with us will be more pleasant one.

Yours sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Renmin Square is a beautiful complex of Accor Hotels (Mercure, Grand Mercure and Sofitel) with many dining options. The location is perfect for touring this very interesting city, as a short cab ride (very inexpensive) will get you to any of the areas of interest in the city center. We ended up with a very large room that had a sitting area.

We arrived late the first evening and decided to order room service, which was excellent. The breakfast buffet was also very good. This property is not as luxurious as the Grand Mercure and Sofitel hotels, but it was very comfortable for our two-night stay in Xi'an. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rowdy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Xian on Renmin Square. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Your sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is the best option in terms of price/quality ratio in Xi'an. The Mercure is based on a big compound together with the Grand Mercure and the Sofitel. Location is perfect : basically 15 minutes away from everything. The rooms are very nice, clean and the staff made sure the air con was on when it got too hot. We were also able to use the Sofitel swimming pool and their massage service.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwenilein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Mercure Xi'an on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.

At Mercure, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit with us will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We spent 2 nights here. The room was small but comfortable. They had free wifi in the room which should be standard everywhere. The breakfast was excellent and staff helpful. We enjoyed the fact that we could eat at the nearby hotels,had an excellent meal reasonably priced. I would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for taking time to provide us your comments following your recent stay with us. I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the facilities and services of the hotel lived up to your expectation.

Once again,thank you for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
0.7 mi away
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
#36 of 2,652 in Xi'an
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Soluxe International Hotel
0.5 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#11 of 2,652 in Xi'an
930 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#15 of 2,652 in Xi'an
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Xian on Renmin Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Xian on Renmin Square

Address: No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#11 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#18 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
#21 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range: $43 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Xian on Renmin Square 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure on Renmin Square Xian is a comfortable, elegantly appointed hotel, featuring 113 rooms, as well as dining and meeting facilities. Located in the grounds of Renmin Square, in the heart of the commercial and government district, the hotel is minutes away from the major shopping centres and cultural sites and is ideal for all travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure Xian on Renmin Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure On Renmin Square Xian Hotel Xi`An
Mercure Xi An
Mercure Hotel Xi An
Mercure Xian On Renmin Square China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing