We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Convenient location with friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Xian on Renmin Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Ranked #18 of 2,328 Hotels in Xi'an
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Convenient location with friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Share the same compound with Grand Mercure and Sofitel and it's quiet in the night. Convenient location within the town and within walking distance to shopping and City wall. Staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliaFeiChen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Xian on Renmin Square. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Your sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    274
    86
    12
    11
See reviews for
87
233
58
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Great central city location in a quiet enclave with Accor Softel and Grand Mercure, with their facilities available to guests from the Mercure. Clean comfortable room with good service made the stay very pleasant. Walking distance to almost everything within the city walls. Would recommend and definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalMere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Mercure Xi'an on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.

At Mercure, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit with us will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I can mostly repeat what others say here: 1)This square is a very nice area highlighted with the luxurious 5 star Sofitel at the center; 2) You can use the unbelievable pool and gym at the Sofitel while staying at the Mercure; 3) Bus 306 is easy to catch about a block away to carry you to the Terra Cotta Warriers; 4) There's not much around there as far as restaurants or shopping and Muslim street is the place to go for eating and such. But contrary to other reviewers, we believe it is really too far to walk there. The local double-decker bus (603?) makes the rounds in the area quite frequently, so you can catch it. The Mercure is smaller than the Sofitel, but they are big on service. Just like other visitors reported, we were upgraded to a suite at no extra charge. So, if you are on a budget, I recommend staying here. If money is no object, you might try the Sofitel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the square not the busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rtpal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Xian. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Mecure Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, N. Ireland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We had a good stay here, but it is rather overshadowed by the company, the Grand Mercure and the flashy Sofitel. Our greeter at the desk, Laurence, could smile a bit more and didn't really seem too keen to help us with a minor problem with our booking. Everyone else was excellent. Couple of tips - you can use the spa in Sofitel just across the road for free, which is gorgeous. And bizarrely you can see into the shower from your room - which you might think is great, or like my Mrs., hate it. Breakfast is overpriced, but okay. Entertainment is a few metres away in the park down the road with people dancing in the evenings.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Billiam99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Xian on Renmin Square. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed here for two nights on toe way to Beijing.

We had a god-awful experience with the cab driver from the train station to the hotel - we printed the address in Chinese as per the hotel's website, but the cabbie could not find the place, so we ended up having to walk for a good 20 minutes after having got the help of a police officer!!

Needless to say i was in a Very Bad Mood when we got to the hotel. It didn't help that once you enter Remin Square, there is no proper labeling, so we had to walk around for a few more minutes before someone pointed us in the right direction.

I told the gentleman at the front desk my woes, and he was very sympathetic and immediately (and unexpectedly!) upgraded us to a suite at no extra cost. He said that if i say "Remin Square", cabbies should be able to find it even if they don't have the address - so a good learning for next time. There were a couple of others hovering around the front desk, all of whom were really helpful too.

The room itself was very nice. The hotel is not the newest, but i really have nothing to complain about. The room was clean, made up, and had everything that we could need. We ordered room service, which arrived in a jiffy.

All the facilities such as pool, gym and spa are located in the adjoining building, a 30 second walk away. There were a couple of restaurants within the square, as well as an outdoors garden patio where you could order drinks - which was lovely in the evening.

They made sure there was a cab waiting for us at 5.30 AM to take us to the airport, with someone at the front desk who spoke English so we could communicate with the cabbie.

All in all a good stay. Its not a 4 or 5 star joint by any means, but a good, clean, comfortable place for a couple of nights!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meereeree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Mercure Xi'an on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

At Mercure, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit with us will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Booked 2 rooms at the hotel for 3 travellers on April 29/13 for 3 nights. As per previous reviews, we advised out cab driver to take us to the Sofitel. Once there, the bellman at the Sofitel wheeled our suitcases a short distance across the courtyard to the Mercure. One room was upgraded to a suite. Both rooms were comfy, clean and the bathrooms were good. We ate breakfast at the hotel and could not fault the menu; eggs to order, cereal, toast, fruit plus the usual Chinese fare. Breakfast at the Mercure was half the cost of breakfast at the Sofitel.
Courtyard setting is very beautiful. Rooms were quiet. Walking distance to Muslim market and hotel arranged for a taxi to the Terra Cotta Warriers. Easy access to wifi. Beds were comfy by Chinese standards.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankCovey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Mercure Xi'an on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.

At Mercure, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit with us will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at the Hotel. Room was nice and clean and the staff were friendly and spoke good english. The Breakfast had fresh fruit and cereals and you gets eggs made to order and other options available. All guests can use the swimming pool located in the sofitel hotel located in the square. You can get to the the bell tower and south gate by getting the Number 603 bus which the bus stop is located 5 min from the hotel ( exit right ) this takes about 5 mins on the bus. Would stay again if visting Xian.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Xian. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Mecure Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
0.0 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
0.4 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#5 of 2,328 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 stars 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,328 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 stars 290 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Soluxe International Hotel
0.4 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#13 of 2,328 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 stars 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Xian on Renmin Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Xian on Renmin Square

Property: Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Address: NO. 319 Dongxin Street, Xi'an 710004, China
Location: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
#10 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#11 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#17 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Xian on Renmin Square 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure on Renmin Square Xian is a comfortable, elegantly appointed hotel, featuring 113 rooms, as well as dining and meeting facilities. Located in the grounds of Renmin Square, in the heart of the commercial and government district, the hotel is minutes away from the major shopping centres and cultural sites and is ideal for all travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Mercure Xian on Renmin Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure On Renmin Square Xian Hotel Xi`An
Mercure Xi An
Mercure Hotel Xi An
Mercure Xian On Renmin Square China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing