We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Nearby Hotels
$190
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Xi'an(Xi'an)
$108
$103
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$175
$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Park Xian(Xi'an)
$74
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gran Melia Xi'an(Xi'an)
$119
$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$387
$296
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (629)
Filter reviews
629 results
Traveler rating
185
310
103
17
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
185
310
103
17
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrenmin squareother hotelsterracotta warriorsbell toweraccor groupgated complexrailway stationking sizeovernight train from beijingminute walkspoke englishtaxi driverbreakfast buffetmuslim quartercomfortable hoteldrum towersouth gate
Filter
Updating list...
230 - 235 of 629 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Great central city location in a quiet enclave with Accor Softel and Grand Mercure, with their facilities available to guests from the Mercure. Clean comfortable room with good service made the stay very pleasant. Walking distance to almost everything within the city walls. Would recommend and definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank GlobalMere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Mercure Xi'an on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.

At Mercure, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit with us will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I can mostly repeat what others say here: 1)This square is a very nice area highlighted with the luxurious 5 star Sofitel at the center; 2) You can use the unbelievable pool and gym at the Sofitel while staying at the Mercure; 3) Bus 306 is easy to catch about a block away to carry you to the Terra Cotta Warriers; 4) There's not much around there as far as restaurants or shopping and Muslim street is the place to go for eating and such. But contrary to other reviewers, we believe it is really too far to walk there. The local double-decker bus (603?) makes the rounds in the area quite frequently, so you can catch it. The Mercure is smaller than the Sofitel, but they are big on service. Just like other visitors reported, we were upgraded to a suite at no extra charge. So, if you are on a budget, I recommend staying here. If money is no object, you might try the Sofitel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the square not the busy street.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rtpal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Xian. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Mecure Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We had a good stay here, but it is rather overshadowed by the company, the Grand Mercure and the flashy Sofitel. Our greeter at the desk, Laurence, could smile a bit more and didn't really seem too keen to help us with a minor problem with our booking. Everyone else was excellent. Couple of tips - you can use the spa in Sofitel just across the road for free, which is gorgeous. And bizarrely you can see into the shower from your room - which you might think is great, or like my Mrs., hate it. Breakfast is overpriced, but okay. Entertainment is a few metres away in the park down the road with people dancing in the evenings.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billiam99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Xian on Renmin Square. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed here for two nights on toe way to Beijing.

We had a god-awful experience with the cab driver from the train station to the hotel - we printed the address in Chinese as per the hotel's website, but the cabbie could not find the place, so we ended up having to walk for a good 20 minutes after having got the help of a police officer!!

Needless to say i was in a Very Bad Mood when we got to the hotel. It didn't help that once you enter Remin Square, there is no proper labeling, so we had to walk around for a few more minutes before someone pointed us in the right direction.

I told the gentleman at the front desk my woes, and he was very sympathetic and immediately (and unexpectedly!) upgraded us to a suite at no extra cost. He said that if i say "Remin Square", cabbies should be able to find it even if they don't have the address - so a good learning for next time. There were a couple of others hovering around the front desk, all of whom were really helpful too.

The room itself was very nice. The hotel is not the newest, but i really have nothing to complain about. The room was clean, made up, and had everything that we could need. We ordered room service, which arrived in a jiffy.

All the facilities such as pool, gym and spa are located in the adjoining building, a 30 second walk away. There were a couple of restaurants within the square, as well as an outdoors garden patio where you could order drinks - which was lovely in the evening.

They made sure there was a cab waiting for us at 5.30 AM to take us to the airport, with someone at the front desk who spoke English so we could communicate with the cabbie.

All in all a good stay. Its not a 4 or 5 star joint by any means, but a good, clean, comfortable place for a couple of nights!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meereeree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Mercure Xi'an on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

At Mercure, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit with us will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Booked 2 rooms at the hotel for 3 travellers on April 29/13 for 3 nights. As per previous reviews, we advised out cab driver to take us to the Sofitel. Once there, the bellman at the Sofitel wheeled our suitcases a short distance across the courtyard to the Mercure. One room was upgraded to a suite. Both rooms were comfy, clean and the bathrooms were good. We ate breakfast at the hotel and could not fault the menu; eggs to order, cereal, toast, fruit plus the usual Chinese fare. Breakfast at the Mercure was half the cost of breakfast at the Sofitel.
Courtyard setting is very beautiful. Rooms were quiet. Walking distance to Muslim market and hotel arranged for a taxi to the Terra Cotta Warriers. Easy access to wifi. Beds were comfy by Chinese standards.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrankCovey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Mercure Xi'an on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.

At Mercure, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit with us will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

William Yuen
Hotel Manager
Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews